We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Small Country Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Small Country Campground
Save
You added Small Country Campground to your Saves list
4400 Byrd Mill Rd, Louisa, VA 23093   |  
Hotel amenities
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We camped here over the weekend. My daughter and I were in Eagle cabin, which was clean and comfortable. We were quite surprised to find that we were to use a port-a-john outside our cabin. Thankfully, it wasn't raining when we had to go out in the middle of the night ! The port-a-john was clean and amazingly smelled fresh like soap :) We were happy to have A/C in our cabin, and the ceiling fan was a welcome addition. We enjoyed the lake, the pool, the bouncing pillow and picnicking under the shade trees. Thanks for the load of firewood ! The bath houses were new, modern and clean, but the water had a funny , rotten smell. They were also very clean. My nephew was in an adjacent lot for a camper, and my sister-in-law in the next spot, in a rental unit. Her A / C wouldn't work !!!!! They opened the windows for a breeze, but on Saturday night it rained... we really enjoyed Small Country Campground and will plan to go back again :)

Room Tip: If you have a problem walking or are afraid of going out at night, don't get Eagle cabin, as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King George, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

1st time visiting, so we got a pull-through super site. Well, it was neither a pull-through or super. More like a gravel parking lot. Sites were close and the supersites were setup nose to tail. When we checked in, the person at the counter said we should not have a problem since the unit in front of us was leaving the same day as us. Well, they left and some other camper pulled there car into the site.

Got for a standard back-in, they looked better than the more expensive super site.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We rented a cabin and was disappointed by the holiday events and the cabin, they advertise just to bring linens but they don't tell you that you will you will need basic supplies as in trash bags, toilet paper, paper towels and even dishes. There was one pan, one skillet. We could not fix a complete meal since there wasn't any bowls. They had activities lined up and I took my daughter to the beach party and us along with others waited 30-40 beach and the employees were a no show. The kid games on day one consisted on tic tac toe. Again, disappointment. The hay ride had no hay and they had a contest for the most enthusiastic child and day one my daughter lost her voice and they picked a child that was getting on for the 2nd trip. If you want to go for a good drunk and don't mind these few things regarding kids then its okay. It is a very small and limited store but it's okay. We personally prob will not go back with our camper or cabin.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins WV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I just returned from a 4 night campout at Small Country. This was a very nice park, nice bathrooms, good WIFI and cell service and a fun lake to paddle around in....too cool and rainy to swim. The manager and his wife were very helpful. During the day on Friday, a man (found out later he was the owner) was spinning around with his lawnmower...way too close to the campsites, when the mower threw rocks INTO my camper through the open door, and also made two dents on the outside of my camper. My camper is less than 1 season old! When I talked to the man on the mower (the owner of the campground!) he said he was sorry and sorta blew it off. The sound of the rocks hitting my camper aluminum and glass could be heard 3 campsites down the road! Fortunately, the manager and his wife came and looked at the damage, took pictures, and assured me that they would take care of fixing it after I contacted my insurance! This is a great campground but beware of the guy on the mower! The manager and his family were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We camped there with friends in October. Being the end of the season it wasn't very crowded, and was quiet. We tent camped and had plenty of room on the two campsites we had. The bathroom Facilties were better than at other campsites we've stayed at. The lake and the grounds are very nice and we enjoyed some hiking. The kids really liked the play area and the big bouncy pillow. We are already trying to schedule a weekend to return in the spring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We camped here on a mid-September weekend, so it wasn't very crowded. On a busier weekend the fact that the campsites are close together with little privacy might have been a problem. On the plus side, it was quiet and with few people there, quite pleasant, and the lake, although quite small, was a nice attraction. On the minus side, there were many large political campaign signs lining both sides of the entrance to the campground, and more on the campground itself. That's exactly the kind of thing we go camping to retreat from!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We camped during an annual event called Vandemonium, which was a lot of fun, but also made the place kind of loud. During a non-event weekend, I imagine it would be quite a bit quieter. We requested and were given a lakeside tent site, which was indeed right on the lake. We had plenty of room and a fair amount of privacy, though the sites with electric and water hookups looked like they had less privacy.

Hearing the bullfrogs talk to each other was a highlight. They were chatterboxes. The lake was good for swimming, too. It was warm near the surface and refreshingly cool a little further down. The trampoline was a bit broken when we visited, but it was still fun to hang out on. I'd definitely like to come back as long as we can secure one of the lakeside sites again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Small Country Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Country Campground

Address: 4400 Byrd Mill Rd, Louisa, VA 23093
Location: United States > Virginia > Louisa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Louisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Virginia, Small Country Campground is your gateway to the rich history of the Commonwealth of Virginia. While camping at this family-oriented RV & tent campground you'll be close to local vineyards and flea markets, fascinating historic attractions and towns, golf courses, and much more while camping in modern, full-service park near Louisa. Small Country Campground is family-owned and operated where family values are important. You'll find activities for young and old, spacious campsites and cabins, and friendly hosts. Stay for a weekend, month, or longer.Small Country Campground in Central Virginia offers fun and relaxation, recreation and entertainment with its own 25-acre Lake Ruth Ann, featuring excellent fishing, boating, bouncing, and swimming. NEW are the giant water trampoline AND a giant bouncing pillow. Or sunbathe on the sun-drenched beach, go fishing at Poplar Island or Aspen Point, or cruise the water in a sailboat, raft, or paddle boat! Fish for bass, crappie, bream, or catfish. There are boat rentals available and a free boat ramp. Bring your own boat (no gasoline engines please). The sandy beach on Lake Ruth Ann is roped off for safety at five feet. The NEW giant bouncing pillow is a big hit with kids and adults alike. Guests can also enjoy hours of sun at the edge of the beautiful swimming pool. Bask on the deck or watch the kids splash and play while you relax in the shade of your own umbrella! Camping here is all about the outdoors! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Small Country Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.