We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth The Drive Or The Money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Patowmack Farm

Patowmack Farm
42461 Lovetts-ville Road, Lovettsville, VA
540-822-9017
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Dining
Attraction details
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Drive Or The Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a very disappointing experience. We arrived and despite having reservations and a half full restaurant, it took 10 minutes for them to set a table. When we finally were seated it was another 15 minutes before anyone came over with water. We waited another 10 minutes before our server arrived and took our order. We really should have left before ordering - if you've sat for 25 minutes without anyone even stopping by to at least say "I'm sorry I'll be with you in a minute", you're probably in an unprofessional place. The setting is beautiful, but the food itself was just ok. Also - despite touting itself as a 'farm to table' and 'slow food' place, there was virtually no information given about the food itself in the menu or from the wait staff. Were the ingredients raised on the farm property? Is the fish and pork local? Based on what we ate, it did not seem particularly fresh and I would doubt it was local. On top of everything else, this place is just WAY overpriced for what you're getting.

There are plenty of places around the DC metro area with nice views that also serve great food and provide excellent service. Try 2941 for a special outing for instance, but avoid Patowmack Farm.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic for Father's Day Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and our two children had our first visit to PF and we will definitely return :-) The service and attention to detail was wonderful, the food was delicious and I had an engaging and informative discussion with the owner after brunch about topics we are both passionate about :-)

My children loved walking through the vegetable gardens after brunch, too and were fascinated to see what fennel looks like while growing!

Thank you for making my husband's day so special

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another Gem in the Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

There's a lot of organic in the veggies here, which are grown at the farm. Dinners are quite expensive, but lunches are reasonable. Go on their website!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Patowmack Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Visited on a rainy night in October. The service and the food were superb and I do not use that word lightly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Farm to Table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Chef Chris has created a unique menu of delectable items. Everything we had was absolutely delicious and the atmosphere is so relaxing. We watched the moon rise over the trees and the Potomac River while waiting for our appetizers. It was a fabulous experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patowmack Farm also viewed

Lovettsville, Loudoun County
Lovettsville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Patowmack Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patowmack Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.