We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hiddencroft Vineyards

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hiddencroft Vineyards
12202 Axline Road, Lovettsville, VA 20180
540 535-5367
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

All the wines we tried here were really good! It's down the road from Doukenie Winery, so I'd definitely recommend stopping here if you're in the area for Doukenie.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Welcome home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can't say enough about this winery. My wife and I ventured out over a year ago to this truly hidden gem. We found ourselves in the area once again this weekend and decided to stop in.
A family affair to the extreme, we wer greeted by the sight of children playing in the yard and greeted at the door by the owners daughter. They had expanded since our last visit and now host a personalized tasting to include pairings with cheese and chocolate. The atmosphere of the renovated farmhouse is very warm and welcoming. We enjoyed our tasting and were very pleased to hear a real knowledge of each of the wines and their histories. Afterwards we were happy to each get a glass and sit for a while just to enjoy the afternoon. Our host pointed out the upstairs of the house which had several rooms available with tables and chairs to seat 6-8 adults comfortably. The rooms looked unfinished as they did not have any curtains or wallhangings. I'm not bothered by that sort of thing and I'm sure they have had plenty of other things to do with harvest and the severe weather this year.
My wife and I have said for a while that Hiddencroft has been one of our favorite winery experiences and this most recent visit just confirms that it was not a fluke but that they are really doing the Virginia Wine experience in the best way possible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wine and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The location seems a little out of the way on the first visit but we realized after that it is a beautiful drive. The wine is amazing, there is a great variety for everyone to enjoy! The atmosphere is great and makes the winery stand out for us. When we had friends visit from NC and only had time for one winery, we chose to take them to Hiddencroft.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great wines, Great people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

A family owned and operated winery, one of the many in this region, but this one stands a bit apart in all the right ways. On your way into the winery you take a short stroll through a barn and up the walk to the the house that is their tasting room. There you are greeted by the family who runs the business together, you learn about their lives and the struggles and triumphs of the ever changing world of wine making. The wines are varied and well made, and the descriptions given are tinged with stories of the harvest and the process which give you a greater appreciation of what you are sampling. We took three bottles home and would have liked to take more! The setting may not be as picturesque as some of the wineries in the area, but the quality of their product outshines many.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiddencroft Vineyards also viewed

Lovettsville, Loudoun County
Lovettsville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Hiddencroft Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiddencroft Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.