We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable 2 Night Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Candlers Mountain Rd, Liberty University - East Campus, Lynchburg, VA 24502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
TERRYVILLE
1 review
“Enjoyable 2 Night Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Enjoyed our 2 night stay. Comfortable, quiet room with lovely view overlooking Liberty University. Sofa bed not very comfortable. Delicious hot breakfast, although eggs not quite as good the second morning (odd texture and taste).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Glad you enjoyed stay and look forward to staying with us again! Anytime you need extra padding, please let us know and we will bring an extra comforter to your room. Unlike some hotels, we don’t use powdered eggs, but they may have been a bit overcooked. I will let our Breakfast Manager know so we can keep things fresh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    312
    170
    69
    33
See reviews for
428
88
85
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MECHANICSVILLE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. We were pleasantly surprised with complimentary chair massages in the dining area, and after traveling in the car and moving our student into the dorm, the massages were wonderful. The only improvement needed was the cleanliness of our room. The room was clean, but it was obvious that the room needed to be freshened up and aired out. A quick dusting and fluffing of the bed sheets would have made the room feel just cleaned for us. The bathroom was clean, but you could see where mold had stained the grout in the tub. Overall a good stay, but negotiate with the staff for their absolute best price. We saved an extra $50 a night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for recognizing our staff! We’re glad you enjoyed the complimentary massage too, this is something new that we offer to our guests every Monday evening during check-in from 4:00 to 6:30 pm. We are already begun stripping and replacing grout in all bath tubs and this should be completed in a month. Your suggestion on “airing out the room” was excellent and we will remind our Housekeeping Staff how important this freshness is. We should to inspect what we expect! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotteville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have been to this hotel several times over the last couple years as our daughter is attending college there. We have also tried several different hotels in the arera. When we arrived in our room and there was a mold smell. My wife at this time spoke with house cleaning person about the smell. They just stated that they would spray some air freshener. After leaving for a while and returning the smell was still in the room. We believe it was from the air conditioner and hope this is looked into.
Thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
You are correct; the smell was coming from the drip pan in your air conditioning unit. We are in the process of upgrading all HVAC units at the Wingate with newer models that are more reliable and energy efficient. You will be very pleased when you come back for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEDAR LAKE
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Daytime front desk staff could have been more friendly and helpful. It seemed as if we were bothering them by being there. Night staff much more pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We always try to do our best to give a friendly smile and greeting to each and every guest and we are sorry that we missed this opportunity. Even when our day gets a little hectic, we should make an extra effort to give a friendly greeting. (Many of our staff members have worked at the Wingate for years and know the guests on a first-name basis.) Each time a guest enters the Wingate, they greeted by a sign that reads: “May ALL enter as GUESTS, and leave as FRIENDS.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGMAN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Breakfast was good but never enough help at front desk called down for help with something said they'd come never came

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
When a guest needs help, we are happy to assist them. However, sometimes it is so busy at the Front Desk that it is difficult get upstairs. To better assist our guests, we recently hired a new team member who will be able to assist the Front Desk with special requests from our guests, including maintenance issues, fresh towels or just lending an extra hand. We appreciate you staying with us and will try not to let this happen next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCKLEDGE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very friendly and efficient staff. Great location with nice rooms at a good rate. Will stay here again for sure. Great value. Stay here, you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your fabulous experience with us… we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOURBON
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The experience I had at this hotel was great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Lynchburg, VA for any length of time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your great experience and recommending the Wingate Lynchburg to others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University

Address: 3777 Candlers Mountain Rd, Liberty University - East Campus, Lynchburg, VA 24502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****RENOVATION ALERT*** Some of the amenities listed below in our description are not presently available or accessible. Our remodeling is a full renovation and our lobby is currently under construction. Since we will be open during renovation the majority of the work will be scheduled on Monday-Friday from 8:00 am to 7:00 pm and from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm on Saturday and Sunday. Due to renovations, our Pool & Fitness are closed until our renovations are complete. No other hotel in Lynchburg offers a better location! The WINGATE BY WYNDHAM offers a spectacular view of the City of Lynchburg and the surrounding Blue Ridge Mountains along with easy access to Highway 29 (North/South) and Highway 460 (East/West). More than 40 restaurants are located within a 2-mile radius! The WINGATE BY WYNDHAM in Lynchburg, VA offers all the comforts of home including: Generous Work Space, Microwaves, Refrigerators, 32" Plasma Screen Televisions, Clock Radios with MP3 adaptors, Hair Dryers, Full-size Iron & Ironing Board. All rooms are 100% non-smoking. We also invite your to join us for a COMPLIMENTARY Hot Buffet Breakfast including Eggs, Bacon or Sausage, Belgium Waffles & much more. Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet Access. 24 Hour access to our fully equipped Business Center with two Work Stations, High Speed Copier, Laser Printer and Fax Machine. 24 Hour access to our Fitness Center. Complimentary Shuttle Service to/from Lynchburg Regional Airport and Kemper Street Train Station, as well as Evening Express Shuttle Service available by request to restaurants within a 1 mile radius on Candlers Mountain Road from 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm(Monday-Friday) and Noon to 9:00 pm(Saturday & Sunday). EARN - Wyndham Rewards Points for FREE NIGHT STAYS. The WINGATE BY WYNDHAM is the first hotel in Lynchburg to be "green certified" and meeting room space is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham - Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Wyndham
Wingate Lynchburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Lynchburg/Liberty University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.