We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel nothing special though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1424 N. Main St., Marion, VA 24354   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Marion
bergen county NJ
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Decent hotel nothing special though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were driving from Nashville to the East coast and this was a decent hotel off the highway at an affordable price. The room was really big and it was clean but definately needed some work (peeling paint and stuff). It was clean but old looking. Bed was comfortable and they offered an outdoor pool although we did not use it. There were not a lot of people staying at the hotel. Down the road are a lot of fast food places and a walmart which was very convienent. Breakfast did not look that great so we got food down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear lovinparadise314,

Thank you for bringing the maintenance issues to our attention. We do have routine maintenance on each of our rooms. We do our best to keep our rooms fresh in appearance. I am sorry that your room did not meet our expectations. The issue has been addressed with our staff to ensure that this does not occur in the future.


Regards,
Matt-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Marion VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
7
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this motel on a very long trip north from Mississippi. Some of the other reviews posted sounded like it was an acceptable option so we stopped. The bathroom in the room was disgusting......cracks/worn spots in the tub that looked like it hadn't been scrubbed, ever! There was hair on the floor that didn't belong to either of us and there were slits/holes in the drapes. Even though this is a "value" chain we still paid $72 for this room. We will bypass any Americas Best Value Inns in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Babyblue57,

I would like to personally thank you for sharing a review with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. We have recently hired and improved our housekeeping staff. There is never an excuse for not providing clean and affordable accommodations. We hope that you stay with us or at another one of our hotels across the Country.


Regards,
Matt-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Marion, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel was the saving grace of our accidental stop in Marion, VA. My husband and I were traveling on I-81 on our way to our new home in California when we were rear-ended on an exit ramp near Marion. After our release from the emergency room, at 11pm, we had to find a pet-friendly place to stay. We were so lucky that the Americas Best was across the street from the hospital. The staff was courteous and understanding. We were allowed to check our room before checking in - which I always do because I am very sensitive to odors - and were very happy with it. It was clean, bright, and quiet - and the continental breakfast was excellent. There is a great hometown-style restaurant (inside the building) called the Sugar Grove where we enjoyed the next day's lunch and dinner while waiting for a rental car. Two nights at Americas Best in Marion, and we were rested and ready to get back on the road.

Room Tip: Always ask to see your room before unloading your belongings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Gayle H,

Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am sorry you had to stay under those circumstances. I hope this response finds you doing well. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you during that time. Come back again and see us!


Regards,
Matt-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Marion, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I called because I left something at the hotel and the man spoke little English You Couldn't hear him over the phone! I need help with getting a pair of Golden and Ruby earrings and the man spoke and described nothing he just let me do all the talking! If this is how the Hotel is going to stay then I'm never coming back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Delrks,

Thank you for bringing your issue to my attention. If you could please contact me directly to discuss the matter. I was waiting to receive the prepaid envelope which you were supposed to send us. We do have a strict lost and found policy. Due to the cost and liability associated with valuables, I want to be sure that your items are property returned.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,
Matt-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Marion, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Only spent one night. Therea are not a lot of Hotels in Marion to choose from, this was adjoined to a EconoLodge which i believe had the same owners. It didn't appear to be as nice as the Best Value Inn. We had no issues with our room or the service. There is a really good diner inside that serves a really good hot "homemade" breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear WVblast,

Thank you for sharing an honest review with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come stay with us again if you should return to the area!


Regards,
Matt-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Marion, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brush Creek, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

As there is not to many places to stay in Marion, we decided to stay here. We had to attend a funeral and just drove in from FL. First thing we noticed upon opening the door was a pile of leaves inside the room by the front door Second thing was the snake skin lying in the middle of the room. As we had little choice, we complained to the front desk.who promptly said "sorry" and that was that. Never again will I stay at this place!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear silverdriver20,

I appreciate the fact that you took time to post a review with us. I apologize for not responding in a timely manner. The hotel is under new ownership since your stay. We have updated our facilities such as painting, carpeting. We try our best to correct any issues and are disappointed to hear about the matter. If there is any way that you could give us another opportunity to serve you, please let me know.


Regards,
Matt-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Marion, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This motel is one a of trend of formerly decent motels being bought out by people from India, who proceed to run them as a family business, squeezing every penny to make a profit. The motel was originally a "Best Western" built to attract traveler off nearby I-81. The motel is showing evidence of beginning to run down - the 20 plus year old ice machine (that was supposed to serve the entire motel) was nonfunctional with the owner expressing little concern for repair; there were roofing shingles from a recent storm blown around the grounds that the owners made no effort to pick up over several days while we were there, rooms were A/C by the old style units at the base of windows that made a lot of noise, ceiling & carpets & walls through out were showing stains and wear, the pool was turbid and scary looking & surrounded by aged pool furniture with no canopies, the so called breakfast in the lobby was spartan. I really don't believe the owners have the "gumption" to do much with this place and would not be surprised to see it go under, especially if a competitor opens a travel motel nearer the interstate. Please note that there is a very good restaurant within the motel that is operated as a separate business - it was a pre-existing business that relocated from out in the countryside into town when they lost their water supply. It was amusing to watch the silver haired ladies and old men with canes come in from the area to eat breakfast there.

Room Tip: ask for a room in front, trains run behind the motel in the middle of night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear D D,

Thank you for sharing a traveler review with us. I am sorry it has taken so long to respond. We take great pride in our facilities. I am surprised to hear that you were not satisfied with the upkeep. We did have a few major storms hit the area. Our breakfast area is limited due to space. However, we do offer a variety of items such as cereals, milk, juices, fruits, instant grits and oatmeal, waffles, English Muffins, toast. Our pool is clean and sidewalks painted. The pool furniture was updated and pictures can be provided upon request. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations.


Regards,
Matt-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Marion VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1424 N. Main St., Marion, VA 24354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Marion. Tucked away in the mountains of Southwest Virginia and conveniently located between the Roanoke Valley and Bristol off of exit 47 and I-81. Marion is famous for its spectacular outdoor recreation as it is for its most famous product, Mountain Dew. Our hotel is near both Hungry Mother State Park and the highest peak in Virginia, Mount Rogers. Enjoy a show with the family at the Lincoln Theatre. Smyth County Museum and Marion Plaza Shopping Center are within walking distance of our hotel. Business travelers will appreciate our business center, seasonal outdoor pool, and the peaceful mountain setting as an escape from the hectic pace of the workday. Our hotel offers conveniences such as free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms, as well as access to copy and fax services. Free continental breakfast and free coffee in the lobby is served daily. After a fun filled day of sightseeing, enjoy a delicious meal at our own Wise Guys, on-site restaurant, open every day from 11AM to 10PM. Local restaurants include El Puerto, Little Caesars Pizza, and Great Wall Chinese Restaurant. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with Showtime, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, spacious work areas, free local calls, and wake-up service. Non-smoking rooms are available. Children age 11 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Pets are welcome for a small nightly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marion
Americas Best Value Inn Marion, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.