We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craddock Terry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Craddock Terry Hotel to your Saves list
Craddock Terry Hotel
1312 Commerce Street, Lynchburg, VA 24504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Lynchburg
League City, Texas
1 review
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! The staff could not have been friendlier or more accomodating. The furnishings were amazing and the bed was super comfy. I loved the breakfast in the morning, as well as the Keurhig in each room. The business center allows for free access, which is a nice change of pace. I ate a both restaurants and enjoyed the experience quite well. I cannot wait to go back again!

Room Tip: I stayed in the shoe factory part of the hotel and loved it!. Super high ceilings and large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    76
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
132
208
25
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 1 night at the Craddock Terry and it really was a cool hotel. I loved all of the old shoes on display and especially loved their resident dog, Buster Brown! He was lounging in the sunny lobby when we were checking out. The breakfast they leave for you each morning is pretty average - croissant, yogurt, fruit and delicious orange juice...if it wasn't fresh squeezed, then I need to find out what brand they're using! The only negative that I encountered was that the bathroom in the room didn't seem to have any heating vents, so getting out of the shower was chilly (although the shower was awesome - huge!) and the room was pretty dark with only a couple lamps to read by. Other than that, highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My son lives nearby, in walking distance actually, in an historic building which has been converted to apartments. My parents, aged 77 & 80, wanted to visit him. Since his apt is a small one bedroom, I needed a hotel room for my parents and wanted them nearby. They were like kids in a candy store! They had never stayed anywhere so nice and enjoyed everything about the hotel, especially my mom, since she loves shoes! And my dad, who can be hard to please, thoroughly enjoyed it. The trains didn't bother them at all and they do have sound machines for the people who need them. There is nothing negative to say about this hotel. It was spotlessly clean, elegant and a true joy. My sister and I plan to go back soon, and this time we are staying there, instead of sleeping on an air mattress in my son's apt!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Return visit for business on Christmas Eve. Was looking forward to a nice evening since my better half joined me. Alas, I was ill with the flu, the weather was dreary, and our room was not as nice as the one I'd had previously (which was on the first floor in the main building).
This room was in the building where Shoemaker's is (couldn't go to the restaurant since it's closed on Sundays). I'd heard these rooms were nicer so again, I was anticipating an upgrade. Didn't happen. The room was smaller, darker, had a really noisy AC system. Bed was so close to the wall it was hard to get in and out from that one side. No fan in the bathroom. Tub and shower separate, but the tub didn't have a stopper in it - instead of repairing/replacing this, there was one of those cheap plastic sink hole covers. yuck.
I slept relatively well mostly from exhaustion but my guy woke up to all four trains going by. Flat screen TV seemed small for the room and there's no HD service. We got our breakfast but there was no brie. Room service came by at 930 am; while we didn't hang a "don't disturb" sign, don't they check to see who has left before bothering to knock prior to check-out? There weren't that many folks staying that night and the front desk is only a few steps away.
I enjoyed my first stay and will likely return. Folks are friendly and the rooms aren't bad....just had higher expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Craddock Terry Hotel several times in the past; however I had not been there since May of 2012. When we arrived we were greeted by Christin Gregores (Hotel Service Manager) and Chris McSwain (Shoemakers Restaurant manager). They not only remembered me and my wife but took the time to catch up with us on our lives. I have traveled all over Virginia and have stayed and dined at hundreds of places, but this is the first time I have written a review. The Craddock Terry Hotel is unique in itself, but it is the people that work there that make all the difference. All the staff and I do mean all the staff are professionals. They are genuine in there smiles, service, and the work they carry out on a daily basis. Christin and Chris made us feel like we had come home.

William and Lisa Coalson

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have stayed in Lynchburg many times (growing up in the area) and saw that this hotel was being built. When we stayed there over Christmas, it was a wonderful experience. The Christmas tree had a lit big red shoe (their trademark) at the top. There was even a small Christmas tree with shoe ornaments in our room. As many have already said, the building was an old shoe manufacturing plant. They have kept that theme going by keeping some touches from the old factory. The lights above the doors are from workbenches. There are pictures of various types of footwear on the doors. Breakfast is served in an old shoe shine kit. There isn't much to say about the breakfast, but it is delivered to your door and will hold you until something better. Trains do cross behind the hotel, but that is part of its charm. Yes, the area hotel is in is a depressed part of the city, but don't let that frighten you off. In general, Lynchburg is a safe city. I would hope that other businesses come to the area to provide their services. The building just behind our room would make an excellent mixed use establishment. The shower was huge, but the bathroom area could use some more hooks and lighting. The bed was quite comfortable, as was the rest of the furniture. You can even buy the furniture for your own home (saw it in the information notebook provided in the room).

Room Tip: For a special event, you can have rose petals strewned across the bed (for a small fee, of course).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Craddock-Terry is a refurbished she factory, but is is a great hotel, very unique. The room were huge, and the ceilings where about 10 feet high. The whole atmosphere was great. The breakfast is served in an old shoe shine kit box, you pre-order he night before, and it's delivered in the morning! We had the "Night on the Town" special, with a bottle of champagne waiting on us upon arrival, and $50 for dining at one of the restaurants. The Waterstone restaurant on-site had great pizza as well!

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet, and right under "the big red shoe"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Address: 1312 Commerce Street, Lynchburg, VA 24504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...the Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential styleboutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site.Overlooking the James River, you’ll enjoy our elegant guest rooms,luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internetand many other features you’d expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craddock Terry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.