We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Vineyards

Linden Vineyards
3708 Harrels Corner Rd, Linden, VA 22642
540-364-1997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Linden
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This vineyard produces Sauvignon, Chardonnay: you can tour the facilities and taste the product.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great wine in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We've been coming to Linden for several years, they always have great wines to taste and purchase. Selection of just a couple is typically impossible, so we end up getting a case. Highly recommend the optional cellar tasting experience where a member of the staff will explain the details of the terroir that the various wines are grown in and the process. Jim is very focused on the vineyard and it shows, not just in his produce, but in the produce of former staff whom he has influenced. We've encounter a couple former staff that now have their their own wineries and are following Jim's methods to great effect.

The tasting room itself is very pleasant and we haven't ever had to wait too long to have a tasting. They try to keep the waits down by limiting the size of groups. We always enjoy some of the bread and cheese available for purchase here while enjoying the view from the seating area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    8
    0
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virgniia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Consistently great wines. Jim really cares about his land, his grapes, and his wine (and it shows in every bottle).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Restful,delicious: a mini- vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Our favorite vineyard to visit, not only for the delicious tastings ($5) but for a quiet lovely rest on their deck overlooking the vineyards and foothills. Since I have family working in service industries, I respect that the owner restricts his business to preserve his community and his family life. He limits groups to six or fewer people, closes at five, and limits the deck on weekends to customers who've bought a case in the last year (case club members). Come on a weekday afternoon, and after the tasting try a glass with their delicious bread, and locally made cheeses and sausage.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Picturesque, but don't think about sitting on the back deck.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Visited this vineyard for a tasting this past Sunday. Overall it was a nice facility with one of the more substantial operations in the area (we were told 25 acres of producing vines). The grounds were well-kept and the drive up the gravel driveway was a bit fun. The tasting fee was the most moderate of any vineyards I visited last weekend at $5. The major drawback: you've got to be a member of their wine club to have a glass of wine on their back deck overlooking the vineyard. I'd still recommend giving this place a try - just don't plan on enjoying a glass while you're there if you're not prepared to pony up for the wine club membership.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrington, Delaware
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pulling into the drive, seeing lovely landscaping, rolling hills of vines, nice looking wine tasting building....Inside had seating inside and outside to enjoy the beautiful view. The tasting area was rather bare, though, and not what we hoped it would be. The tasting was ok, nothing more than just taste. We've been to many Virginia vineyards. This was ok, but not up there on our list.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linden Vineyards also viewed

 
Huntly, Rappahannock County
 

Been to Linden Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.