We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4640 Murray Place/Candlers Mountain Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Lynchburg
Manassas, Va.
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

First time staying here. I've stayed in nicer Courtyard by Marriott's before but there was nothing wrong with this one. Very clean and the staff was nice and professional. I ate dinner in the restaurant and it was just okay. I went down to eat breakfast at 0630 but it turns out on Sunday breakfast isn't available until 0700. They should advertise this better. They have the window AC which you control at the AC vs a thermostat on the wall. Was a loud AC. Not a bad hotel at all but not one of the nicer Marriott's I've stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Bigfoot424,
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear from you, and we're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Courtyard Lynchburg. It's great to know that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback on both positive and opportunities for improving our guest experience. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Lynchburg. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Debbie Heming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    46
    22
    16
    5
See reviews for
34
23
9
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Was disappointed by the high rates during the Liberty University graduation. This was the most expensive hotel of our week-long vacation (including downtown Baltimore), which happened to have us staying here during graduation weekend. I expected more due to the rates and was a little disappointed at the average Courtyard. Lobby was nice, but the room wasn't as nicely decorated, though it was clean. The food offered at the cafe in the lobby was very good - service was a little slow, even when it wasn't mobbed. Staff was very friendly. I've stayed in several Courtyards so in comparison, this was average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
slikrokbel,
Thank you for writing. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for your disappointment in our rates during the Liberty University graduation weekend. It’s unfortunate to hear of the areas we fell short in meeting your expectations. We value you as our guest and appreciate you acknowledging our clean rooms and friendly service. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Debbie Heming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is a decent Courtyard by Marriott so you know what to expect. However, they jacked up the rates like crazy for the Liberty University graduation. Beware that breakfast is not included with the room and is also overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
BMTrek,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing from you and receiving your feedback. I apologize for your discontent with our rates and Bistro prices. We value you as our guest and hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Debbie Heming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights about a month ago while in town on business. The hotel is your average Courtyard. The rooms were clean and laid out in the normal Courtyard fashion. I didn't in the hotel since it didn't seem to offer very much and there are tons of restaurants by the university.

Internet speed was good, room was clean, bed was soft, and staff was pleasant. So there are really no cons. To me Courtyards in general are hit or miss, some turn out to be almost 5 star full service experiences and others are consistent with this stay.

Overall a good hotel with no issues, but if you are a Marriott guy, I prefer the Springhill Suites about 2 miles down the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
majones7,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Lynchburg. I’m glad our clean rooms, soft bed and pleasant staff met your expectations. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in town on business, and we hope to become your favorite hotel in Lynchburg. Please plan to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Debbie Heming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Clean hotel, friendly customer service folks. I bought a 20 ounce Pepsi from the front desk: $2.50. There is a small bar and food available in the extended lobby but prices are simply too high when you consider there is a very good bar/restaurant across the street, and fast foods places a few blocks away. For some reason this hotel uses Dish for their tv service. At least that's what I think because we never had tv service during our stay despite the "rebooting" efforts of the front desk. I agree with other reviewers: nice but pricey compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
TalyMon,
It’s great to hear from you! We appreciate your kind comments about our clean hotel and friendly service. I apologize for your disappointment with the small bar pricing and television service. We value your feedback and appreciate you providing us some areas of opportunity for improving our guest experience. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Debbie Heming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Liberty. Staff was EXCELLENT! Very accomodating. Rooms were a bit older, I am a Marriott Platinum member so I have stayed at many Courtyards and this one was a bit outdated. Good location, across from the mall (which isn't that exciting) and close to restaurants, about 7 minutes from Liberty. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
mmbbg17,
Thank you for writing a review about your experience with us at Courtyard Lynchburg. It’s wonderful to receive your kind comments about our hotel’s convenient location and excellent staff. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Please plan to visit us again soon the next time you travel to Lynchburg. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Debbie Heming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This Courtyard looks like all others. It is a nice place, clean and staff are accomodating.
Food at dnner is limited which can be a problem if you do not have a car.
Breakfast is much better with a wide variety of choices and more healthy fare with less calories.
There is a small exercise area with 2 treadmills and 1 eliptical. The pool is heated and there is a nice hot tub.
It is dependable which is important for business travel. Internet service is free, but I prefer my own secure network.
The hotel is secure and busy with many business guests and well as traveling families.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Loucat26,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Courtyard Lynchburg. We're delighted to have had you as our guest, and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm pleased to know that you had a delicious breakfast with us and enjoyed the variety of choices. We hope you'll plan to visit us again the next time you're in Lynchburg. Thanks again and safe travels.
Sincerely,
Debbie Heming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg

Address: 4640 Murray Place/Candlers Mountain Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Courtyard Lynchburg
Lynchburg Courtyard
Lynchburg Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lynchburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.