We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1868 Magnolia House Inn

1868 Magnolia House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1868 Magnolia House Inn
Save Saved
You added 1868 Magnolia House Inn to your Saves list
501 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Lexington B&B and Inns
newport
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had come in from the bitter cold and snow to be greeted by a warm fire in our suite of rooms. Our host explained all we needed to know of the room and complimentary beverages the inn had to offer. We loved our garden room with the wicker rocking chairs, the comfy beds and lovely creaky floorboards. Our host definitely loves to cook as we were served tasty cheese grits and a most scrumptious special omelet....Loved it....Great stay and walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Delighted to find our spacious room with a fire burning in the fireplace to welcome us when we arrived on a cold afternoon. Appreciated Wes' thorough explanation at check-in of idiosyncrasies any older home has (it was not a "lecture on the rules" as one previous poster wrote -- the assistant innkeeper was a pleasant fellow who seemed truly concerned with our comfort -- and we've stayed in other B&B's where we certainly wished someone had gently reminded other guests that noise travels in old buildings!). Coffee, tea, sodas, & cookies available at no charge (again, prior review is incorrect, or perhaps policy has changed). Beautifully and tastefully decorated with antiques. Very comfortable bed & delicious, hearty breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for a short weekend trip to the Devil's Backbone brewery. It was our first time staying in a B&B and it was great! The innkeeper was wonderful and the room was very nice. If we ever go back to Lexington, we'd consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We had the room on the first floor. It had a king sized bed, nice sitting area, fireplace, and a hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very well done home built in 1868 and updated recently. Our room was the downstairs suite with a king bed and very nice antique furnishings. There are four other rooms upstairs. It is located in Lexington, VA. which is home to Washington and Lee college as well as the Virginia Military Institute. Excellent breakfast and the working host was outstanding in his hospitality and breakfast preparation. He was also very knowledgable about the house and the town which has numerous restaurants and interesting shops. Parking is on the street but there was ample space during our visit. Two small porches are present for morning coffee in good weather.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Lexington,VA and staying at a B&B. We absolutely had a wonderful time!It was our wedding anniversary and a romantic setting. Our host Wes couldn't have been more helpful and hospitable. We stayed upstairs in the Garden room and it was lovely. We had a private bath and a nice sized room, bed was comfortable and there were extra pillows in the closet. There is a common balcony upstairs where you can enjoy coffee in the morning or just sit and relax. There was complimentary water,drinks, and snacks also.Coffee was served at 6:30am and breakfast was at 8:00am. Before morning coffee is served you can brew your own for 50 cents donation( can't believe some people complained about the cost!) The decor is charming, and the breakfast was fantastic!It's an easy walk to Stonewall Jackson Cemetery and downtown. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends! Enjoy!

Room Tip: There are options depending on how many are traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Magnolia House Inn while attending a wedding in town. The inn was comfortable, but not fabulous. Wes, the inn host, was very nice and attentive to our needs. It seems that the owners do not run the inn on a day-to-day basis.

We were in the Sunshine room. It was very comfortable and well maintained. Overall, the house is rather dark and has a cluttered feel. It is located in easy walking distance to the center of town and Washington and Lee University. Our fellow guests were all visiting Washington and Lee.

Sitdown breakfast was at 9:00, prepared by Wes. It was very good and offered a good opportunity to speak to the other guests.

Although the Magnolia House Inn was good, if I were to return to Lexington, I would probably investigate other B&Bs in the area.

Room Tip: The Sunshine Room gets good sun in the morning, which is a relief from the general gloom of the hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We came to Lexington as part of our Civil War pilgrimage, to see the Lee and Jackson historical sites. This inn is situated on a quiet road on the edge of town, but only a gentle walk from everything we wanted to see and all the cafés and restaurants in Lexington. Our room was very comfortable, if a little small, furnished to match the age of the house With many interesting items. The shower was excellent! We really appreciated the hospitality area, with a fridge stacked with complimentary water and soft drinks, and home-made cookies to go with the tea and coffee. It is also handily situated by the balcony, where we sat with a nightcap, admiring the soft Southern evening air. Wes, the live-in assistant manager could not have been more helpful. As well as making dinner reservations and keeping me supplied with ice, he cooked breakfasts to die for! We were the only English guests so we also enjoyed the opportunity to sit at the big table and chat to the other residents. We would certainly stay here again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1868 Magnolia House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Magnolia House Inn

Address: 501 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1868 Magnolia House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.