We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Candlers Mountain Rd, Liberty University - East Campus, Lynchburg, VA 24502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“LU intensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times while taking my Liberty Intensive course. The staff are wonderful and very friendly with all guests. The couple of times I needed something from the front desk staff, they were more than generous to help with anything needed. The breakfast is nice and the hotel is in a great location for intensive classes. Beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want a great view of the mountains and liberty campus, ask for a front view room. It's b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
It is a real complement to our staff when guests come back to stay with us because of their positive experience. Our goal is to always exceed guest expectations to make you want to come back to stay with us again and again! We look forward to seeing you when you come back for your next class!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    312
    170
    69
    33
See reviews for
427
88
85
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was a lovely and comfortable hotel with a beautiful view. Quick access to Liberty transit was available. The manager went above and beyond to make sure I had food I could eat due to a food allergy and also helped us back to the hotel from downtown when we happened to be at the same eatery. Friendly staff and I cannot get over how the manager made our stay that much better. I feel as if I've found a home away from home. I will be staying here for all future intensives.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your “Excellent Wingate Experience” with us and letting us know that our staff went “above & beyond” to take care of your needs! We’re glad to be your “home away from home” and look forward to your future visits with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

As usual, the hotel staff were WONDERFULLY hospitable. Everyone was polite and welcoming. Breakfast buffet is great. Room staff knew I was there for the week and did a great job keeping the room clean and well-stocked. My only issue was that, last September, I was told by one of the staff that laundry and food court were going to be put in place by this spring. Well, construction hasn't even begun. So, if you get hungry and don't want to leave the hotel, you're stuck with a bag of popcorn in your room and a vending machine on the 1st floor. Also, when I made my reservation this past March (for the July intensive), I requested a front-facing room. That didn't happen - so, my view was of the retaining wall. Special thanks to Brian Knopp for doing all he does to make one's stay relaxing! And to Theresa, who runs the breakfast buffet!

Room Tip: You definitely want a room on the front of the hotel, and the higher up it is, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are happy to announce that the remodeling of our Wingate by Wyndham will begin on August 4th and will include the addition of a Marketplace as well as Guest Laundry Facilities. (These additions will be made because of the suggestion of our guests!) However, please be patient… that this process will take 5-6 months to complete since it being done one section at a time so we don’t disturb our guests. One of the advantages of the Wingate is that we are on the Liberty Shuttle Route which can take our guests to nearby restaurants. Glad that our staff could help make your stay RELAXING! We look forward to seeing you in ROUND 4!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Spent a quick overnight here and enjoyed the comfortable room. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. The only downside was an odd smell in the bathroom, but everything appeared clean. Our room had a great view of the mountains, and the hotel is convenient to just about everything in the region. Easy on and off nearby Routes 460/US 29.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We’re glad that you liked our location and found our room to be comfortable… our location on Candlers Mountain Road makes us convenient to nearby colleges, shopping and restaurants. The smell in the bathroom may have come from the environmentally friendly cleaning products that we use. Our Housekeeping Supervisor will check this out. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I really recommend the Wingate for Lynchburg residents who would like to take a "stay-cation." Nicest views of the mountains of any area hotels. My wife and I were celebrating our 36th anniversary so we got a Jacuzzi room. Beautiful room, nice and spacious. Big screen with Direct TV with a smaller flat screen set facing the Jacuzzi. Front desk staff were very friendly and professional. We had a minor problem where we had to call maintenance and they came up within minutes and it was promptly handled. Enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast buffet the next morning. Make-your-own waffles, eggs, sausage links, pastries, fresh fruit, etc. (they change it up from day to day, so some days there are other choices). Have many friends who stay at the Wingate for Liberty intensive classes and speak very highly of it. There is a shuttle, etc. so you can get by nicely without renting a vehicle. The dollar theater is at the bottom of the hill if you enjoy movies.along with a variety of stores and restaurants.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, the "specialty" rooms (like our Jacuzzi honeymoon suite) are on the back si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for allowing us to be part of the celebration for your 36th Anniversary! We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you including so many positive comments! Thank you for recommending us to both residents of Lynchburg and students taking intensive classes. Next year, we hope that you will chose to celebrate with us again! THANKS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was my second stay at the Wyndham - I also stayed there for a week last summer. I will be staying there one more time next week. Both of my stays were very convenient, allowing me to focus on the week-long graduate intensive courses I was taking at Liberty. The classes are truly intense and require work in the evenings after being in class all day, so it helped to stay at a school-owned hotel that understands that experience. I enjoyed the complimentary free breakfast each morning and was able to use the fitness center twice this last trip to help me relieve stress and exercise after sitting so long. The manager and staff were all very friendly. The hotel offered a reduced rate for intensive students, a free dinner Sunday night, and free printing during our stay. I was able to walk to class in 15 minutes or use the school bus service in about the same amount of time. I would definitely recommend the Wyndham for students who want to pay a little extra to allow them to focus better on their intensive courses.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
While you stay at the Wingate Lynchburg, our job to help you RELAX so you can concentrate on your school work… whether it is a comfortable bed, friendly smile, Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Printing available 24/7, Fitness Center, Complimentary Chair Massages on Monday & Thursday nights, Heated Indoor Pool or even the Orientation/Pizza Social on Sunday nights. We are here to serve you and appreciate you staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Awesome Hotel and Staff. I cannot emphasis enough how great the staff is at this hotel. We have stayed here 4 times and everything has always been consistent! We will stay here every time we are in the Lynchburg area!!!

M & S Cook

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for recognizing our staff here at the Wingate Lynchburg… our job here is to “Always Exceed Guest Expectations” and it means a lot for you to let us know that you have stayed with us four times and received outstanding service each time you stayed with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Lynchburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University

Address: 3777 Candlers Mountain Rd, Liberty University - East Campus, Lynchburg, VA 24502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****RENOVATION ALERT*** Some of the amenities listed below in our description are not presently available or accessible. Our remodeling is a full renovation and our lobby is currently under construction. Since we will be open during renovation the majority of the work will be scheduled on Monday-Friday from 8:00 am to 7:00 pm and from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm on Saturday and Sunday. Due to renovations, our Pool & Fitness are closed until our renovations are complete. No other hotel in Lynchburg offers a better location! The WINGATE BY WYNDHAM offers a spectacular view of the City of Lynchburg and the surrounding Blue Ridge Mountains along with easy access to Highway 29 (North/South) and Highway 460 (East/West). More than 40 restaurants are located within a 2-mile radius! The WINGATE BY WYNDHAM in Lynchburg, VA offers all the comforts of home including: Generous Work Space, Microwaves, Refrigerators, 32" Plasma Screen Televisions, Clock Radios with MP3 adaptors, Hair Dryers, Full-size Iron & Ironing Board. All rooms are 100% non-smoking. We also invite your to join us for a COMPLIMENTARY Hot Buffet Breakfast including Eggs, Bacon or Sausage, Belgium Waffles & much more. Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet Access. 24 Hour access to our fully equipped Business Center with two Work Stations, High Speed Copier, Laser Printer and Fax Machine. 24 Hour access to our Fitness Center. Complimentary Shuttle Service to/from Lynchburg Regional Airport and Kemper Street Train Station, as well as Evening Express Shuttle Service available by request to restaurants within a 1 mile radius on Candlers Mountain Road from 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm(Monday-Friday) and Noon to 9:00 pm(Saturday & Sunday). EARN - Wyndham Rewards Points for FREE NIGHT STAYS. The WINGATE BY WYNDHAM is the first hotel in Lynchburg to be "green certified" and meeting room space is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Wyndham
Wingate Lynchburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.