We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was ok. Best part about this hotel...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 Virginia Avenue, Martinsville, VA 24112-8495   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Martinsville
Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel was ok. Best part about this hotel...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Hotel was ok. Best part about this hotel are the pools. There is a baby pool which was large. There is an outdoor grill, washer and dryer, coke/pepsi & snack machines, and a complimentary breakfast. Breakfast s basic. Consists of donuts, toast, cereal, waffles, juice, coffee, and apples. Rooms were ok for the money. They were not as clean as I would have hoped. The worst part about the hotel is that if you are not from India then you will not be able to speak to almost any of the staff. The cleaning crew speaks VERY little English and the manager always had an english speaking employee by his side. Front desk staff was very friendly and helped us with a few of our needs.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby24112, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thank you so much for commenting on both what we do well and what we need improvement on! We have brought on new staff recently and we are seeking opportunities to improve the language barier through coaching and training. We hope you will give us another try when you are in the area to see our improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

rooms a bit old and not very nice but there have been worse ive stayed in for the same low price. the fitness center is completely broken and they have a nice big pool and sitting area outside. everything in room worked, did see one bug crawling on the wall

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. I just wanted to let you know since your review we have done lots of improvemqnts to our hotel, along with all new equipment in our fitness center. I do want to apologize for the bug in the room we work hard to keep the room exterminated. We hope if you are in the area you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Everyone was really nice, check in was quick and easy. I have small kids, one of which get car sick very easily. We reached Martinsville at 12:30, My child had been car sick, yet they still allowed me to check in three hrs early than what I reserved. Class Act, would recommend to anyone. A+++++

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. If you are ever in Martinsville VA we will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

The Martinsville Best Western needs a pretty serious overhaul.

The good:
* Service: Everyone was basically friendly, and they gave us a good deal on adjoining rooms for our family.

* Cleanliness: The rooms were visibly clean if not particularly well-maintained.

* Amenities: They also had low-end microwaves, fridges, and coffee makers. TV has decent cable options, and low-speed wi-fi is available from the rooms.

The bad:
* Upkeep: When we first got to our room, the light bulb was missing from the main light, requiring us to fumble around in the dark for a lamp. Not a great first impression. The king-size mattress felt cheap. It was one of the type where any movement shook the rest of the bed. The sheets and blankets were also motel-quality. The couch in the "executive king" room was very saggy.

* Bar scene: The Best Western has cultivated a pretty hot scene in their Brass Rail lounge. It's bad enough that you've got the noise of late-nite partying in the motel, but it's especially annoying when you're returning home from dinner and you can't find a parking space. They should consider reserving spaces for hotel guests.

* Breakfast buffet: The promise of a hot breakfast buffet included with the room was one of the aspects that drew us to the Best Western. Bad idea. The buffet is like a punch in the face -- an unheated array of room-temperature eggs, bacon, and frozen pancakes. And some kind of Tang-style orange drink. Also, it's served in the same room in which 50 locals smoked 500 cigarettes the night before. Yech. Sometime after tasting the cold bacon and Tang, we abandoned our plates and crossed the street to Biscuitville.

  • Liked — Room cleanliness
  • Disliked — Furniture, breakfast food quality, parking
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. Since you were here 5 years ago we have made many updates to the hotel. Our first was joining with Choice Hotels. If you are ever back in Martinsville VA we would love for you to stop by and see all the new improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

Bathroom was disgusting--something brown in all the corners of the bathroom floor. Dirty grout, bathroom door wouldn't close due probably to moisture since it had no exhaust fan. Sink top badly chipped. Found dried food on the blanket, demanded a clean one. Found an artificial nail on the carpet along with a roach--killed it. I'd never stay here again.
On the up side: the furniture appeared fairly new and in good condition. Hot breakfast was nice.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Martinsville hotels

Martinsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

Stayed there with my family on a house hunting visit. Room was ok but dated. The food for the breakfast buffet was ok. The pool was clean.

Internet access was offerred from a computer next to the check-in desk with a printer. It was so slow it was almost un-useable. The desk manager apologized but there was no plan to fix it.

I went out to use it at 5 am one day and was denied access by the person on duty. She refused to open the door for me and would only speak to me through the night window opening. She was rude and dismissive when I told her I was a guest and needed to check my email via the Internet telling me I had to wait until the lobby opened at 6 am.

On my return visit to the area I chose another hotel.

  • Liked — The pool was close to the room. Very helpful with young children to manage.
  • Disliked — The night desk staff was rude.
  • Tips/Secrets — Call ahead and confirm they have the internet access you need. If not, stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1755 Virginia Avenue, Martinsville, VA 24112-8495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Henry County > Martinsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Martinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.A Martinsville, Virginia hotel - Econo LodgeNestled in the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains, the Econo Lodge ® hotel provides business and leisure travelers with relaxing and inviting accommodations.Local points of interest close to this Martinsville, VA hotel include:•Martinsville Speedway, home of the NASCAR Cup race•Virginia Museum of Natural History•Blue Ridge Institute & MuseumScenic opportunities are aplenty in this region thanks the natural barrier the surrounding mountains and lakes provide. Outdoor enthusiasts will delight in the multitude of recreation areas afforded in the vicinity. Whether you want to golf, swim, hike or bike, this area of Virginia offers something for everyone.Many entertainment venues, retailers and shopping centers are close to the hotel.This Martinsville, VA hotel provides full-service amenities like:•Free continental breakfast•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free local calls•Free coffeeAfter a busy day of work or play, guests of this Virginia hotel can come back and relax by the seasonal outdoor pool or unwind in the exercise room.Corporate travelers can take advantage of the modern conveniences afforded in the on-site business center, including a computer with Internet access, and copy and fax service. Two banquet and meeting rooms are located on the premises and can accommodate up to 200 people for most functions.In addition to standard amenities, all of our well-appointed guest rooms are furnished with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Ask about our rooms that have sofa sleepers. Connecting rooms are available.This Virginia hotel is pet-friendly; fees apply. For added convenience, laundry facilities are provided for guest use and valet cleaning service is available. Ample parking is provided.When you want countless features and an outstanding staff, look no further than the Econo Lodge hotel. Make a reservation with us today and experience all we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Martinsville
Martinsville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.