We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ. to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3320 Candlers Mountain Rd, Lynchburg, VA 24502 (Formerly University Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Lynchburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was surprised how nice his La Quinta was. There's an empty restaurant connected to the front of the hotel which takes away from the curb appeal. But our collegues had booked this place for us and we went in. What a beautiful lobby and fantastic staff. The rooms are newly remodeled and so comfortable. It is very conveniently located to restaurants and right across the street from the River Ridge Mall. Next trip to Lynchburg, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ., responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for trusting the La Quinta Inn and Suites Lynchburg at Liberty University for your hotel needs during your recent stay in Lynchburg. We are delighted that you enjoyed the results of our recent renovation and we appreciate your compliments on our beautiful lobby, helpful staff and convenient location. We are pleased to hear that you plan to stay again the next time your travels bring you to our area and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
4
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cochranville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Starting our trip off with making the reservations over the phone and then again at check in, the staff was always so friendly and helpful. The hotel has a large lobby with plenty of seating and a great place to hang out with family to talk or play games, even enjoy their popcorn machine. The hotel is pet friendly. Though we didn't bring our pets, the hotel was very clean, quiet and smelled fresh. The room was nice, spacious and comfy. They only downside was how tight/small the bathroom was within the room. Great location, price and stay. Would recommend or stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ., responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for trusting the La Quinta Inn and Suites Lynchburg at Liberty University for your hotel needs during your recent visit to the Lynchburg area. We are delighted you enjoyed our large, cozy lobby, convenient location and great value. That you "would recommend or stay here again" are two of the greatest compliments you can give us and we truly appreciate them. We look forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aydlett, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were sparkling clean and the front desk folks were wonderful. Had a minor glitch signing onto their Wi-Fi - called the front desk and within 2 minutes - there was someone at the door to help me out!!!! Bed was comfortable - bathroom spotless - all the hot water you could want. I couldn't ask for anything more!!!

Room Tip: This is a "pet-friendly" hotel. Plan on hearing the occasional bark or yip!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ., responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We set high standards for product, service and cleanliness and it is very gratifying to hear that we met those standards during your stay. We are delighted you were comfortable during your stay and enjoyed great service. We hope we have won your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just stayed in LQ Liberty after a grueling trip from Mexico. The staff were so friendly, we even got treats for our animals. It is a brand new hotel so the place was sparkling. Wonderful breakfast. We like being on the first floor for our pets who had their own little area to walk in.
Just a great experience. Keep it up La Quinta. Although our Rewards programs is not working, I need to call you.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with pets, the first floor with its own back entrance is a good bet. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ., responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are pleased to hear that we were able to be a respite for you after your long journey and we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Lynchburg at Liberty University. It is a pleasure to be a pet friendly hotel and we are delighted that you and your pets were comfortable during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Please do give us a call regarding your Rewards membership. We would be happy to help you out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff is nice, but not very accommodating when there is an issue. Asked to be put on 2nd floor, they "had no rooms on the 2nd floor available." Had no hot water, then they moved me to the 2nd floor. Making reservations was difficult, being put on hold and the computer system was down.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ., responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. Top-notch service is one of our top priorities and we are very sorry to hear that this was not your experience. We are working hard to ensure that future guests do not experience the same issues. Your satisfaction is important to us and we look forward to providing you with a superior experience during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We selected La Quinta on our move to Richmond because of their pet friendly policy. Most hotels in the area charge $15.00 - $25.00 per day per pet. The hotel does not charge an additional pet fee and only ask that the pets be caged when the room is cleaned. I booked the room and was prepared to pay the increased rate on weekends. When I called the hotel before checking in to confirm they would accept our two pets, the manager (Tim) volunteered to reduce our room rate without asking. We stayed at the hotel for over 30 days during the process of moving and buying a house. The reduced room rate and pet friendly policy allowed us to take our time searching for a house since the reduced rate was very reasonable. The entire staff was friendly and professional throughout our stay. The hot breakfast and 24 hour coffee was an added bonus we had not anticipated. Within a week of staying at this hotel the front desk came to know our dog on a first name basis. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting or moving to the Richmond area with or without pets.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ., responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for trusting the La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg for your recent extended stay during your recent move. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your kind comments on the excellent service and great value you received while here. We truly appreciate your recommendation to other guests and look forward to welcoming you back again should the need arise in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

The short review: Recent "face-lift" so looks clean and is nicely decorated, room price was higher than we usually get, good location. A couple of glitches, but we would stay there again.

The long review: We checked in at 5PM and the person at the desk said there were no clean rooms. They were very busy the night before. Another person did recon and found 3 clean rooms. That seemed odd for a Lynchburg VA hotel, but whatever. We were only delayed 20 minutes or so.

There was a problem with the television. My husband is pretty good with electronics but couldn't get the guide channel. Called front desk. Man said, "The guide is on channel 2." Yes, we know where it is we just can't *get* to it. Took a minute for that to sink in. First man came, no luck. Second man came —who by the way plopped down on the edge of the bed while he fumbled around with a remote—no luck. Finally they sent a young guy who went to the back of the tv and fixed the problem.

It got really cold and we had no extra blanket in the room. No biggie, but I was kind of surprised.

The room was fine. Newly remodeled, clean and modern looking. The shower was good. The breakfast buffet was generous and mostly standard offerings. I'm fairly health conscious so I seldom want to eat what is offered, but I did have a breakfast burrito and it was quite tasty!

The mall is directly across the street and there are many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ., responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your candid review of your stay; feedback from our valued guests, such as yourself, helps us to improve for future guests. We are pleased that your overall stay was good and that you intend to stay with us again when you are in the area. We appreciate your compliments on our updated, modern property, generous breakfast buffet and convenient location. That being said, we hope you will accept our apologies for the disappointments that occurred during your stay. You can be assured that your concerns are being addressed and we look forward to the opportunity to exceed your expectations during your next stay. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.

Address: 3320 Candlers Mountain Rd, Lynchburg, VA 24502 (Formerly University Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn At River Ridge Mall - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Days Inn Lynchburg
Lynchburg Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.