We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hidden Treasure Of Lexington, Virginia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1868 Magnolia House Inn

1868 Magnolia House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1868 Magnolia House Inn
Save
You added 1868 Magnolia House Inn to your Saves list
501 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Joppa, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Hidden Treasure Of Lexington, Virginia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

My wife and I spent two wonderful days as Guests of Tim and Jan Decker, two experienced Innkeepers. We stayed in the Garden Room which was very large, well kept, and very well decorated. The bathroom was imaculate and very modern. The Queen Sized Bed was comfortable and the decore of the room was to the period. Since it was August in Virginia, the air conditioning and ceiling fan kept the room comfortable and a great relief from the heat of the day.

The food and preparation of the meals were outstanding. What a way to start your day!

Both Innkeepers were friendly, knew a lot about their city, and were always there to help. This being said, I also must point out that we were never intruded upon and they conducted themselves with professional, but with a friendly atmosphere. This is a Great Place to stay!

  • Liked — Room was large, comfotable, food was outstanding, & Innkeepers were friendly & knew what they were doing.
  • Disliked — Lexington is warm in the Summer, but can be tolerated.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    15
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

Date: July 28, 2007

My husband and I could not wait to post our review of the Magnolia House Inn in Lexington, Va. First the town itself is a must see and the Inn is within walking distance. We found ourselves walking to dinner each night to great restaurants. Over the years we have stayed in a number of B & Bs all over the U. S. and Canada. The Magnolia House ranks with the best in our view. The overall ambience is just what you would want and expect of a true B & B. The rooms are spacious and furnished so well. Tim and Jan, the innkeepers, are the perfect hosts. They are there when you need them. The food was truly a treat and so well presented. We have never written a review before, but felt we had to share our experience at the Magnolia House Inn.

The Smiths
Greensboro, NC

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

We were looking for a romantic getaway to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and found it! WOW, the Magnolia House Inn was just perfect! We were able to choose from a couple of available rooms. The hostess was kind enough to let us look at each and choose our favorite. Each one was unique, immaculate and beautiful decorated. We chose a room that had previously been the owner’s suite. It is now called the Lexington Room. They had recently redone the room and it was beautiful! The attention to detail was amazing. The room is large and spacious, yet cozy at the same time. The bathroom is fresh and roomy with a Jacuzzi tub. Even with the modern conveniences, they have remained consistent in decorating by choosing up to date fixtures that fit the time period. We stayed for 2 nights and the breakfast just get better! The food was delicious and presented beautifully on gorgeous china with soft music playing in the background. We enjoyed the upstairs porch and complimentary refreshments each evening. When the hosts told us to treat the house as our home away from home, we took them seriously and fully enjoyed all aspects of the house.

  • Liked — the cleanliness
  • Disliked — the outside of building
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

We stayed at the Magnolia House Inn during a busy football weekend. The owners put us in their "suite" and moved into the basement. They said it was the largest room in the Inn. The room was absolutely terrible. The bathroom is tiny and covered in brown rust stains. The room itself is in serious need of TLC, especially paint (in fact, so is the entire Inn). The Inn itself is very standard fare. It is old but has none of the charm or ambience of most Inns. For the price, we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaLexingtonVA, owner at 1868 Magnolia House Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2007
We regret that the reviewer was disappointed, and we agree about the room's need for attention back in 2006. However, as they mention, it was the personal innkeepers' quarters, not described on our website--and not representative of our rooms in general--and offered only because the reviewers called to ask for a room on a weekend in the fall with high local demand, when all our other rooms were full.

In 2007 that room has been totally refurbished and made into a permanent guest room. Now our deluxe unit, the first-floor Lexington Room offers period decor, refinished hardwood floor with an Oriental carpet, antiques, a fireplace, and a king four-poster bed. Especially attractive is the new and an enlarged bath with Jacuzzi tub and a marble-top antique Eastlake dresser converted to a bathroom vanity with a vessel sink and period fittings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

We visited the Magnolia House a few days before Halloween, very close to the peak foliage color time for this year. The area, the town and the B&B itself were all about as autumn-ish as could be; it was like some kind of movie about college-town America. The B&B is just a few minutes walk from downtown's campuses and quaint little establishments. It's a classic B&B, with 4 rooms of varying sizes and shared rooms (foyer, parlor, dining room) all furnished nicely with a variety of furniture and knicknacks from older times. The beds are very comfortable and all the rooms have either a gas fireplace or an electric faux-log heater that is almost as good. The hosts, Tim and Jan, were friendly and outgoing without being too in-your-face and were able to tell us all about the house and town and area. The breakfasts were well-made and the eating experience convivial. We found the cost ($130) to be right in the middle of the B&B price range for this state. All in all, it was very romantic for us and exactly the kind of experience we hoped for.

  • Liked — The appearance of the B&B and its neighborhood
  • Disliked — There was a creaky floorboard that made me self-conscious moving around at night
  • Tips/Secrets — come in fall or spring when the area is at its prettiest
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

It was graduation weekend for our daughter who was living about 2 blocks from the Inn.
With 10 family members attending I decided it would be nice to be within walking distance
of her apartment and town. The Magnolia Inn seemed a good location and we were able
to reserve the entire inn.

With more than one person you can expect some last minute surprises. For a start, we had arrivals from mid-afternoon on Friday to the wee hours of Saturday am. Not a problem for our innkeepers -- they were very calm and accommodating.

Everyone was given individual attention with the details of their room and
particulars about the house. There was a snack area upstairs including
homemade cookies, chilled water and soda. Our innkeepers seemed to be available
if we had questions or for chatting; they did not seem to hang over you. Breakfast
was elegant. The accommodations were very comfortable.

We all agreed that the Magnolia Inn could not have been a better fit for such a special
weekend!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

This was a lovely, calm, beautiful place to stay. The room was so comfortable...we both had a wonderful night's sleep...and breakfast was yummy. We were the only guests on the night we were there and so got the opportunity to chat with the owners who were bright and well versed. Their help in guiding us to interesting places to visit made our time in Lexington, though brief, very fulfilling. We have already recommended the Magnolia to friends who plan to travel through the area.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1868 Magnolia House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Magnolia House Inn

Address: 501 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1868 Magnolia House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.