We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice trip to Shenandoah Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added General Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
General Francis Marion Hotel
107 East Main Street, Marion, VA 24354   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marion
Knoxville, TN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice trip to Shenandoah Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Francis Marion. Nice little quaint town, good for a stop over, maybe not a main attraction. We enjoyed a walk around the small down town, aged but interesting
architecture. The Black Rooster, the in hotel restaurant/bar, had an intriguing menu.
Enjoyed a nice glass of port. Our room was very comfortable and had plenty of room.
The hotel itself was very interesting in it's history and preservation. For the price,
we'll return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    46
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
65
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was a great hotel. We were passing through and found this hotel based on other reviews. The room we got was the Queen Standard room. It was on the smaller side, but the quality was great, the bathroom was redone very well and was very spacious. The hotel itself has a great restaurant that we got a free breakfast at the day after we checked in. It was a very cool place to stay and I would stay there again. Try Yummy Yummy down the street for some good Japanese food!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

My brothers and I hike annually on the appalachian trail. Our family members stayed here while we were out. There is plenty of restaurants and a WalMart near by to purchase last minute supplies. The rooms were small, but comfortable. The 1920s era styling was a new twist for us. There is only one elevator and plenty of stairs. Some of the reviews I read before booking the reservation may have overstated the amount of stairs. Be warned if you are disabled or have bad knees, then you might not appreciate the stairs. Having been on the AT for a week I didn't mind a few more steps. The shower and bed very much appreciated.

Before we embarked on our trip in the Grayson Highlands, we ate (and drank) and the restaurant on the first floor. "The Black Rooster" the food was usual stuff, nothing really stand out.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful when we needed to change the reservation at the last minute.

All in all, it was a good experience and I plan to bring my wife back to the area and we plan to stay at this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at the General Francis Marion Hotel during a trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway in May, 2012. The room was on the third floor, facing the street. The room was smaller than expected in part, I assume, because the bathroom was so large. This might have been a problem had we been staying for any length of time, but as an overnight stay it was fine. Both bedroom and bathroom were very clean, and very nicely furnished. The room could use a bit more soundproofing from the next door neighbor, but it didn't keep us from enjoying our stay. . Only one key was available for our room, which might be an issue for some, but wasn't a problem for us. Air conditioning worked fine and wasn't at all loud. We got in fairly late and hotel parking was full, but there was parking on the street in front, and we experienced no problems with that arrangement. The Hotel has a restaurant associated with it, The Black Rooster; both meal and service were outstanding, and the price, while not inexpensive, was certainly fine given the caliber of the meal. The menu offered a full array of choices, and everything my wife and I ordered was prepared to perfection (not exaggerating). The restaurant itself was a bit on the dark side lighting-wise, but posed no real inconvenience. The fee breakfast was adequate to start the day.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you will want to avoid the rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed yet another time at the GFMH. Great stay. There was a wedding dinner in the hotel on Saturday night and as a result the hotel was full but not a problem. Will continue to stay at the GFMH when we are in Marion which is a couple of times each year. The free breakfast was adequate but not special. The mattress this time was a bit soft. Unlike another reviewer, we had a strong WiFi signal in our 5th floor room

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Historic small hotel tucked away in a small southwestern Virginia town off of Route 81 in the downtown heart of Marion Va. The rooms are very nicely furnished and the beds extremely comfortable. The baths were recently (the hotel was built 1927) and overall the decor has the feel of the 1920's and 30's. The hotel goes one step further with the complementary Breakfast by making eggs to order. While there is poor WIFI, we found it refreshing to be forced to simply relax.
Pricing is slightly higher than the chain hotels nearby. The General Francis Marion Hotel would be our first choice every time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The GFMH is a very nice small hotel located in Marion, VA, in the hills of Southwest VA. The hotel was renovated in 2006 and is in very good restored condition. The adjoining restaurant is excellent. The major complaint is the very poor WIFI setup. This is really unacceptable in this day and age. The staff is well aware of the problems but just shrug it off. Too bad...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 107 East Main Street, Marion, VA 24354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic General Francis Marion Hotel was originally built in 1927 and was restored to its original elegance. The hotel's 36 guest rooms are beautifully appointed in period furniture with emphasis on comfort and luxury. The Black Rooster, the hotel's restaurant offers superb dining in a Roaring '20s atmosphere. Located just up the street from the famous Lincoln Theatre, the hotel is listed in both the National and the Virginia Historic Registers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your General Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Francis Hotel Marion
General Francis Marion Hotel Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.