We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Special Event Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm

The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm
42461 Lovettsville Road, Lovettsville, VA 20180
540-822-9017
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $25 - $200
Cuisines: Eclectic, Fusion, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rt. 15 and Lovettsville Road
Dickerson, Maryland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Special Event Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We ate here with friends for New Years Eve and thoroughly enjoyed the special tasting menu. Good selection of wines made it fairly simple to select something that complemented the various courses. A great place to spend a holiday mealtime.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    14
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It's hard to believe this place exists so close to Washington, DC. The restaurant is on the owner's farm, which starts you off with an outstanding view of the Potomac River and the hills around of Point of Rocks. Our appetizer was the portabella mushroom skewers with a wonderful fonduta cheese sauce. Our entrees were the seared sea scallops and Carolina white shrimp--both were cooked to perfection. The desserts were a little too sweet for our taste, but impeccably prepared. The chefs clearly attend to every detail of preparation and presentation. One of the best items was the lovely pear bread served with the meal. The restaurant is pricey, but when you consider the freshest ingredients, attention to detail in food preparation, attentive service, and the bucolic setting, it adds up to pretty good value. We're planning a return trip soon for their highly thought of brunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“LOVELY setting- food and service hit or miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This is truly a lovely location. We have read about this restaurant and have never been after hearing mixed reviews from friends who had been. The food was fair- it was as if they want to be gourmet but can't quite hit the mark. Much more attention is given to the "sustainable" and "local" aspects than to the actual quality of the food preperation. They were out of the dish I wanted so I got the "Vegetable Plate" which was a disappointing mish mash of vegetables- either very greasy and over fried or raw. The meatballs were good, although hard and cold which was strange. My husband got the catfish and he enjoyed that- although he is a chocolate fan the "Chocolate fantasy/frontier" desert did not appeal to him- and he usually loves all things chocoloate. Wine list was very good, a bit expensive. Our server did not know the wine list or the menu. The servers also spent a lot of time bickering loudly outside of the door to the kitchen which was distracting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Our special occasion "go to" place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Dining at the Restaurant at Patowmack Farm is an experience!

Our family has been several times for our special "holiday out" dinner, or for birthdays.

I love that the food is "in season" from the garden. The food is (mostly) locally grown or raised. It is always delicious, I have never had anything there that I didn't enjoy.

The view is lovely, overlooking the Point of Rocks bridge - any time of year it is very pretty.

The staff is always able to answer any questions about the menu, very friendly.

It is by reservations only, and holidays book up, so get scheduled early if you want to go.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg VA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful farm to table experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our second visit in a year was, again, a wonderful experience. Pleasant ambiance (we arrived early and enjoyed the view), good cocktails, fine wine and excellent food. Wait staff was very accommodating without being "stuffy." The pork belly and clam fritters were terrific. We will be back to introduce other friends to this "gem." Service was a little slow but we enjoyed the view while we waited.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm also viewed

Lovettsville, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.