We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast
404 Cabell Street, Lynchburg, VA 24504   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Lynchburg B&B and Inns
Rochester, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best of the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have been staying at bed and breakfasts for several years and when my son was studying the Civil War we decided to visit Appomattox Courthouse and we stayed at the Carriage House Inn. From the moment you drive up and see the home you know there is something special about the property. The house is spectacular, the rooms spacious, the hosts wonderful and the breakfasts are the best we have ever had. We especially liked that during the extensive renovations great care was taken to keep original elements of the house. Don't make the same mistake we made and stay for just a weekend. There is so much to see and do in the area you could easily spend several more days there.

Room Tip: This is an old mansion that has been restored. It is comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
32
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonsall, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A wonderful location near the central part of Lynchburg Historic area, this B&B will exceed your expectations. Beautifully appointed, large rooms with large bathrooms. Plenty of parking in safe area. We stayed in the Hay Loft and look forward to staying in the main house next time. Our daughter is a student at Liberty U and this property is worth the extra money and drive over the local hotels around the university because of the innkeeper's focus on quality and attention to detail. Thanks Mike and Kathy!

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We visited the Carriage House Inn to visit our son who is a freshman at Lynchburg College. The home was spectacular, the breakfasts awesome, hosts friendly and knowledgeable. We enjoyed being able to walk to downtown restaurants and being close to the jogging paths. We will be back to Lynchburg quite a bit over the next 3 1/2 years and we won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: There is lots to do in Lynchburg so plan on spending extra time there. Also Cathy is a massage ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay here. Mike & Kathy were charming Innkeepers and paid attention to every detail to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. Our room was spotless and breakfast delicious.

We loved the house and if time had permitted would have stayed longer to explore the town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I checked in to the Carriage House on a Friday afternoon. Kathy and Mike, the innkeepers, met us at the door. We were given a short tour of the home, which we loved because we wouldn't have had a chance to see all of the rooms on our own. Mike explained about the house's history and Lynchburg's history.

Everything is beautifully maintained. The bed in our room was really the most comfortable that I have slept in, in a very long time!

There is a large front porch that wraps around the front of the house and looks on to a large lawn and cobbled street. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts, Saturday and Sunday morning. Kathy and Mike make every effort to accommodate dietary restrictions. While we didn't have any, another guest did have restrictions and from what I observed, their food was very tastefully prepared and presented.

I had several lodging opportunities available to me for this weekend and I'm very happy to have chosen the Carriage House!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I had our very first visit to a B&B at the CHIB&B in mid July of 2013. Based upon other reviews on TA, we basically picked it off a map as we were going to be in the area for another event. They placed us in the separate house out back where we had complete privacy, spacious rooms, a kitchenette, TV and internet. It was as if we had our own apartment. The rooms had everything we needed, they were clean and refreshed daily.
Our host and hostess provided delicious breakfasts each morning. They were very knowledgeable about the area, providing directions, maps, dinner reservations and suggestions for things to do. I simply don't know how an experience could have been more pleasant and personalized.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a fantastic stay with Mike and Kathy at the Carriage House Inn. Things started off with a surprise upgrade. They placed us in the Carriage House which had a kitchenette, living room and seperate bedroom. Very roomy. The breakfasts were wonderful as was the table conversation with our hosts. Neat old historic neighborhood with lots of neighbors renovating. Really enjoyed Lynchburg and this home base. The B and B is close to an access for the local bike,running trail system.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 404 Cabell Street, Lynchburg, VA 24504
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentically restored 1878 Italianate Mansion features many of the original light fixtures, doors, claw foot tubs, bathroom sinks, fireplaces and mantels, woodwork and much more. Oversized rooms, wireless internet, full business center and on site licensed massage therapist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.