We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best filet I've ever had....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shoemaker's Fine Dining

Shoemaker's Fine Dining
1312 Commerce Street, Lynchburg, VA 24504
4344551510
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shoemaker's Fine Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 272 Restaurants in Lynchburg
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Offering the best of both worlds, Shoemakers gives off that cool, downtown vibe while nestled along the bank of the James River. From fresh-off-the-boat seafood and mouthwatering cheesecake, to beers brewed right next door, Shoemakers boasts something for everyone. And if that's not enough to draw you in, the hospitality is second-to-none.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best filet I've ever had....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the bar....and its a little stuffy for my taste....but that is very minor as it is upscale dining.....the steak was by far the best I've ever had...the potatoes were tasty but not hot....bartender was the right mix of informative and attentive....key lime pie was very good too....a bit pricey but we got what we paid for which is the definition of value....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Shoemaker's Fine Dining, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you, we're happy your meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    38
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful food! Bad service! Nice atmosphere.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Our crab cake was overpriced and undercooked (cold!), and the service was super slow. We paid a lot of money for a less than appetizing meal. Very disappointing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Shoemaker's Fine Dining, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Angela - could please email: sideworkmarketing@gmail.com, as we'd like to respond to you personally. Thank you, Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great anniversary experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I were in town for our 35th wedding anniversary 12Aug13. Our son recommended Shoemaker's even though he had never eaten here.
I called for reservations which were promptly honored when we arrived. The waiter named Cliff attended to our every need. We ordered the shrimp and crab dip appitizer which was absolutely pleantiful and delicious. I wanted a particluar steak cooked medium well, however, Cliff recommended the NY Strip which the chef would prepare at my desired temperature. The peppercorn sauce for the steak was tasty and complimented the steak perfectly. My wife ordered the crab stuffed fish which cooked perfectly - flaky inside with crispy skin. My NY Strip came underdone but Cliff promptly offered to have it re-fired and even offered to have the fish placed in the warmer so that we could eat together.
Cliff and the manager returned with the steak that was then perfectly cooked with freshly made creamed potatoes. Cliff recommended the apple pie for desert, however since the hour was getting late we asked for it to go and instead of the ice cream I requested that sharp cheddar cheese be placed on the warm pie. This caused a stir with the resturant staff especially the chef whom we met on the way out. He mentioned that the pie and cheese combo was the weirdest thing that he had heard of. We assured him that should he try it he would enjoy it.
From the phone call for reservations to the food, portion sizes, and the laughs with the staff Shoemakers helped to make our evening and night very special. We will always remember Cliff and the look on Chef's face when talked about the pie and cheese.
Thanks Shoemakers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Shoemaker's Fine Dining, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank YOU Stephen! We're so happy we were able to make your anniversary memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
2 reviews
“NYC Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Food and service NYC quality, very impressive. The crab cake app fantastic and the array of specials offers lots to choose from

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Shoemaker's Fine Dining, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you Fran!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Restaurant in Lynchburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a great addition to the Craddock Terry Hotel - makes a wonderful combination. They have great steaks, seafood and cocktails. My favorite, however, is the Berbere Chicken...damn!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Shoemaker's Fine Dining, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
James - we're very happy you enjoyed everything, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoemaker's Fine Dining also viewed

 

Been to Shoemaker's Fine Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoemaker's Fine Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.