We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Table Bistro

Market Table Bistro
13 East Broad Way, Lovettsville, VA
(540) 822-3008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Lovettsville, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We love this restaurant and not just because it's in our town of Lovettsville - that's just icing on the cake. The food and service are both flawless here. The menu changes often and is based on what's available, locally, whenever possible. We have gotten so used to the quality of the local, organic foods served here and the spectacular service, that it's hard to go anywhere else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    12
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Worth the drive to Lovettsville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The growth of the wine industry in northern Virginia is having an interesting side-effect with the appearance of some very good and inexpensive new restaurants in rather unlikely locations. The Market Table Bistro is an example, located in Lovettsville Virginia (yes, I also had to look it up). There's a serious chef at work in this converted house (the roof was recently replaced after superstorm Sandy struck), and the servers couldn't have been friendlier. Butternut squash bisque was a great starter for a cold and damp day, followed by winter mushroom pasta with truffle aioli and arugula. Another terrific dish was the cassoulet, served piping hot in a cast-iron pot -- duck leg, pork sausage, white beans, perfectly spiced with a locally made lamb merguez (another surprise). There is a good selection of reasonably priced wines by the glass as well as bottles, and an eclectic assortment of craft beers.

The clientele appears to be a mix of local residents and DC's "foodies" trekking deep into northern Virginia to find out what's new in the rapidly developing wine country. A gentleman at the next table sent back to the kitchen what appeared to be a beautifully cooked steak because he could still see some red in the middle... oh well.... The server politely accommodated the request, but I may try the steak myself the next time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“You Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Meghan was in charge of our drinks and food service. She is a treat and a very able advisor. Three in my party had beef & I had sword fish...Excellent. Artisn cheese appetizer...Outstanding..Ditto for cocktails, wine. Well worth a little travel. Going back for Brunch as soon as possible.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, PA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“fresh food and great drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were thrilled with every aspect of our meal at this restaurant from the yummy drinks (hot buttered rum!) to the lovely risotto and freshly baked bread. We loved the desserts. The food definitely had love in each bite:)

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I love this restaurant! We live over an hour away and it is worth the drive. The food is from local people and is incredibly fresh. The beer is cold and there is a good selection. They had excellent local wines! The staff was friendly and professional-they really knew their job. The cheese board here is incredible and everything we had for dinner we loved! We can't wait to go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Table Bistro also viewed

 
Lovettsville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Market Table Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Table Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.