We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can smell it from the street--YUM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot and Cold Cafe

Hot and Cold Cafe
205 9th St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1515
434-846-4976
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 272 Restaurants in Lynchburg
Cuisines: Indian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet
Description: Lynchburg's Premiere Indian-Mediterranean Fusion Restaurant. Taste homemade Indian and Lebanese food. Try our lunch buffet Monday through Friday. Many Vegetarian dishes. Menu includes Gyros, Hummus, Tabouli, Falafel, Baklava, Chicken Tikka Masala,Homemade Parathas, Biryani, Chai, Mango Lassi and the best Kheer (rice pudding).
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“You can smell it from the street--YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you love Indian/Middle Eastern foods, this is a rare find for you, tucked away on a side street in downtown Lynchburg. We had the lunch buffet--and everything on it was PERFECT. The dal soup was excellent. The desserts were a super-rich custard and baklava--dripping with honey. The proprietor/chief-cook/bottle-washer is the most accommodating host ever--and he does everything possible to ensure that you have a positive experience in his establishment. All food is cooked on premises! If you are looking for really good food--look no further than this.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Good Indian food, friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place is awesome. A real gem amongst the "blah" Southern and Italian fare that permeates Lynchburg.

Tasty gyros? Check. Rich and aromatic curries? Check.

Authentic Indian food prepared by a friendly Indian dude from Hyderabad. Very un-Lynchburg. Very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Fun place to eat with pretty good food. Would have prefered drinks in glasses rather than out of the can.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian food in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The owner makes the dishes from scratch, and they are great. I've been to Indian several times and believe the food here is better than what I ate in India. Be sure to save room for dessert'

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovingly and Tastefully Crafted Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Although this is a Mediterranean and Indian fusion restaurant (both cuisines are served) I decided to focus on the Indian food although I was sorely tempted by the Mediterranean items. The dal soup was a great beginning, made (obviously) from fresh ingredients and subtly and wonderfully seasoned. The owner, who was also the server, was very solicitous about the spiciness of all of the dishes, checking to be sure they weren't too spicy, if I wanted them to be more spicy, etc. The entree that I chose was the buttered chicken, something I had never had before. The owner explained that he got hormone-free chicken special from Georgia and was yet another indication of the effort that he put into preparing special dishes. I loved the buttered chicken, very subtly flavored, not too spicy. A personal preference of mine is chicken dishes with chicken cut small and this definitely fit the bill! I would highly recommend the buttered chicken.

For dessert, I chose the Kulfi (an Indian ice cream with pistachios, walnuts, and cashews) and two of the three versions of the baklava. Everything on the dessert menu other than the vanilla ice cream was made by the owner. He was very proud of his Kulfi, the recipe for which he worked on over a couple months, and rightfully so, it was delicious! It was the perfect complement to my meal.

I'm saving the baklava for later, so I can't comment on the taste but they look lovely and not merely honey-covered phyllo dough :-)

The restaurant itself did not have a large dining area so be prepared for that.

Be sure to take time to chat with the owner, he puts a lot of himself into his food and he spent a lot of time ensuring that I was happy with all of my choices.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hot and Cold Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot and Cold Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.