We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Relaxing 2 Days Ever Spent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lovingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Orchard House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
9749 Thomas Nelson Hwy, Lovingston, VA 22949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Lovingston B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Most Relaxing 2 Days Ever Spent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

My husband and I are both full-time working people. We never get enough rest during our busy week, and with an eight year old grandson close by and all the work that needs to be done that you can't get to during the week, our weekends are quite hectic, also. We always try to get away and make long weekends when holidays are involved. The Fourth of July was a perfect time to extend and just get away somewhere to relax. The Orchard House Bed and Breakfast was the perfect relaxing, laid-back, get away place. We are both wine-lovers, and the vineyards in the area provided just enough leisure activity for during the day. We have stayed at many B & B's and we must say Richard and Deborah were the most friendly, warm, and caring people we have had the pleasure to meet! They provide a terrific breakfast, wonderful accommodations, and all the right amenities. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    17
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
120
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2006

There are not enough words to express what a fantastic and relaxing experience visting the Orchard House was for us. Deb & Richard did an awesome job fixing The Orchard House up as a Bed & Breakfast as it is absolutely beautiful. The amazing detail they put into every thing they do just gives it that much more charm. They are fantastic hosts who make you feel like family. This is simply a MUST DO on your vacation planner. We look forward to coming back again. Robert & Deb.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

The Orchard House is a wonderful place to relax and to enjoy the rural setting. There were wonderful birds to watch and lots of rabbits that made it feel so comfortable. The hosts are gracious and fun to talk with. They were most helpful, providing directions and answering questions. The extra touches, from the fresh baked cookies upon arrival, to having coffee and tea along with soft drinks and bottled water were greatly appreciated. The hearty breakfast was incredible and their pan baked apple and walnut pancakes were amazing. They even gave out the recipe upon request. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it unconditionally.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

This was our second visit to the Orchard House - ostensibly to be close to the Nelson County Festival - but the relaxation and hospitality at this beautiful B&B was the real attraction. Deb and Richard are great hosts and make you feel right at home. The entire property is well appointed, well maintained, and not pretentious. The rabbits, birds, and sometmes deer add to the relaxation and enjoyment of just sitting on a rocking chair on the porch and taking in the beautiful rolling landscape. For us flatlanders, the surrounding mountains are a constant source of joy and tranquility. Practically speaking, the Orchard House is close to several wineries and many Nelson county attractions as well as convenient to Charlottesville and Rte. 29. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

The Orchard House has so much charm and history in an updated, comfortable setting. The small touches, like fresh baked cookies each afternoon, were delightful. The maple egg cups for breakfast were awesome. Deb and Richard are excellent hosts. They provided a great route through the VA wine country and were helpful and informative. We highly recommend for a country escape!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

This was our first experience at an American B&B. We have plenty of experiences in the UK and Ireland with "professional" B&B's and the Orchard House left them all in the dust. I will return to the Orchard House as often as possible.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

The Orchard House B&B was like a home away from home. We enjoyed the cozy rooms, homemade cookies, country breakfasts, and most of all, the kindness and attentiveness of the innkeepers. They are truly the ideal host and hostess. If you are looking for a quiet weekend in Virginia, with easy access to many wineries, consider the Orchard House -- you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9749 Thomas Nelson Hwy, Lovingston, VA 22949
Location: United States > Virginia > Lovingston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lovingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arrival at the Orchard House B&B, relax in a rocking chair on the front porch with a glass of lemonade or iced tea and enjoy fresh baked cookies. Take a romantic stroll around our picturesque 12-acre Victorian farmhouse. Nestled in the core of the Virginia countryside, we are surrounded by the breath-taking Blue Ridge Mountains, yet only a short drive away from the arts & entertainment of downtown Charlottesville. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.