We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You haven't seen Hiddencroft Lately” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiddencroft Vineyards

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hiddencroft Vineyards
12202 Axline Road, Lovettsville, VA 20180
540 535-5367
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Lovettsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You haven't seen Hiddencroft Lately”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you visited Hiddencroft some years ago, you will be greatly surprised at how they have improved their facilities and the quality of their wine. I first visited them about 5 years ago and found the wine "so-so" and the tasting facility "Spartan".
The owners have since bought the adjoining property adding a great old barn which they use for special events and a nice old farm house that is their new tasting room. In the intervening years the quality of the wine has dramatically improved. They have a just wonder (if pricey) Tannat that I would say is on par with many good CA wines.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best wines in Loudon County!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is one of those smaller but better wineries in Loudon county. The owners are warm and friendly, they know their wines, and most importantly...their wines are really good! The setting is charming, and you can spend a couple of hours with friends relaxing on the back deck enjoying a glass of wine. My husband and I always make it a point to stop by Hiddencroft when doing a Virginia Wine Experience, and always leave with a case of wine...and we are very particular about our wines! Our last trip here we brought some friends from out of state and they were so thrilled with the wine that they even took some bottles back home with them to TX!! Make it a point to stop by here and you'll have a new favorite winery!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great wine! Great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Hiddencroft many times. I know Terry and Clyde personally and know their dedication to their wine adventure. I have been to wineries in many states and have tasted many wines. I cannot think of any winery that I have visited that exceeds Hiddencroft in wine or ambiance. Going back Friday!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice wine and friendly owners..........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

just what we were looking for. We are new to the area and love visiting the wineries. While we always enjoy ourselves, this is the first winery where we felt truly welcomed. The owner's daughter did our tasting and was not only very knowledgeable but was relaxed and easy to converse with. Her father, the winemaker was also on the scene and gave us some recommendations on what to order for dinner at Market Table Bistro. We had a selection of about 10 wines to taste. We both agreed the Chambourcin (smooth with a smoky nose) was our favorite, so we settled on the back patio with a bottle to enjoy the lovely surroundings. The landscape is flat, so no killer view, but it is very pretty none the less. We had some time to spare before our dinner reservation at 7, and although they close at 6, we didn't feel rushed to leave the property. This makes a great pre-dinner destination if visiting one of the highly rated restaurants in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

All the wines we tried here were really good! It's down the road from Doukenie Winery, so I'd definitely recommend stopping here if you're in the area for Doukenie.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiddencroft Vineyards also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Lovettsville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Hiddencroft Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiddencroft Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.