We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazement Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amazement Square

Amazement Square
27 9th Street, Lynchburg, VA
434-845-1888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Lynchburg
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amazement Square is Central Virginia's first multidisciplinary, hands-on children's museum! Climb, slide and discover as you make your way through four floors of exciting, interactive exhibits, activities and programs. Visitors of all ages, backgrounds and abilities can explore global and regional topics, the arts and humanities, science and health-related themes, as well as expand their creativity.
Lynchburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazement Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It is overall a good place for kids to learn, play and have fun with other kids and their parents. It is a good mixture of Science, Medicine, History, and Arts. Pt will be involved in games, instruments to use, and just plain old good time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A little something for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This was every bit worth the hour trip to Lynchburg. We spent the whole day there and are eager to go back. (Thus got a family pass.). We enjoyed lunch at The Depot Grill across the street. The only thing to think about is how busy they might be. If going on a busy day, I'd say the exhibits would get cramped pretty, though. I have kids ranging from 11 to 3yrs and there wasn't a moment they stopped.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Painted and painted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My child had always missed out on the paint room until this visit and she kept taking a turn to go in and paint! Next to the paint room is a large screen TV showing songs to perform on stage.it made a huge impression on my child. The bad part of the visit was as soon as we walked in the building. The line to pay was too long. My child got impatient and ran away to start playing. They need to devise a better way to take money quickly at the beginning of the time slot....also I wish they would replenish or refresh the things in the doctor's operating room!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A lot to do but a little over priced. We spent two hours there and could have spent more. Fun for children of all ages.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great spot for kids! Parents will enjoy too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Amazement Square is appropriately named. It is an amazing place. Lots of interactive stuff for kids to do. This is a "hands on" museum. If you've got a 2 to 10 year old, they'll love it! I recommend Depot Grill for lunch while you're there. very kid friendly restaurant right across the street from Amazement Square.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazement Square also viewed

 

Been to Amazement Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazement Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.