We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Hills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovingston Cafe

Lovingston Cafe
165 Front Street, Lovingston, VA 22949-2340
434-263-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Lovingston
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
South Kent, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Hills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were driving along Route 29 in VA, looking for a place to eat, when I spied a sign for the Lovingston Cafe. Not wanting to eat at fast food places, we gave it a try. Well, it far exceeded our expectations. The decor is the first thing you notice--it's different, arty, and fun. The menu had lots of options for different tastes. It turned out to be good, honest, testy cooking.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

There are not a lot of restaurants in Lovingston, so this one stands out. It is small, but the food is good. Many of the locals eat there, so the staff knows the regulars. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Strip Steak Special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Saturday weekend specials for the last couple of weeks has included a strip steak which we both ordered and both agreed was horrible. Absolutely no flavor whatsoever, we tried to figure out what was wrong with what would normally be a decent piece of steak. It was decided it tasted as if it was injected with water or was boiled in water. When we returned this week, I asked and sure enough it seems they think cooking steak "sous-vide" is a good idea. Not having knowingly had a steak cooked this way I looked it up and seemingly it's a great way to cook a steak - BUT it's not supposed to "taste" like it's boiled. Not sure how this is being done at TLC - maybe not vaccum packed - but don't waste your money on this steak, has no flavor at all. Our server said that they have had numerous complaints about it; my suggestion grill it or figure out why it tastes like boiled rubber.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BEST REUBEN SANDWICH EVER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is the 3rd time we've eaten at TLC (The Lovingston Cafe). Always delicious!! They make the best Reuben sandwich I've ever had. The corned beef is super tender and the sandwich just melts in your mouth. It's worth the 1 1/2 hr trip up there. This little restaurant is the gem of Nelson County!! Not to be missed!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Don't pass this one up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We've been eating here several times a year since it opened whenever we travel US 29. In fact, we plan our travel times through the area to enjoy the food and have never been disappointed. The menu changes somewhat on a seasonal basis with daily special. My very all time favorite is the ham and pea soup. We usually split a Greek salad, this is a large salad, and then we both order a sandwich or entree. Crab cakes, burgers, and BBQ are very good. On our recent visit I had the BBQ sandwich and asked for hot sauce. The waitress brought Sriracha, and I was a little taken back. But, I tried it with BBQ and it was great.

This is a cozy and friendly place, and the service is as good as the food. Locals and travelers are all great and served graciously. It's also a good place for all age groups. Don't be tempted by the fast food spots on the highway. This is a half block away in distance and light miles away in food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovingston Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lovingston Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovingston Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.