We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timing and space” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Candlers Mountain Rd, Liberty University - East Campus, Lynchburg, VA 24502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ROCKY MOUNT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Timing and space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have been staying here for almost two years now. During our last two stays we ran into situations of seating space for the breakfast. I understand that groups make a huge part of weekend buisness but even with the extra room available it was crowded and we sat in the lobby chairs. During the last visit we also got an unwelcome suprise as we returned from an outing to find the carpet soaked from a shampooing. There was a note that they were doing some maintinance work but the carpet was still damp the next day. The last issue was a mater of price differental between booking and arrival the price went up. The clerk explained that they had just changed hands. I usually use parents rate but thankfully have triple A and used that to bring the rate close to the booked rate. All in all not what we first experienced here this and the price changes have us beginning to explore other lodging options

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
On busy weekends we provide additional seating in the conference rooms, boardrooms, and in the pool area. We extend breakfast an additional hour on weekends, however, the last hour is always the busiest.

This past week every carpet throughout the hotel was steam cleaned by a professional carpet cleaning company. They used special extraction system that typically removes any additional moisture. I am sorry that yours was still damp.

There should not be any price difference between booking and arrival and I will check into this for you. We encourage our guests to book directly with the hotel rather than going through 3rd party web sites which can charge additional fees. If you book directly you can also receive Wyndham Rewards points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    312
    170
    69
    33
See reviews for
427
88
85
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MEDIA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Rooms were spacious & clean. Bed & pillows were comfortable (which is rare for a hotel). Front desk personnel were friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to make sure that guests were happy and comfortable. Breakfast was awesome! Cleaning staff did a great job with my room. I can't find anything negative to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We appreciate your positive comments… one of our values is to “Inspect what you expect” and our staff goes out of their way to lookout for our guests! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANAMA CITY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A warm and proffesional greeting by front desk staff. Staff was great the entire time. Room was great. Pool was great. Breakfast was pretty good, not great. Are paper plates and bowls the norm at Wingate? Again, the staff was attentive at all phases to include breakfast. I liked the TV speaker in the bathroom.

Most annoying was the poor wireless internet reception in my room (511).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments about our staff… we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We typically use paper plates and bowls rather than Styrofoam products because they are better for our environment. On each floor we have 2 wireless access points and I will ask our Maintenance Department to double-check to make sure that both are operating properly. For guests that need a faster connection, we also offer Free Wired High Speed Internet access in all of our guest rooms. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honesdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend college visit. The staff and accomodations were very nice. However, for some reason they decided to shampoo ALL of the floors in the middle of the day on Friday. My wife and I were trying to take a late-morning nap after an early-morning outing. The noise of the shampooers was tolerable, but they kept trying to get into our room. They finally called and asked how long we would be in there! So much for our nap. We left for 3 hours and returned, only to discover that they had just started to shampoo our room! We made a polite complaint to the front desk associates, who were very nice, but the bottom line was that we had to go away for another 2 hours.
When we were finally permitted to return, our carpet was wet for the next day and the whole 5th floor stank.
Having said that, the room was very nice, the bed was probably the most comfortable we've ever slept in, and the breakfast was great. But to shampoo the carpets on a Friday? Really? Major inconvenience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
This past week we had professional carpet cleaning company come to the Wingate to steam clean all the carpets in the entire hotel. The goal was to complete every room on all 5 floors by the end of the week. On Friday we only had the 2nd Floor left to finish. Since the carpet cleaning company was not available the following week, we decided to complete the entire floor instead of putting it off another month. We are sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused and the next time we deep clean carpets during a slower time. Please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed 3 nights here recently for a local college visit. Chose a suite as we were travelling with children and the extra room was needed. Our first room ended up being closed off due to maintenance but the front desk personnel were very accomodating and apologetic and quickly moved us to a new room.
Requests for extra towels and comforter were quickly and graciously granted. The room was clean and comfortable and housekeeping did a great job making the beds & replacing used towels, emptying garbage, and the like.
Our daughter made use several times of the indoor swimming pool & hot tub. She loved it. Facilities & water were clean and clean towels were available pool-side.
The breakfast buffet was good and the seating & tables were continuously kept clean. The host & hostess were always checking to make sure everything was kept stocked and clean. I'd rate the breakfast buffet better than most. Only suggestion would be to add a conveyor-type toaster or add more regular toasters as there was only one 2-slice toaster which backed up a little during peak times. Excellent coffee available 24-7. Everyone from the front-desk personnel to housekeeping to breakfast hostess to the sales manager were very friendly, gracious, and accomodating.
Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were in a king suite and never heard any hall noise as another reviewer did. Our room was also n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments… one of our values is “You don’t get a second chance to make a first impression” and our staff always steps up! Because of your comments we will be adding a 4-slice toaster next week and will use the 2-slice toaster as back-up. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beuvrages
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lots of stays in this hotel already. Breakfast has a little improved ... Large rooms and comfortable beds ...

Should improve the noise isolation of the room door : each and every noise in the corridor can be eared in the room, and disturb your sleep

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We appreciate you staying with us each time you come to Lynchburg. It sounds like the noise you are hearing is from the deadbolt being placed between the door and the frame to prop the door open. I will check with our Maintenance Staff to see if there is a better solution to this. Thanks for bringing this to our attention! See you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLANO
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Bed was not comfortable.
No hot water the next AM. And no time to wait for resolution.
Broken entrance sign looks trashy and evidences poor maintenance detailing.

But kindly gave ma an extra hour to check out, before discovering no hot water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
It is very unusual for us to get a complaint about no hot water at all, however, since your room was on the 4th floor it can sometimes take a minute or two for the hot water to reach the upper floors. When I followed up with the Front Desk they did not receive complaints from any other guests. (We lucky to have a great maintenance staff who are always willing to help guests.) I will ask our Maintenance Staff to look at your room and make sure the faucet is working correctly. If you have a problem, just let us know and we will try to get it resolved as quickly as possible.
As far as with entrance sign goes, we are waiting for the insurance company to finish processing the claim so we can get it fixed. In the meantime, I will check to see if it can be taken down temporarily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University

Address: 3777 Candlers Mountain Rd, Liberty University - East Campus, Lynchburg, VA 24502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****RENOVATION ALERT*** Some of the amenities listed below in our description are not presently available or accessible. Our remodeling is a full renovation and our lobby is currently under construction. Since we will be open during renovation the majority of the work will be scheduled on Monday-Friday from 8:00 am to 7:00 pm and from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm on Saturday and Sunday. Due to renovations, our Pool & Fitness are closed until our renovations are complete. No other hotel in Lynchburg offers a better location! The WINGATE BY WYNDHAM offers a spectacular view of the City of Lynchburg and the surrounding Blue Ridge Mountains along with easy access to Highway 29 (North/South) and Highway 460 (East/West). More than 40 restaurants are located within a 2-mile radius! The WINGATE BY WYNDHAM in Lynchburg, VA offers all the comforts of home including: Generous Work Space, Microwaves, Refrigerators, 32" Plasma Screen Televisions, Clock Radios with MP3 adaptors, Hair Dryers, Full-size Iron & Ironing Board. All rooms are 100% non-smoking. We also invite your to join us for a COMPLIMENTARY Hot Buffet Breakfast including Eggs, Bacon or Sausage, Belgium Waffles & much more. Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet Access. 24 Hour access to our fully equipped Business Center with two Work Stations, High Speed Copier, Laser Printer and Fax Machine. 24 Hour access to our Fitness Center. Complimentary Shuttle Service to/from Lynchburg Regional Airport and Kemper Street Train Station, as well as Evening Express Shuttle Service available by request to restaurants within a 1 mile radius on Candlers Mountain Road from 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm(Monday-Friday) and Noon to 9:00 pm(Saturday & Sunday). EARN - Wyndham Rewards Points for FREE NIGHT STAYS. The WINGATE BY WYNDHAM is the first hotel in Lynchburg to be "green certified" and meeting room space is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Wyndham
Wingate Lynchburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.