We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of local ambience for a bustling small city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market at Main

Market at Main
904 Main St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1635
434-847-9040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 272 Restaurants in Lynchburg
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Market at Main is now open for dinner. In addition to our popular daily breakfast and lunch we are now serving dinner Wednesday thruogh Saturday.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lots of local ambience for a bustling small city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is such a nice restaurant that has scrumptious sandwiches and great desserts. The place to be for lunch on busy Main street. A large space with lots of eclectic nooks and crannies for quiet conversations or not. A popular place for tourists checking out the local history and those who just want a nice brunch/lunch away from the office.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    45
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“One of the best options in downtown Lynchburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have only had breakfast in the Market at Main, but each meal is always good. Most recently when traveling in from out of town we ended up having breakfast here twice within 5 days.

The grits are top notch and the way they should be. It is rare to have them any better. The omelets are a good pairing with the grits. They do fried green tomatoes here and they do them very well. The 'Eggs Rebecca' brings the fried green tomato into Eggs Benedict, without the meat.

Service is great, as is the dining environment. I look forward to lunch and dinner here as the opportunity presents itself when back in Lynchburg.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very cute but many inconsistencies.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The menu, dining room and location are terrific. The food preparation and service were not. We had brunch, and the coffee was good. I had the eggs Benedict with crab cakes on top, and I won't order that dish again. The crab cakes were way over spiced and topped with flavorless hollandaise. I hate eating those calories if it isn't delicious! Our section was way understaffed, with just one waitress taking care of a heavy duty brunch crowd - taking orders, bringing drinks, refilling coffee and bringing the food. There should've been others helping her serve. As a result, everything arrived stone cold. This is an adorable place, and I will try it again in hopes that they improve on these basics. I'd love to see Market at Main, and the downtown Lynchburg area be successful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect downtown spot for b'fast or lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We make a point of eating here whenever we visit Lynchburg. Hopping place but worth the wait. Nostalgic decor but authentic feeling. Great food, hearty bacon serving, quick service. I'm always happy when I eat here!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Great comfort food - save room for the homemade desserts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had no problems with service, I was there for dinner around 7pm. Great selection of comfort foods and burgers. I sat at the bar for service and enjoyed the meal. I had trouble choosing between homemade brownies or the carrot cake for dessert. Went with the carrot cake and it was as good as any mom's.

Would go back when I am in the area on business - at least to check the desserts!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Market at Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market at Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.