We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine! Great day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiddencroft Vineyards

Hiddencroft Vineyards
12202 Axline Road, Lovettsville, VA 20180
+1 540-535-5367
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Just a short drive from the winery corridors along Rt. 15 and Rt. 9 in Loudoun County, VA and convenient to Maryland, West Virginia and Pennsylvania wine lovers as well! Hiddencroft Vineyards is situated on a 26-acre former farmstead in Lovettsville, VA. Our tasting room is an 1830’s farmhouse. We hold special music events and tastings in our rustic 1930’s bank-barn or on our large barrel-shaped patio. Our barn is also available for private parties and corporate events. We periodically open our wine production facility for tours and barrel tastings. Our tasting house and winery are surrounded by butterfly gardens and our orchard. You can sample award winning wines, chat with the winemaker / owners, and learn about wine-making. After your tasting, relax on the tasting house deck or patio, snack on light fare available in our tasting house or bring your own picnic lunch. The atmosphere is friendly, casual and relaxing. Open year round for tastings and wine sales, Thursday - Monday, Noon - 6PM. Closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Closed on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year's Day.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wine! Great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Hiddencroft many times. I know Terry and Clyde personally and know their dedication to their wine adventure. I have been to wineries in many states and have tasted many wines. I cannot think of any winery that I have visited that exceeds Hiddencroft in wine or ambiance. Going back Friday!

Visited April 2013
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice wine and friendly owners..........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

just what we were looking for. We are new to the area and love visiting the wineries. While we always enjoy ourselves, this is the first winery where we felt truly welcomed. The owner's daughter did our tasting and was not only very knowledgeable but was relaxed and easy to converse with. Her father, the winemaker was also on the scene and gave us some recommendations on what to order for dinner at Market Table Bistro. We had a selection of about 10 wines to taste. We both agreed the Chambourcin (smooth with a smoky nose) was our favorite, so we settled on the back patio with a bottle to enjoy the lovely surroundings. The landscape is flat, so no killer view, but it is very pretty none the less. We had some time to spare before our dinner reservation at 7, and although they close at 6, we didn't feel rushed to leave the property. This makes a great pre-dinner destination if visiting one of the highly rated restaurants in the area.

Visited July 2013
Thank tennisbets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

All the wines we tried here were really good! It's down the road from Doukenie Winery, so I'd definitely recommend stopping here if you're in the area for Doukenie.

Visited May 2013
Thank gonesomewherewarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Welcome home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough about this winery. My wife and I ventured out over a year ago to this truly hidden gem. We found ourselves in the area once again this weekend and decided to stop in.
A family affair to the extreme, we wer greeted by the sight of children playing in the yard and greeted at the door by the owners daughter. They had expanded since our last visit and now host a personalized tasting to include pairings with cheese and chocolate. The atmosphere of the renovated farmhouse is very warm and welcoming. We enjoyed our tasting and were very pleased to hear a real knowledge of each of the wines and their histories. Afterwards we were happy to each get a glass and sit for a while just to enjoy the afternoon. Our host pointed out the upstairs of the house which had several rooms available with tables and chairs to seat 6-8 adults comfortably. The rooms looked unfinished as they did not have any curtains or wallhangings. I'm not bothered by that sort of thing and I'm sure they have had plenty of other things to do with harvest and the severe weather this year.
My wife and I have said for a while that Hiddencroft has been one of our favorite winery experiences and this most recent visit just confirms that it was not a fluke but that they are really doing the Virginia Wine experience in the best way possible.

Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wine and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The location seems a little out of the way on the first visit but we realized after that it is a beautiful drive. The wine is amazing, there is a great variety for everyone to enjoy! The atmosphere is great and makes the winery stand out for us. When we had friends visit from NC and only had time for one winery, we chose to take them to Hiddencroft.

Visited August 2011
Thank foobear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiddencroft Vineyards also viewed

Lovettsville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County

Been to Hiddencroft Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing