We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Faithful "sputtered"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Macado's

Macado's
142 E Main St, Marion, VA 24354-3104
276-783-2115
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 35 Restaurants in Marion
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Marion, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old Faithful "sputtered"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We like to go to Macado's BUT this time the dining experience was not up to the par we have come to expect. On a Friday night we had a simple order "salads" . When they made it through the maze to our table we felt they were harvesting the lettuce to make sure our salads were fresh. The food was good...the service was good we just couldn't figure out where they were with the salads in between ordering and receiving them at our table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a good place to eat.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a place I have no desire to return to. Food is lousy, noise so loud you can't think, so don't even think about carrying on a converstion with the party you are with.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old Faithful, Macados!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Macado's in Marion is as good as every Macados I have ever been to. They are all really good places to enjoy a quick sandwich at a good price in a cool environment.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“standard sandwiches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having been to Macado's in other locations, I knew what to expect here--fun decor, a huge menu, and simple food--and that's what we found. I should say that the service was slow and left a little to be desired, but it wasn't terrible. My boyfriend ordered one of the beers they had on tap, and when the waitress asked him what size, he answered "a big one." I've uploaded a picture of what he received--they took his request seriously! The sandwiches we got were tasty, made with good bread and fresh ingredients and put together nicely. This place is a very nice option in Marion, just be sure you have plenty of time to spare and that you word your orders carefully!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good bar food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice bar right on the main drag.

Good bar food with plenty of selections to choose from.

Extensive beer and liquor selections including the locally distilled legal moonshine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macado's also viewed

 

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macado's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.