We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B to your Saves list
Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13193 Mountain Road, Lovettsville, VA 20180   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Two-Night Stay Package!
Ranked #1 of 3 Lovettsville B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My partner and I came upon this place by accident, and it turned out to be one of the best B&B's we've stayed in. We were lucky enough to book the two largest rooms during our 4 night stay - the Peacock Suite and the Manor Suite for 2 nights each. Both were huge, beautiful and very comfortable rooms. The 6 course breakfast every morning made from scratch by the innkeepers was simply delicious and really allowed us to have a full day ahead without worrying about eating for many hours. All in all, a wonderful experience. Spence and Beth are amazing hosts (and chefs!) and we hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband just returned home after being deployed in Afghanistan for a year. He wasn't ready for a big vacation but we wanted to do something special. I found out at the last minute that I would have the weekend off, so I decided to find a B & B near Harpers Ferry because we love the outdoors. Unfortunately everything was booked so I started looking for anyplace in that area and came across Stone Manor. After reading the wonderful reviews, I called and thankfully found out there was one room left. Beth warned me that the East Wing room was near the kitchen so it may be loud, but I am an early riser so it didn't bother us. I booked the room and a few hours later, we arrived. Spencer greeted us and showed us around. The house and grounds are beautiful. My husband's favorite part was the chickens that eat from your hands. After checking in, Spencer told us where we could go hiking and recommended a great place for dinner. He also gave us printed directions and made sure we had their number in case we needed anything. When we got home, Beth and Spencer invited everyone out for sausages and s'mores by the bonfire, but we were tired and decided to have an early night. The next morning, the smell of breakfast cooking was amazing. Finally at 830, breakfast was served. There was a great assortment of different dishes and all of the guests got to chat and eat together. After breakfast, Spencer gave us directions to Harpers Ferry, we fed the chickens one last time, and sadly had to leave. We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

My fiance and I visited with Spencer and Beth on a gift from my fiance's son and did he make a great choice! It's located west of Fairfax but an easy drive out the Dulles Toll Rd. to Rt. 9. The original stone house was built in 1908 and has been expanded by 6,000 sq ft. As you arrive, you are amazed at the size and beauty of the finished house that sits on about 12 acres with a detached party/reception room. Around the backside of the mowed yard surrounding the property you encounter the dozen free range hens who provide the eggs for the breakfast. They all have names and personalities and are fed at time by hand as they come waddling over for a treat.
We stayed in the peacock room which was a beautiful blue room probably 20x20 with the room theme carried throughout. It had a kingsized bed, flatscreen tv, huge bathroom with double vanities, a large jacuzzi tub, and a separate double shower with rain showerheads.
Beth makes her own soap which is provided. The bedroom has two balconies, one that looks over the expanded house and the large dining room with a beautiful chandelier and there is also a walkout deck that looks over the yard.
The location is excellent for wine tasting in the area with some fine wineries within 15 minutes We were fortunate to make a great selection of Sunset Hills Winery.
It is a short drive into Purcelville and Spencer and Beth have directions printed to restaurants and activities of interest.
This was a great getaway and one we will return to and explore the other over 25 wineries and seasonal events.

Room Tip: The Peacock room wasn't the fanciest but is was spacious and wonderful. There are two larger su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

My daughter and I just returned from the Stone Manor B&B and still have not stopped talking about this wonderful place! From the grounds and the exterior of the Inn to the elegant and tasteful furnishings, the Inn is just beautiful.

Innkeepers Spencer and Beth are just delightful and will go out of their way to pamper their guests and make sure that you have everything you need and more. They have thought of everything from printed directions to many area attractions and dining spots to the custom homemade soaps Beth makes for their guests. There is a large collection of movies available for viewing on the large flat screen in the great room or for private viewing in your room. The lovely library/music room had an extensive collection of books for guest to peruse and enjoy, as well as Internet access.

The highpoint of the visit was the gourmet multi-course breakfast served in the morning. Spencer outdid himself with the vast assortment of items were served and we loved every one of them!! We will definitely be returning to Stone Manor B&B!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Beth and Spencer are two kind, friendly souls who want to make sure that their guests feel at home. They went above the necessary to make sure that we were comfortable. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay one night in the Blue Delft and the second in the Manor Suite. The Blue Delft had a very soft mattress cover, a tv with oodles of channels and an attached bathroom suite with a jacuzzi style tub, plush chair and towel warmer. The Manor suite was amazing with a large bathroom that included a two person whirlpool, a ten sprayer shower and a separate enclosure for the toilet. The suite also had a full kitchen a sitting area, and a telescope. The Manor Suite is ideal for special occasions. Spencer mentioned bridal parties, but an anniversary weekend or a celebratory trip would also be greatly enhanced in this room.

I truly enjoyed yelling "treat" to the chickens. Spencer and Beth's flock of chickens (28 in total) are friendly and ready to eat from your hand. There's a convenient oatmeal jar next to the door so you can go feed the chickens at your whim.

Breakfast was an elaborate 6-course affair. One of the highlights being Spencer's delicious white chocolate scones. Breakfast is served at 8:30 in the dining room, but coffee is available for early risers starting at 6:30.

Stone Manor is a convenient location to Harpers Ferry and several wineries in Loudoun County. You can also make a day trip to DC if you are planning on a longer stay. Coming from DC ourselves, we were happy to be out of the city for some outdoor fun and relaxation. Be prepared to drive 10-15 minutes for dinner, but the location is still well worth it. We hope to be back in the future.

Beth and Spencer are planning on making a wheelchair accessible room in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed just one night, and were in the least expensive room, so I can't comment on the other rooms. Innkeepers were very friendly, helpful, chatty; provided pre-printed directions to our restaurant. Lady of the house makes herbal soaps for guests, cooks big interesting breakfasts. There is a small flock of chickens on the grounds who will visit with you if you like, but they are not at all aggressive, and there seem to be no other pets. The decor - an old stone house greatly enlarged in a kind of "Super-Mediterranean" style - is way over the top. Seems like the basic philosophy was "more is more!" Our room was fine; everything worked OK; AC was sufficient on a VERY hot day. Our bed was a regular double, not a queen. I'd give the place a B+ / A-.

Room Tip: Skip the Red Garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Short version: The attention to detail and friendly atmosphere made this experience great.

We stayed in the Turret Suite for our first year anniversary on Thanksgiving weekend.

Both the bedroom and bathroom are spacious and really clean. The bed, heated bathroom tile, jacuzzi bathtub, and large shower all made the suite very comfortable.

The breakfast was one of the top ten meals I have had while traveling. Beth and Spencer made several unique dishes that I have not seen before. Beth took the time to explain the ingredients and cooking process when serving the course. They also made the effort to cater to our dietary needs.

Beth and Spencer are very warm and generous Innkeepers. They both made sure we were comfortable and welcomed. Upon our arrival, they served us good quality wine and snacks. We were each given customized soap to use during the stay. They made sure we had things to snack on late at night. They know the area and made good recommendations on restaurants and wineries to visit. We truly appreciate their hospitality and service.

Just a side note for those interested in the Turret Suite -- the room itself is beautiful and we do not regret our stay there. However, it is closer to the road than the other rooms, so we could hear occasional cars passing by in the middle of the night.

We are definitely planning to come back :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovettsville
14.0 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
5.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Conference Center
Quality Hotel Conference Center
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
8.8 mi away
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
13.4 mi away
Antietam Overlook Farm
Antietam Overlook Farm
#1 of 3 in Keedysville
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B

Address: 13193 Mountain Road, Lovettsville, VA 20180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Lovettsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lovettsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Manor on Mountain Road is surrounded by five vineyards and boasts one of the finest biking roads in the country, luxurious suites, spa products, and beautiful gardens. Stone Manor is known for its rich collection of stained glass windows and the beautiful and productive gardens. The Manor's breakfasts boast homemade jams, jellies, fresh eggs from our own animals and other locally produced and organic treats. The rooms are richly appointed, with luxurious bathing suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard Hotel Lovettsville
Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.