We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fun treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm

The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm
42461 Lovettsville Road, Lovettsville, VA 20180
540-822-9017
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $200
Cuisines: International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rt. 15 and Lovettsville Road
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a fun treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited Patowmack Farm for Sunday brunch, and had an all around wonderful experience!! We were welcomed by a very cheerful staff and seated outside on the tented slate patio. The day was unseasonably cool for an August in Virginia, so it was a perfect day to enjoy the wildflower gardens and overlook the river. Our waiter was very kind and attentive, and knew a great deal about the history of the Farms and the area, and was happy to answer all of our questions! The menu was simple (only about 5-6 selections for appetizers, entree, and dessert) but each option sounded better than the next! There was nothing missing from the menu, and it was so difficult to not order one of everything!! We all (four of us) ordered different items so that we can try each others. Once we ordered, fresh baked blackberry bread was brought to our table with freshly churned butter. Our appetizers were served and we could not have asked for anything more delicious! I highly recommend the warm egg over grits with chicken ragout...I’m still craving it! The cantaloupe gazpacho was beautifully presented and so fresh and light tasting, with beautifully bright notes of fresh hot peppers and cucumbers. The French toast was light and fluffy with a delicate sugar crisp along the edges...all of it was amazing!! Once the appetizers were cleared, another round of fresh bread was served, this time a warm ciabatta! The entrees were presented...I say presented because a team of four staff appeared at our table simultaneously to present us with the beautifully plated meals. Each one was fresh, artfully arranged, bright and beautiful, and best of all delicious! We were stuffed and happy! The desserts sounded amazing but we had no room left! It was a wonderful afternoon!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We Wandered In and Were Very Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

After visiting a winery for the afternoon, we then came upon the nearby Restaurant at Patowmack Farms. We knew from a review of their website, we wanted to visit, and we were pleased that though we did not have a reservation and were dressed quite casually, we were seated without any discussion. The view overlooking the valley was pleasant and the greenhouse style of the building was unique. The food was delicious (seared sea scallops and veggie paella), with sensible portions. The staff was attentive and pleasant, and the wine advice was solid. We enjoyed talking with the staff and the owner about the unique location and history, and the fact that their ingredients come locally and right on the restaurant/farm's property. After dinner we walked the grounds (not a tour) to see where the gardens are and some of the free-range livestock (i.e., chickens & a turkey!) All in all, a very pleasurable dinner of a 'special occasion' variety.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
395 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This place is beautiful, and I can't wait to come back in the fall. The restaurant is essentiall a glass green house retrofitted to accomodate patrons. The food was wonderful and so were the cocktails. The owner of the farm will come to your table and greet you personally and she may offer you a taste of something from her farm. The menus have your name on it (nice personal touch) and at the end of your meal, they roll the menus up and tie it with a ribbon and give it to you. When we were there, we were told at the beginning that the table was ours for the night so there was no rush. This was great!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ExPat0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view and romantic, reasonably priced prix fixe menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We sat outside in June and the view was spectacular. Our waiter and sommelier were very attentive. They have a small and eclectic wine list (including a vinho verde green wine from Lisbon). They offer a 3 course prix fixe menu for $50. The food was good, the portions moderate in size (you'll go away full but not bloated), but it's the view that really sets this restaurant apart.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank n2wdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“small but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Expect small portions of this gourmet food, and allow a long amount of time to complete the courses you choose. Every dish is individually prepared, and they were happy to accommodate my food allergies when notified before our visit. The setting was beautiful, and our service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MSC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm also viewed

Lovettsville, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing