We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creek Crossing Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creek Crossing Farm
Save
You added Creek Crossing Farm to your Saves list
37768 Chappelle Hill Road, Lincoln, VA 20160   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Lincoln B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

As a published writer I could not imagine a more perfect setting. Beautiful accommodations & excellent service. Barbara goes the extra mile to make your stay so comfortable. Her Breakfast of farm fresh delights plus an offering of afternoon tea was priceless. The Bedrooms are very comfortable and on one visit my youngest daughter joined Barbara to collect eggs!
Close to the Metro into DC and Dulles airport - CCF has served me on several occasions. I most enjoy the rich history of the house and walking the tree lined path over acres of beautiful Virginia countryside gardens and blueberry bushes. Peaceful throwback to yesteryear.
Do you think I love it? Sure do.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I and our three children (8,12 and 14) had a wonderful weekend at Creek Crossing Farm. Innkeeper Barbara Baroody opened her country home -now an inn -to us for two nights. Nothing like the 'country' found at a Cracker Barrel gift shop - our stay at Creek Crossing Farm proved to be a restful but also really interesting historically correct country experience. Barbara's home was, at its bones, a Quaker farmhouse built in 1770. To that she has added on and remodeled carefully but beautifully. It has large, comfortable parlors and sitting rooms, with plenty of paned windows and doors that open to manicured yards and beyond, providing views of goats grazing and chickens feeding in a pastoral setting. The home is filled with period antiques and treasures, a library stuffed with important civil war manuscripts, upstairs rooms stuffed with antique four poster beds and furnishings, and a large modern soaking tub with views of the garden. Barbara serves a breakfast complete with strong coffee, a fresh Post and her own hens' eggs. To that she will cheerfully tack on delicious additions, including homemade waffles, thick bacon slices and homemade bread toasted up for rich farm butter and blueberry jam. My kids loved all of Barbara's stories of the history surrounding and inside the home, especially when she allowed them to peek at the hidden staircase in its main compartment, which was used to conceal slaves that the pacifist Quakers helped escape through the underground railroad. Not sure why there are negative reviews for this place or its owner. Barbara is not the least bit quirky but definitely loaded with personality and keen intelligence, which we enjoyed so much. We loved her barn cats and plucky jack russell. Barbara met all of our requests and her hospitality was as genuine as her period brass candlesticks on her farm table. We found all of this charm situated in the beautiful and pristine township of Lincoln, which is right off the beaten path. We crossed three one lane bridges just to get to the Inn, passing the original Quaker meeting home that still opens at 10am on Sundays for all to attend. This was the perfect respite for our family after visiting extended family and friends in the area, or touring the vineyards and civil war battlefields. It is the perfect place to experience and enjoy simplicity at its best. So glad we came.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Creek Crossing Farm B&B is in an old farm house with rural Virginia charm, complete with live chickens and deer roaming the yard. Lots of period furnishings and decor add to the ambience. The floorboards make creak a bit, but the accommodations are comfy and the food is wonderful! The proprietor Barbara Baroody carries on quite a conversation as she prepares breakfast to order using eggs from her chickens, local dairy products, and other fresh ingredients. It's on a rural unpaved road a fur piece from other homes, so it's quiet, peaceful, and safe. Modern touches include up-to-date bathrooms and wifi (signal is strong in the sitting room, sktechy in the bedrooms). Access requires a short drive on an unpaved road that sports some potholes (seriously, it's rural), but the destination is worth the drive. We've stayed here several times while visiting family in Purcellville VA.

Room Tip: Bedrooms are spacious and quiet, with good chairs, comfy beds, and plenty of dresser and closet spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Creek Crossing Farm. Yes, this place is a little different than your typical B&B. For me it was like going home to the family farm (without having to do chores)... and this is a working farm folks, with chickens and lots of blueberry bushes. The house is an old farm house with lots of history and lots of antiques, much of which is not in pristine condition. If you're looking for a luxurious B&B, with a menu for breakfast and someone waiting on you hand and foot, this probably isn't the place for you. But if you like the farm setting, sitting on the porch for breakfast, beautiful landscape, and peace and quiet, you'll probably find Creek Crossing Farm to be a diamond in the rough. You're host is a unique person that loves to engage in conversation in the morning, has plenty of opinions... and that's part of her charm.

My stay was work related not vacation. I had early starts every morning for a week, with coffee always ready, and was able to work in the sun room with Internet connection. Every evening my arrival was late and there was always a glass of wine waiting for me. Breakfast was always great with fresh eggs, delicious sausage, home made bread, and waffles with pure Virginia maple syrup.

Enjoyed my stay and will come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband got stuck in a snow and ice mess. He was in Purcellville about 35 miles from home. I called this B and B. the innkeeper immediately said she could offer him a room. When he arrived,she did everything to make him comfortable even offered some fantastic homemade soup for dinner. He only stayed for about 12 hours but he was comfortable and enjoyed meeting Barbara. What a wonderful gem of an inn with a hostess who makes everyone comfortable even when the stay is unplanned.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Meeting Barbara and staying at her farm was just like visiting my very favorite relative - so warm, friendly, very clean and cozy! Barbara is a former President of a Civil War Roundtable and has a lovely, lovely library filled with stories about the war. She is also a collector of fine furniture and silver and fills her rooms with these treasurers. But the real treasure is Barbara herself! Planter of blueberry bushes, supervisor of chickens, Barbara made me the most delicious breakfast of fresh eggs, newly baked bread and just picked blueberries EVER! I'm looking forward to returning next year and hope to bring my grandkids with me - they're gonna love this farm....and Barbara!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I always opt for B&Bs over hotels, so it was with much eagerness that I booked a room for a couple of nights at this working farm an hour west of D.C. My mission was to escape the rat race and catch my breath. Creek Crossing Farm is not fancy (although it's filled with lovely furnishings and antiques), so if you want formal, if you want designer bathrobes, a TV in your room, a mini-fridge, and your own Jacuzzi tub with rose petals, skip this place. This experience is more like visiting an old friend at her farm and relaxing to your bones while she tends to her chores. You get a large room with sometimes two antique beds in it (nice for young families who might otherwise not have an opportunity to stay at a B&B); a filling, organic, delicious country breakfast made with ultra fresh eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, yummy waffles, and sautéed apples (!); the freedom to hike around the expansive property - complete with a babbling creek and all manner of wildlife; and glorious peace and quiet. The proprietor is beyond friendly and welcoming. I was treated to fascinating stories about the establishment of the Quaker community of Lincoln and other nearby Quaker settlements, and stories about the history and evolution of the farm. Barbara's son, Joel, a very fine stonemason, also shared stories about a group of local craftsmen (Joel included) who are busy restoring a 300+ year-old stone house using original/authentic materials and building techniques. I've been to a number of B&B's in that corner of Virginia, including the famed and perfectly stuffy Inn at Little Washington, but I had a much, much better time at Creek Crossing! I could easily have stayed for a week or two, but the rat race beckoned. I will be going back to Creek Crossing sooner than later.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creek Crossing Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creek Crossing Farm

Address: 37768 Chappelle Hill Road, Lincoln, VA 20160
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Lincoln
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creek Crossing Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.