We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN FUN FUN for all ages!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amazement Square

Amazement Square
27 9th Street, Lynchburg, VA
434-845-1888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Lynchburg
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amazement Square is Central Virginia's first multidisciplinary, hands-on children's museum! Climb, slide and discover as you make your way through four floors of exciting, interactive exhibits, activities and programs. Visitors of all ages, backgrounds and abilities can explore global and regional topics, the arts and humanities, science and health-related themes, as well as expand their creativity.
Courtland, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“FUN FUN FUN for all ages!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This place was tons of fun from my 6 year old to my forty something husband. We even join and got the membership. Can't wait to go back. Wonderful break from visiting relatives for our child!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Big fun, for little ones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

A must-see Lynchburg attraction. If you have anyone with you under the age of 17, this place is really special. We've been to the Children's museum in Portsmouth, VA and this one is twice as nice. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, VA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to explore with young kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Amazement Square is chock full of fun places to explore and exciting things to do. You'll learn things while you're enjoying yourself along the James River in Lynchburg, VA. This is an old bldg located downtown, and we came here regularly when my kids were 10 and under. I recommend it! Even the grown ups will have fun with the motion-related activites and the River station up on the 4th floor. You can make it rain, paint on walls, light up stairs, make your own stained-glass window, gather farm fresh produce, "Milk" a cow, hide amongst the corn stalks, act like a bug, ride a zip line, and leave happy! There are usually specials days with reduced admission. Check their website. There are rotating displays of an educational nature. It is GREAT.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best children's museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The climbing tower in the center of this old building is fantastic! The exhibits are of interest to kids and adults too. I can't do it justice, you just have to take your child or grandchild and visit this educational and very fun place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Grandparents perfect activity for visiting "grands"!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Challenging & interesting for youngsters of all ages.Frequently changed programs & displays. We all look forward to time spent there. ♡

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazement Square also viewed

 

Been to Amazement Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazement Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.