We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ethiopian Cuisine Makes Great Start” 4 of 5 stars
Review of In-Jera

In-Jera
1125 Main Street, Lynchburg, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 253 Restaurants in Lynchburg
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Restaurant details
Lynchburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ethiopian Cuisine Makes Great Start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I had always wanted to try this cuisine. but this was my first experience. My wife and I ordered the meat sampler and the vegetable sampler. To my surprise I preferred the vegetable over the meat. The waiter was helpful with his instruction on eating the food, which is done by tearing off part of a large pancake and picking up the food. The portions are large and we took some home. The pancake dissolved making the food less desirable to eat. I look forward to returning and trying this new cuisine at other restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I loved Ethiopian food - Who knew?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I really liked that Injera offered samplers, so we got to try 4 dishes. Also they have a big selection for vegetarians, so when our son visits, we have a new exotic place to take him and his wife (both vegans.)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Ethiopian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was our first visit to this fairly new restaurant in Lynchburg. It is great to have something different from the highway 29 chain restaurants that all serve the same boring things. We had a meat combination dish with two kinds of chicken and a combination vegetable dish with collards, okra, and pumpkin. The combinations allow you to try small servings of several different things. As is typical with Ethiopian restaurants, the food is served on a type of soft spongy bread, and you eat with your fingers. Everything we had was excellent. The food was flavorful and spicy but not hot. Every dish was unique and had its own flavor. The spicy hot tea was also very good. I was determined to eat every bite and was a bit too full when I finished. The decor is simple and the restaurant seemed very clean. The server was very friendly, gave us helpful advice, and was informative about the food.

We usually eat at an Ethiopian restaurant called The Nile when we are in Richmond, and this was equally as good. I am very glad to have this restaurant in Lynchburg and will definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Marvelous Ethiopian Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Ok, this isn't for the meat -and-potatoes folks, but if your palate is more adventurous, don't miss this treasure in downtown Lynchburg, across from the Community Market. The dishes are spiced and cooked to perfection. A+!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In-Jera also viewed

 
Lynchburg, VA
 

Been to In-Jera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage In-Jera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.