We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The General Francis Marion far exceeded our expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added General Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
General Francis Marion Hotel
107 East Main Street, Marion, VA 24354   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marion
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The General Francis Marion far exceeded our expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We celebrated our anniversary with a magnificent dinner at Town House in Chilhowie, Virginia and wanted a nearby hotel with a little personality. We found LOTS of it at the General Francis Marion. We had a small, but very clean, comfortable room with an updated bathroom. It's a nicely restored historic hotel and the staff is lovely. Wish we'd had time to try their restaurant, Black Rooster, I understand it's very good. Don't miss getting a Dip Dog on your way in or out of town!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    46
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
65
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I booked a room here for an overnight stay for a morning meeting. The hotel itself is full of charm -- truly one of a kind. I was given a standard room with a double bed and chiffarobe instead of a traditional closet -- beautifully appointed, as was the bathroom. However, if you like expansive hotel rooms, you'll need to bump up to a room with a king bed or suite.

As this is a boutique and historic hotel, some of the amenities that you're used to getting on your own you will need to ask the front desk for, like ice or an iron/ironing board if you're in a room without a closet. No coffeemaker in the standard rooms, tho you're welcome to help yourself in the restaurant in the morning (see below). Also, parking could become a challenge if the hotel is full and it's a busy Friday night in Marion (yes, it does happen) -- the ten minute check-in spots in front of the hotel AND the parking lot in back were both full when I pulled in, so I ended up parking around the corner on the street.

Nice surprises that the hotel's website did not mention was complimentary toiletries (soap, shampoo. mouthwash) in the bath, and a free continental-plus breakfast in the restaurant that included waffles and eggs. Combine that with a very comfortable bed and free wireless, and you have a terrific place to stay for either business or pleasure.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

After staying at many a-dumpy hotels in Bristol and Abingdon the past few years for the Bristol night race for Nascar, I was about ready to give up my Bristol August Night race tickets because I just could not bear to stay at a dump and pay over $300+. While we did not want to drive the extra distance to Marion after the race, it was WELL WORTH IT. The General Francis Marion Hotel was GREAT. Clean. Safe. Functional. Quaint. Charming. I will be keeping my Bristol race tickets now that I have a nice, clean, safe hotel to stay in. Bristol and the surrounding areas are charging a 3 night minimum and we only need one night of lodging. I cannot see paying $900+ for one night in a dump. You will not be disappointed by staying in this lovely boutique hotel for a nascar race or for any occassion.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010 via mobile

If you're taking a trip and traveling on I-81 near Marion, Va, and you know you'll be staying at Hiltons, Holiday Inns, etc most of the time, arrange your trip so you can spend a night at the GFMH. It's a wonderfully restored hotel that's a nice break from the standardized chains.

Many of the other reviews on this site capture the unique flavor and charm of the place.
I'll add this: the dinner menu and bar offerings are first rate.
The GFMH is the kind of place you take photos of to share with friends.
It's beautiful and special.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, s.c.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Lovely historic ambience, great rate, smallish room, large bathroom, interesting common rooms, all wait staff and attendants well-trained and very cordial...food at the restaurant(veal/italian shrimp dish)worth re-ordering...great showing for such a small town...well done!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

What a wonderful discovery. We almost always avoid chain hotels so we've stayed at lots of boutique hotels and this property is something the town of Marion can be proud of. We were looking for something half-way between DC & Nashville so that landed us in Marion, VA. While the rooms are indeed small it was more than adequate for our quick in & out one night stay. We even had room to setup the pack-n-play for our infant and still move around the room. The renovations are first rate. Comfy bed. Large, very clean bathroom. The restaurant downstairs had good food to boot.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Very well restored hotel that didn't lose it's historic feel! Room was small as already mentioned but VERY nice, bathrooms were excellent!!!! Very Clean, service was great! The breakfast was the best free breakfast I've ever had, they will make eggs or waffles for you and have all the usual extras! DO NOT MISS Handsome Molly's across the street, WAY good food, LOW prices http://www.handsomemollysbistro.com/ we are coming back through at the end of the month and will stay here and eat there again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 107 East Main Street, Marion, VA 24354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic General Francis Marion Hotel was originally built in 1927 and was restored to its original elegance. The hotel's 36 guest rooms are beautifully appointed in period furniture with emphasis on comfort and luxury. The Black Rooster, the hotel's restaurant offers superb dining in a Roaring '20s atmosphere. Located just up the street from the famous Lincoln Theatre, the hotel is listed in both the National and the Virginia Historic Registers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your General Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Francis Hotel Marion
General Francis Marion Hotel Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.