We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1868 Magnolia House Inn

1868 Magnolia House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1868 Magnolia House Inn
Save Saved
You added 1868 Magnolia House Inn to your Saves list
501 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Keighley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for four nights in the Sunshine room, which was comfy and well-appointed. The breakfasts were excellent, and very elegantly presented. The hosts, Tim and Janice, were helpful but not intrusive. We were the only people staying in the house so the balcony, which is perfect for the early morning cup of coffee, was ours!
The extra asset of this B & B is it's proximity to all the historic sites Lexington has to offer. You can walk to the VMI and Washington & Lee campus, and Stonewall Jackson's burial place is just along the road.
Many of the shops and restaurants are also easy to walk to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The “assistant innkeeper” greeted us upon arrival. He showed us our room and proceeded to conduct a tour of the house for us. It turned out that the tour had nothing to do with the history of the dwelling but rather the RULES of the manor. “No noise after 10 PM and if you have a self-serve coffee please leave a small donation to cover our expense.” Pardon me? The tariff for one night at this joint is over $200.

They have no television, no glasses in the room for water, the shampoo is in a community dispenser and morning coffee isn’t served until 7:30. At 8:30 a bell rings ordering lodgers to a single breakfast table. The innkeeper sets the menu. There are no choices. The other lodgers are there to visit students at VMI and I feel as though I'm sitting in on a filibuster as we hear about the rigors of military life. Our assistant innkeeper interrupts the breakfast to announce that our bill is ready. We take the opportunity to leave this happy gathering and head back to the real world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent three nights at Magnolia House in October and were really well looked after by our host Wes. He was most attentive and did all that could be expected of him including helping to carry the bags upstairs. His breakfasts were of the highest quality. Hate house is unique with its own Victorian charm. Our room, the Garden Room, was small with many period features but very comfortable. The town is lovely with many interesting places to visit and great restaurants, shops and coffee bars. The Blue Ridge Mountains are within easy reach (by car) for great walking. My only advice is that the website still gives the impression that Magnolia House is still actively run by the owners Jan and Tim whereas Wes is the day to day innkeeper and he discharges his duties to an extremely high standard. This should be acknowledged or explained on the website.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at 1868 Magnolia House Inn one night at the beginning of our vacation and one night at the end of our week's vacation. The house is close to all the major attractions in Lexington, VA and great restaurants. We stayed in the Lexington room (1st floor) and the Equestrian Suite (2nd floor). We found both of the rooms to be charming, comfortable and quiet. Wes, the innkeeper, was a great host! We were able to enjoy two of his wonderful breakfast meals (the cucumber salad was fabulous!).

Room Tip: If you would prefer to be on the first floor, choose the Lexington room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We spent out final night of a week-long road trip at the 1868 Magnolia House and could not have selected a better place to rest and relax before our drive home. The home is exquisitely charming and our room - The Sunshine Room - was light, airy and quiet. We loved the hospitality area featuring a fridge, snacks, beverages and a coffee maker for guests. This area led onto an outdoor deck next to the most glorious magnolia tree and provided a wonderful place to enjoy a glass of wine before walking to dinner nearby. Our bed was extremely comfortable and the room and bath well appointed. It was clear that our hosts wanted us to be comfortable in every way and we certainly were! There is much to see in Lexington - we only scratched the surface - so we look forward to our return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We came to Lexington so our son could attend a VMI open house. Instead of staying in a hotel we opted for a bed and breakfast. The Magnolia House was great. Very close to campus but still a quiet and peaceful setting. We stayed in the Equestrian Suite which had plenty of room for the three of us. Staff very friendly and hospitable. Would definitely stay here again. Beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We bid on a night in this hotel through a charity auction. The place was lovely, and the room very comfortable. Lexington is a great place to walk around. Breakfast was delicious.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1868 Magnolia House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Magnolia House Inn

Address: 501 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1868 Magnolia House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.