We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners return Prospect Hill to its former glory” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prospect Hill Plantation Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospect Hill Plantation Inn
Save
You added Prospect Hill Plantation Inn to your Saves list
2887 Poindexter Rd, near Charlottesville, VA, Louisa, VA 23093   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Louisa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“New owners return Prospect Hill to its former glory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

As you read the reviews, bear in mind that Prospect Hill changed hands in June, 2012. My impression is that the former owner had let the place go to a degree, and the dinners we've had there for the past couple of years did not come close to the standards set in Prospect Hill's glory days (the 80s and 90s). The good news is this: The new owners have brought with them all the needed enthusiasm, capital, and help needed to restore Prospect Hill to its former glory. My family recently had an opportunity to judge the regime change in detail -- on June 17, 2012, my daughter was married at Prospect Hill. Our families filled the guest rooms and ate everything in sight -- and uniformly, the reaction was this: FIRST CLASS in every respect (clean rooms, helpful and attentive service, scrumptious food, the works). To ascertain whether our experience truly reflects the quality of the new management, try to see whether there's a difference between the pre-June 2012 reviews and those posted later.

Room Tip: I'd go for the outbuildings (or "dependencies," as they're called); in general, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear U-VaProf,
Thank you so much for the kind review of your experiences at Prospect Hill!

We are delighted that your family was so thrilled with their wedding on the plantation, and it is encouraging that you were able to appreciate all the effort we've been making in "... returning Prospect Hill to it's former glory"!

We hope you'll find another reason to visit us in the near future and let us know how we're doing!

Sincerely,

Doc Findley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    15
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
11
69
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The owners and staff definely understand the importance in the name of Bed and Breakfast. The bed was most comfortable and the breakfast was great - available in the dining room or brought to our room - our choice. The room seemed to have the right blend of modern needs and plantation appearance - it all added up to a most pleasurable experience. We were most interested in visiting Monticello, only a 20 min ride - which was a very good historical visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Glenn S,

Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay.

We are pleased to hear that you had such a lovely time with us during your "history tour" and visit to Monticello. Staying on our 18th century plantation seems to help put our guests in the proper "frame of mind" for visiting all the historical treasures Charlottesville has to offer.

Hopefully this means we will get to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Doc Findley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Arrived at 7:30 and were greeted by the new owner (of six weeks) who served all waiting to be seated with a glass of complimentary wine in the outdoor patio area in front of the inn. Three choices were offered - the Monticello chardonnay was off taste and seemed corked. After being seated we had a tasty soup followed by a salad followed by a main course of beef tenderloin with a nicely seasoned sauce. Sides were roasted potatoes and asparagus. The dessert was a chocolate mouse with fresh strawberries and a cream sauce. The service was impeccable. One should note that this is a fixed menu set-up so all were served the same courses. Only three wines were offered for dinner - not surprising since this is a B&B and not a restaurant with extensive offerings and a broad wine list. Somewhat pricy but the colonial period atmosphere makes up for that. The building exterior and interior are very attractive as well as the grounds. Everything seems well maintained however we did not see the guest rooms. Somewhat out of the way but well worth the drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHproprietor, Owner at Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Cville Explorers,

Thank you for "exploring" our restaurant, and for taking the time to write this review.

As the new owners, we're most proud that we were able to keep our restaurant staff intact... including our chef of 15 years and our head waiter of 29 years! We hope to learn from feedback such as yours, and we look forward to improving in the years to come!

We hope to welcome your group back to Prospect Hill in the near future!

Sincerely,

Doc Findley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed 2 nights, was a short distance to our plans. Pulling in the driveway was exquisite felt like it was a great choice. There were acres and acres of grounds. The morning walk was nice. We stayed in a room in the main part of the house and walking around the house everything shook with every step, old floors. In our room with every step the floors creaked and felt like we may have disrupted our neighbors or the people below us, didnt feel very romantic. The main floor smelled like mildew. The landscaping was overgrown, couldn't make it to the front door without brushing against the bushes. Old wiring throughout the house although for as old as the house is, it's probably up to date. Thank goodness I brought my travel hair dryer or I would of been out of luck. I didn't feel like the room was really clean, there was a fireplace in the room and a pile of wood sitting next to it in a bag, and wouldnt you know a spider crawling on my luggage! Ewe. Webs under the dresser, and small openings around the bases of floors and not so good covering over the fire place. Outside sitting on the porch at night was terrible with bugs flying around because of the indoor lights. Food was terrible, but we just had breakfast and didnt know what they were serving you till it was placed in front of you. The omelet was terrible, simply made with bad tasting cheese inside, but the fruit cup, muffin and OJ was good. Overall, did not like this place, wasn't relaxed at all and if we're up to me I would've stayed one night and found another place to stay the next night for $300.00/night. Was not worth the money, I couldn't wait to check out, will not return!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I could write 2,632 words about how tremendous Prospect Hill is. My then girl friend and I visited once and loved it. Old world history preserved in every room or house with a delicious breakfast brought to your room at your specified time. And for an extra $50 per person a four course meal in the dining room with a half hour wine reception before that is easily worth the cost. The Innkeeper, Bill even says a nice prayer before the dinner for all guests. Don't worry. You'd have to be an uptight miserable person to be offended by the pleasant, concise, and gracious prayer.

On a recent Bed & Breakfast and vineyard tour of Virginia we went back and I proposed to her here. Without going into detail about the extravagance of surprises I had for her, it was grand and wonderful but wouldn't have been the same unless it was at Prosepct Hill. Good livin'.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have never spent the night at Prospect Hill, but have eaten in the restaurant about 10 times. It is a fantastic experience and so much more than a fabulous meal. The evening begins with a complementary wine reception. You can then take your drink and wander the lush grounds, down to the wine cellar where there's a cracking fire in the winter months or just into the beautifully appointed living room. Dinner is announced by a bell and once everyone is seated the innkeeper reads the evening's menu and says a blessing for the meal. They will take any dietary restrictions into account, but aside from that, the 5 course meal in in their hands and in 8 years, I've never been disappointed. This is a lovely place for special occasion meals and the prices for both the meal and the extensive wine list are very reasonable- you will never leave hungry.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our second time at Propsect Hill, and we we delighted all over again. It is a magnificent property, and the staff is unfailingly welcoming. We stayed upstairs in the overseer's cottage and highly recommend its cozy, istoric-feel. My allergy-prone wife attests that it was spotlessly clean. The dinner is excellent, and we particularly recommend it because not a lot of other good dinner choices are available without substantial driving. (The chef was kind enough to share her recipe for her wonderful apple-curry soup.)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prospect Hill Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Hill Plantation Inn

Address: 2887 Poindexter Rd, near Charlottesville, VA, Louisa, VA 23093
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Louisa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Louisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic 18th-century plantation complex just 15 miles east of Charlottesville, VA and Thomas Jefferson's "Monticello" and UVA. Set on almost 50 acres of lawns, woods and fields the inn offers 13 rooms in the 1732 manor house and renovated outbuildings dating from 1699 to 1840 and offers prie-fixe dinners every Fri and Sat evenings (and some weekdays) by reservation at $49pp. B&B rates from $195 to $395. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prospect Hill Plantation Hotel Louisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prospect Hill Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.