We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant by mixed experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B

Save Saved
You added Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13193 Mountain Road, Lovettsville, VA 20180   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Lovettsville B&B and Inns
Danvers
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant by mixed experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in the Turret Room.

Our host Laura was quite helpful and pleasant. She suggested some local vineyards (we went to Sunset Hill which we liked) and suggested we use Stone Manor’s name to get a discount (which we did).

The room has a nice feel to it with a number of artistic touches like stained glass hanging over the windows, some nice early 20th century furniture, carpets, etc. That said, we found that the bed was only a full bed (to be fair, not noted otherwise on the website description) and there was no way to lock the door when leaving the room.

While nicely tiled and appointed, we found the water pressure in the bathroom to be weak (and at times very weak).

The shared facilities (both inside and out) were quite nice - pleasant for reading a book or newspaper.

Breakfast, served to the group at 8:30 and was quite good, with a mix of scones, French toast, eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausages, and fruit cup. We would have appreciated more fruit in addition to the healthy portions of protein.

Wine (vineyard) related activities are still being planned. We learned after our visit that there are some fruit trees (orchard) and hiking on the site. The location is a bit remote, and along some narrow Virginia roads (with 45 mph speed limits). Reasonable restaurants are 5 or more miles away.

So, overall, Stone Manor feels like a work in progress, with some great assets but also work still to be done. At $260 per night, I would be hard pressed to recommend the Turret Suite given the facilities and remote location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A friend and I had the opportunity to escape the city and stay at this amazing B&B in Lovettsville recently. I felt like I was in a European castle - such was the architecture, design, decor, and hospitality. We were, indeed, treated like royals. Spencer and Beth were simply lovely, and they could not have been more hospitable and fun to be around.

The rooms, the beds, and especially the bathrooms - are nothing short of decadent! Fine linens, pillow tops and memory foam graced the beds. The palatial bathroom included a 10-spray shower, an en-suite jacuzzi, separate w/c, and homemade, scented to your preference soaps! At this stage in life, it's hard to find a place that pampers more than my own home - but this delightful inn fills the bill, for sure!

We had the opportunity to be the first to sample their newly approved wine-tasting fare - what a fun evening it turned out to be! My favorite thing about staying in B&B's is getting to meet and connect with new folks, and Stone Manor's guardians were grand company. The next morning, we were treated to a delicious six-course breakfast. When they say it's "coma-inducing", they're not joking...FYI. Mmmmm, it was wonderful!

I will be returning to this fabulous escape from the city again, and again. I can't wait to go back and explore the nearby wineries and other area attractions. Being only a half hour from my house - it's such a short trip to an area that "feels" completely different. I loved being surrounded by nature and having that other-worldly country feel...virtually in my own back yard.

5 Stars, hands down.....and HIGHLY recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinssburg, WV
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Inn keepers, Beth and Spencer were extremely accommodating. They served us fresh, hot out of the oven blue berry pie with homemade strawberry ice cream. Since we were the only guests staying in the beautiful six suite inn on a Sunday, we upgraded to the honeymoon suite for $40. Stone Manor is located near many Loudoun Co. wineries and a few great restaurants in Lovettsville and Purcellville. We were served a delicious six course breakfast that was homemade with fresh ingredients. Each course was "out of this world tasty". We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay and plan to return. We walked through the entire inn and scoped out the other five suites so we have an idea of which one to select next. We emailed many of our friends and family or our experience at the inn and wanted to share our comments on-line.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I had an enjoyable one night stay at the Stone Manor to celebrate our 17th anniversary. Spencer the host greeted us when we first arrived and gave us the tour of the different rooms available. We had booked the Turret Room and we're very pleased. The bed is only full size not queen (made it cozier) and that was a good thing because the air conditioning is controlled by a panel in the hallway, not in each individual room. Spencer did forget to point this out so it got quite cold with three vents in the bedroom. Did not get a chance to try the huge jacuzzi bathtub but the double shower was excellent. Plenty of hot water and sprayers on all sides - loved it.

The property itself is beautiful with a wonderful garden and a new structure that will become a wine tasting house. It was very quiet in the evening and we were treated to a gourmet breakfast all cooked by our host Spencer. It was delicious and the company of three other older couples made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Stone Manor B&B on a Friday night, July 19th in the East Wing Suite. The room was cozy and the B&B is truly a relaxing, romantic getaway. Near the mountains and in the heart of wine country, we were warmly welcomed and given a tour of the property. The rooms are truly breathtaking and beautiful. Spencer and Beth are amazing hosts and they prepared the entire breakfast themselves. The food was outstanding and very generous! The ambiance at breakfast was wonderful. We felt like we were old friends who were invited over for breakfast. Also, my wife is gluten, dairy and corn intolerant, and Spencer and Beth not only accommodated her allergies but made the best gluten-free breakfast she had ever tasted! Beth and Spencer are truly warm and friendly hosts, and it was a pleasure to stay at the Stone Manor B&B! Definitely will be returning in the fall to see all of the autumn leaves! A hidden treasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for three nights while visiting family in the area. We can see that this would be a nice place to "get away from it all and relax." We were generally out and about every day, and found it a little distant and we worried about the small, crowded Virginia roads - especially at night.

The Inn-keepers were most gracious and tremendous hosts. Our room had a juliette balcony over the dining room, and there is a curious "alarm system" to ensure the guests are ready for the single 0830 breakfast serving - he sings! Quite nice.

Room Tip: We viewed all the rooms. The smaller rooms are really quite small. The largest rooms are very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We visited Stone Manor in April and found it to be a perfect spot for a little weekend getaway. It's conveniently located near a small town with access to biking/walking trails, vineyards, and general scenic views. (I recommend Magnolia's at the Mill for dinner, by the way... excellent food and service in a great atmosphere!). We stayed in the Manor Suite, which was beautiful, neutrally decorated, and not cluttered with tons of knickknacks like in many B&Bs. It was extremely large for a hotel room, so there was no bumping around trying to open up suitcases and get settled in. The kitchenette is very convenient if you're going to stay for a few days and want to eat in your room. It also has access to a spacious deck, which is just lovely.

We didn't have the opportunity to meet Beth, but she left her special touch in the form of customized, hand-made soaps for each of us, which was very sweet. The breakfast was ample and well-prepared, and Spencer's company was delightful. He was personable and helpful, but in no way overbearing or intrusive. That truly is the perfect blend of qualities to find in an innkeeper.

Overall, this B&B made for a very relaxing, comfortable getaway for both of us, and I would gladly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The manor suite is as advertised, so if you have the budget to do it and want the space, go for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B

Address: 13193 Mountain Road, Lovettsville, VA 20180
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Lovettsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lovettsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Manor on Mountain Road is surrounded by five vineyards and boasts one of the finest biking roads in the country, luxurious suites, spa products, and beautiful gardens. Stone Manor is known for its rich collection of stained glass windows and the beautiful and productive gardens. The Manor's breakfasts boast homemade jams, jellies, fresh eggs from our own animals and other locally produced and organic treats. The rooms are richly appointed, with luxurious bathing suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard Hotel Lovettsville
Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.