We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lovingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
9749 Thomas Nelson Hwy, Lovingston, VA 22949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Lovingston B&B and Inns
Elizabethton, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our first time staying at a B&B. The Orchard House is a charming place to get away from the "busy"ness of everyday life. Innkeepers Deb and Richard met us at the front door upon our arrival and treated us like family during our stay. Fresh baked cookies in our room, a lovely picnic for our outing, delicious pumpkin pancakes for breakfast, and the family cat waiting for you on the front porch. Our room (Northern Spy) was decorated beautifully and had lots of windows to view the well-kept grounds. If you really want to learn about the local area, Richard and Deb are more than happy to provide you with any information you might want. This was a real treat for us and a wonderful way to spend our 20th anniversary. Thank you Deb and Richard. Until we meet again...

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
109
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Orchard House. Our room was comfortable with nice views of the grounds which are spectacular. Deb and Richard, the innkeepers are very gracious hosts and they will help you with anything you may need from suggestions for things to do and places to eat to making you as comfortable as they can away from home. We enjoyed the extensive and very well kept grounds, walked around, hung out in the hammocks, chilled at the pool, went to local vineyards and trail riding at Rebel's Run. We had dinner and lunch at local places with surprisingly good food (try Vito's and Blue Mountain Brewery). In short, we had a wonderful, memorable time and already made reservations to go back for Labor Day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The proprietors Deb and Richard have a remarkable place. The view is amazing with long lawns and frequent wildlife to watch. The food is in a word..AMAZING. The rooms and clean, quiet and oh so comfortable. If you are coming to the CVILLE area this is a must.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but the Northern Spy is my favorite. The bay window is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville, OH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We just can't say enough about our stay at the Orchard House. The innkeepers are so warm and friendly - I know they would do anything for you. We went to many restaurants and wineries in the area and we were quite impressed with the high caliper of wine and food. The breakfasts were out of this world - especially the egg crepes with hollandaise sauce. We are already planning our return trip!

Room Tip: We loved the decor in the Black Twig Room; every room is named after a type of apple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st charles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were visiting our son for a week who goes to college in Lynchburg who wasn't coming home for the summer. We wanted to stay in a "house" like setting so we could cook our meals and be together. Even though it is a 45 min drive into Lynchburg it was the perfect place for our family to be together for a week. The kitchen is spacious and has everything you need to cook with. The family room is large and has games and a TV. The bedrooms were beautiful with their own bathrooms. They brought a grill down for us to grill our dinners. We were there a week and they stocked it at the beginning of the week with cereal, english muffins, juice and milk. The grounds are beautiful as you sit outside and look at the mountains surrounding Lovingston. The small vineyard on the property is also very pretty. We thoroughly enjoyed being together and having this home for a week to reconnect as a family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our first B&B experience at Orchard House and we couldn't have asked for a better weekend. The service was amazing and the accommodations were perfect. We will definitely be coming back in the fall with more friends and would recommend Orchard House to anyone.

Also, we highly recommend Richard's wine tour!

Thanks for a great weekend and see you in a few months!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at the Orchard House to celebrate our anniversary. The property was amazing and offered a variety of places (hammocks, chairs, front porch, etc) to relax after a day of hiking and visiting breweries and wineries in the area. Richard and Deb did a fantastic job of making us aware of the activities in the area and how to get there. The room was incredibly clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9749 Thomas Nelson Hwy, Lovingston, VA 22949
Location: United States > Virginia > Lovingston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lovingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arrival at the Orchard House B&B, relax in a rocking chair on the front porch with a glass of lemonade or iced tea and enjoy fresh baked cookies. Take a romantic stroll around our picturesque 12-acre Victorian farmhouse. Nestled in the core of the Virginia countryside, we are surrounded by the breath-taking Blue Ridge Mountains, yet only a short drive away from the arts & entertainment of downtown Charlottesville. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Orchard House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list