We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5600 Seminole Ave, Lynchburg, VA 24501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just OK ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A renovated hotel ... not really my style. It was clean, the service was friendly yet it was and felt very crowded. Particularly the reception area ... never mind the dining area.

The room just wasn't welcoming ( broken arms on the desk chair ) ... not much care given to how the bed was presented. The b'fast food was acceptable ... only bananas for fresh fruit. HIE has stepped back from prior offerings. The small dining area was surprising.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear ABikeTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express and share your feedback - we're sorry that our furnishings weren't quite to your tastes and I will pass your comments on to our team for discussion. I am glad to read, however, that you found us to be clean and rated the quality of your sleep highly. If you would like to speak about your stay further, please don't hesitate to reach out to me at the number below. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider giving us another try-out on your next visit to Lynchburg.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    28
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
39
22
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here one night as we had an early flight out of Lynchburg. Check in was quick. Very friendly staff at desk. Room was very clean. Bedding very comfortable. Lots to places to eat nearby. Convenient to airport - under 10 minutes. Typical breakfast of Holiday Inn Express. Eggs (not so good) but biscuits and gravy were good, cereals, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and good cinnamon rolls. Good room for the price. I would return.

The only con was there were two very bright parking lot lights right outside the window and only a sheer curtain so the room stayed somewhat lit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Beanas4,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and I'm happy to hear you had a comfortable stay and found our staff to be friendly and efficient. We also appreciate your other feedback and apologize for any inconvenience caused - if you'd like to speak further about it, please feel free to get in touch with me at the number below. Otherwise, we're grateful for your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steeler Nation, Pgh, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here only one night, but the experience was fantastic. We were in town for my nehew's graduation being held at Liberty University.The hotel staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The room was a handicap accessible and fairly large. The enormous king bed was comfortable and most inviting after a long drive.Everything was right at our fingertips. The morning buffet was filled with a variety of hot and cold food choices that were all delicious. I would definitely stay here again, if I were in this area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear SusanDelaney,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to hear that you had such a great stay and hope that you enjoyed your nephew's graduation. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and are also happy you found our accommodations very comfortable. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you for another visit on your next trip to Lynchburg!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Pros:
Great location
Common areas decently kept

Cons:
Value - they're at the higher end of the L'burg market, and don't compare well w/their price point peers
Staff didn't address noise problem from all-night partyers next door - we got no sleep in our higher priced room; there was also a real issue mid-afternoon, staff didn't answer the phone, we had to walk down to get someone's attention. They're running too thin for their occupancy.
Bathroom and towels - mold in the shower/tub, hole in one of the towels; this lack of attention to the most basic detail is a big turn-off that I would expect from a much lower-end property

This stay was just OK for us, the real problem was the noise and the staff's inability to handle it. When we checked out, the breakfast area was filled w/families and visiting college parents, so I think we happened to share a very thin wall w/the only 'problem guests' there. Regardless, this property goes to the bottom of my list. For that price, there are better options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear TT476,

Thanks for taking the time to review us and share your feedback. I'm so sorry that you had noise issues during your stay and that our staff didn't address it - we certainly understand the importance of a good night's sleep and I will pass on your feedback to discuss with our staff so that something similar does not happen again. However, I am glad that you enjoyed our location and public areas. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please don't hesitate to get in touch with me at the number below. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences and hope you will consider giving us another opportunity when you are in Lynchburg.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

All thanks to Rusty and his staff for an excellent experience. From his warm welcome and the assistance he offered regarding room rates, I cannot praise his customer service skills more highly. The hotel was sparkling clean, the most comfortable night's sleep in superb beds. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear FlorenceNewt,

Thanks for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express; I'm happy you had such a great stay and will pass your kind words on to our General Manager! Also glad to hear you found us so clean and comfortable. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Lynchburg!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were only here for about 12 hours but were very pleased and happy with our stay. The hotel was sold out the weekend of our stay. We were a little worried that sold out might mean a bunch of loud and rambunctious other hotel guests. Not so, we could hardly tell anyone else was even on our floor. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the room, the comfort of the bed and pillows, and the furniture/fixtures (TV, love seat, desk, etc.) in the room. We were very pleased with the breakfast offered. All items were fresh, well-stocked, and delicious. Every staff person we came in contact with was very friendly. I rely heavily on TripAdvisor reviews. Please take my word if you are thinking about staying at the Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg that you will have a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear whoa1225,

Thank you for your review and we really appreciate your recommendation. I'm pleased to read that you had a quiet stay even though we were sold out for the night and also that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast so much. We look forward to your next stay!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkertown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here on 4/13/13 for a concert at Phase 2 which is a great place also. I reserved a room at the Americas Best Value Inn-Madison Heights, VA and the place was a dump! So we drove back to where we seen some more hotels and pulled into Holiday Inn Express in Lynchburg. Very clean walking in and was offered two bottle waters when checking in. We rode for 3 hours on a motorcycle and that was VERY welcoming. Seemed a little pricey but well worth every penny. We wanted to stay on lower level so we could keep an eye on the bike which was not a problem at all. Had to call front desk 3 different times for taxi service number, but she was great all 3 times.
Room was very clean with a huge flat screen tv, kings bed and a pullout couch. Nice fridge and microwave also. LOVED the water pressure in the shower. Towels and sheets were great too.
Breakfast was also great, Wasn't expecting anything hot but they had sausage, eggs, pancakes, gravy & biscuits. Also plenty of yogurts and danishes. Now when we are traveling, we will be looking for Holiday Inn's. Very pleased with everything. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Kristy I,

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay. I'm happy that you had such a great stay and will look for other Holiday Inn Express hotels in the future. We appreciate your kind words for our staff as well and hope to see you again soon!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
0.2 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#8 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#14 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg

Address: 5600 Seminole Ave, Lynchburg, VA 24501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Lynchburg is located in the heart of Central Virginia s exciting attractions, business and colleges. The hotel surrounds our guests with the conveniences that make business and leisure easy. We are located within minutes to major business such as Framatone, Areva, Frito Lay and Georgia Pacific. Any business traveler would agree with the Lynchburg Regional Airport only five miles from the hotel that you couldn t get closer. We are also minutes away from several outstanding colleges including Liberty University, Lynchburg College, Sweet Briar College and Randolph-Macon College. With the many scenic and historic attractions so close to Lynchburg, our hotel is a perfect choice. The Blue Ridge Mountains provide a perfect backdrop for a drive to visit the National D-Day Memorial, Appomattox Court House and Thomas Jefferson s Poplar Forest. The Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg proudly features a friendly staff and comfortable guest rooms with a spacious work desk with free wired high-speed Internet access. Guests can jump start their morning with our free deluxe continental breakfast. Take a relaxing dip in our seasonal outdoor swimming pool, or work out at our nearby off-site fitness center with complimentary passes available as the front desk. Come let us show you why it is 'SMART' to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.