We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local, Fresh, Expensive, and Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Table Bistro

Market Table Bistro
13 East Broad Way, Lovettsville, VA
(540) 822-3008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Lovettsville, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local, Fresh, Expensive, and Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you value locally sourced food prepared by a legitimate chef -- and are willing to pay for it -- this place is awesome. Staff is very friendly, the restaurant is a restored home from the early 1900's, and the food is outstanding. Outdoor seating doesn't match the ambiance of the interior, however. A gem hidden in a cool, rural Loudoun Co. town.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    43
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lovettsville, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We love this restaurant and not just because it's in our town of Lovettsville - that's just icing on the cake. The food and service are both flawless here. The menu changes often and is based on what's available, locally, whenever possible. We have gotten so used to the quality of the local, organic foods served here and the spectacular service, that it's hard to go anywhere else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Worth the drive to Lovettsville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The growth of the wine industry in northern Virginia is having an interesting side-effect with the appearance of some very good and inexpensive new restaurants in rather unlikely locations. The Market Table Bistro is an example, located in Lovettsville Virginia (yes, I also had to look it up). There's a serious chef at work in this converted house (the roof was recently replaced after superstorm Sandy struck), and the servers couldn't have been friendlier. Butternut squash bisque was a great starter for a cold and damp day, followed by winter mushroom pasta with truffle aioli and arugula. Another terrific dish was the cassoulet, served piping hot in a cast-iron pot -- duck leg, pork sausage, white beans, perfectly spiced with a locally made lamb merguez (another surprise). There is a good selection of reasonably priced wines by the glass as well as bottles, and an eclectic assortment of craft beers.

The clientele appears to be a mix of local residents and DC's "foodies" trekking deep into northern Virginia to find out what's new in the rapidly developing wine country. A gentleman at the next table sent back to the kitchen what appeared to be a beautifully cooked steak because he could still see some red in the middle... oh well.... The server politely accommodated the request, but I may try the steak myself the next time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Meghan was in charge of our drinks and food service. She is a treat and a very able advisor. Three in my party had beef & I had sword fish...Excellent. Artisn cheese appetizer...Outstanding..Ditto for cocktails, wine. Well worth a little travel. Going back for Brunch as soon as possible.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“fresh food and great drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were thrilled with every aspect of our meal at this restaurant from the yummy drinks (hot buttered rum!) to the lovely risotto and freshly baked bread. We loved the desserts. The food definitely had love in each bite:)

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Table Bistro also viewed

Lovettsville, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Market Table Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Table Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.