We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel which is clean and very affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Francis Marion Hotel

Save Saved
You added General Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
General Francis Marion Hotel
107 East Main Street, Marion, VA 24354   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Black Rooster Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Marion
Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel which is clean and very affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

My companion and I were going to celebrate his birthday by having a fabulous meal at the Town House restaurant in nearby Chilhowie and needed a hotel that was no more than 10-15 minutes drive from the restaurant. General Francis Marion hotel was perfect in terms of location (there is a lovely lake and a trail at the Hungry Mother State Park barely 10 minutes drive away) and we were wonderfully surprised at what a neat hotel it was! The renovations have render the hotel to its tasteful appearance. We did get the cheapest room (a double) since we were on a tight budget and could only splurge on the Town House restaurant meal, but our room though a bit small was utterly charming and the bathroom was spacious, bright and clean - always a plus. Oh yes, and the continental breakfast is unlike the meager food that is served at local motels; instead there were two polite and attentive restaurant staff who serve you freshly made waffles and eggs in addition to freshly brewed coffee/tea and toast/bagels. Overall, a lovely experience for a very reasonable price! We plan to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    44
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
56
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Forest VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

This was the perfect hotel for its price, quality, and location. The room was small, but very well done. The food was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay so much that I am bringing my spouse back for a weekend get away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We celebrated our anniversary with a magnificent dinner at Town House in Chilhowie, Virginia and wanted a nearby hotel with a little personality. We found LOTS of it at the General Francis Marion. We had a small, but very clean, comfortable room with an updated bathroom. It's a nicely restored historic hotel and the staff is lovely. Wish we'd had time to try their restaurant, Black Rooster, I understand it's very good. Don't miss getting a Dip Dog on your way in or out of town!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I booked a room here for an overnight stay for a morning meeting. The hotel itself is full of charm -- truly one of a kind. I was given a standard room with a double bed and chiffarobe instead of a traditional closet -- beautifully appointed, as was the bathroom. However, if you like expansive hotel rooms, you'll need to bump up to a room with a king bed or suite.

As this is a boutique and historic hotel, some of the amenities that you're used to getting on your own you will need to ask the front desk for, like ice or an iron/ironing board if you're in a room without a closet. No coffeemaker in the standard rooms, tho you're welcome to help yourself in the restaurant in the morning (see below). Also, parking could become a challenge if the hotel is full and it's a busy Friday night in Marion (yes, it does happen) -- the ten minute check-in spots in front of the hotel AND the parking lot in back were both full when I pulled in, so I ended up parking around the corner on the street.

Nice surprises that the hotel's website did not mention was complimentary toiletries (soap, shampoo. mouthwash) in the bath, and a free continental-plus breakfast in the restaurant that included waffles and eggs. Combine that with a very comfortable bed and free wireless, and you have a terrific place to stay for either business or pleasure.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

After staying at many a-dumpy hotels in Bristol and Abingdon the past few years for the Bristol night race for Nascar, I was about ready to give up my Bristol August Night race tickets because I just could not bear to stay at a dump and pay over $300+. While we did not want to drive the extra distance to Marion after the race, it was WELL WORTH IT. The General Francis Marion Hotel was GREAT. Clean. Safe. Functional. Quaint. Charming. I will be keeping my Bristol race tickets now that I have a nice, clean, safe hotel to stay in. Bristol and the surrounding areas are charging a 3 night minimum and we only need one night of lodging. I cannot see paying $900+ for one night in a dump. You will not be disappointed by staying in this lovely boutique hotel for a nascar race or for any occassion.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010 via mobile

If you're taking a trip and traveling on I-81 near Marion, Va, and you know you'll be staying at Hiltons, Holiday Inns, etc most of the time, arrange your trip so you can spend a night at the GFMH. It's a wonderfully restored hotel that's a nice break from the standardized chains.

Many of the other reviews on this site capture the unique flavor and charm of the place.
I'll add this: the dinner menu and bar offerings are first rate.
The GFMH is the kind of place you take photos of to share with friends.
It's beautiful and special.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, s.c.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Lovely historic ambience, great rate, smallish room, large bathroom, interesting common rooms, all wait staff and attendants well-trained and very cordial...food at the restaurant(veal/italian shrimp dish)worth re-ordering...great showing for such a small town...well done!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to General Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 107 East Main Street, Marion, VA 24354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic General Francis Marion Hotel was originally built in 1927 and was restored to its original elegance. The hotel's 36 guest rooms are beautifully appointed in period furniture with emphasis on comfort and luxury. The Black Rooster, the hotel's restaurant offers superb dining in a Roaring '20s atmosphere. Located just up the street from the famous Lincoln Theatre, the hotel is listed in both the National and the Virginia Historic Registers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your General Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Francis Hotel Marion
General Francis Marion Hotel Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.