We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great camping, gross bathrooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pohick Bay Regional Park

Pohick Bay Regional Park
Lorton, VA
703-339-6104
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7 Attractions in Lorton
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Canoeing, Viewing foliage
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, great camping, gross bathrooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this campground for two nights over the Labor Day holiday weekend. It was a great campground with a ton of extra things like a waterpark and marina. We went paddleboarding on the bay for only $8.50 for an hour rental! The location was great- only 25 minutes from dc area or metro stops to get into the city.

The one thing we all did not like was the bathroom. Our "comfort station" was always dirty and gross. Even when they cleaned it, it seemed it was just hosed down. Although it is a state park so I didn't expect super clean shower and toilets.

Overall I would recommend this campground and would definitely come back again!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cabin camper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with 2 children. The vinyl covered mattresses are very uncomfortable and hard. I would suggest you bring your own mattress topper for comfort. The cabin has a microwave and refrigerator which is helpful. There are to 2 bathhouses. The closest to the cabin is still a bit of a walk. The other one you would need to drive to. Both bathhouses are not clean. We were there when it was rainy and found the bathhouses to always be dirty. The bathhouse furtherest away is an area where a lot of RV's are so it seemed to not be used as much as the one closest to the cabins. The cabins are a bit pricey on the weekends. We enjoyed the overall atmosphere of the campground. Bring your own firewood as the it costs $5 for 6 small pieces.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“2nd Visit was Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a much better visit than our last trip. The weather was sunny and the kids enjoyed playing in the park playground. We also went swimming in the Pirates Cove and playing mini golf.

The cabin worked out well and we were surprised to find it had AC, making it a very pleasant night's sleep on a very hot weekend. The drive was good but due to massive backups on 95 we took an alternate route that worked well. I would advise avoiding 95.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice area to kayak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Where you can put a kayak in at Pohick Bay RP allows you choose your path - which I enjoyed. The parking was a bit far for trying to lug a kayak (or canoe) back, especially if you don't want to wait for others who are dropping off or picking up. Pretty quiet and out-of-the-way.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park on the River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great place to go and take the family, relax, ride bikes, have a cookout or take your picnic. Close to DC and Northern Virginia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pohick Bay Regional Park also viewed

 
Fairfax Station, Fairfax County
 

Been to Pohick Bay Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pohick Bay Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.