We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, friendly atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Third Bay Cafe

Third Bay Cafe
1163 Spruce St, Martinsville, VA 24112-4508
276-666-8414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 51 Restaurants in Martinsville
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Description: An escape from the typical restaurant -- A cozy home-like atmosphere with personalized service and hand-prepared food to order. We use fresh produce when possible. Our desserts are made from family recipes. Fine dining with a comfortable, friendly atmosphere. Escape to Third Bay!
Martinsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Small, friendly atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Most of the food is locally grown; no frozen warmed-up meals. Everything is prepared fresh when you order it. The chief will cook your food your way. Friendly staff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Local Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Been here a couple of times now. Every time the we come here the people are wonderful and food is excellent. If your in town, you should drive out of your way to visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

While working in the Martinsville area, we discovered this restaurant a few months ago and this has been our favorite ever since. Food and service is excellent...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lunch time meal was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Had a lunch time meal, all items were first class and hot. Service was wonderful, server kept a check on our table the entire time we were there. Will return next time I'm in Martinsville at lunch time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

food is to die for, by far way above average
service at lunch time is horrible. if we hadn't prepaid, I'd have walked out when we picked up our order.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Third Bay Cafe also viewed

Martinsville, Henry County
Martinsville, Henry County
 
Martinsville, Henry County
 

Been to Third Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Third Bay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.