We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1868 Magnolia House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added 1868 Magnolia House Inn to your Saves list
1868 Magnolia House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   501 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A unique house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent three nights at Magnolia House in October and were really well looked after by our host Wes. He was most attentive and did all that could be expected of him including helping to carry the bags upstairs. His breakfasts were of the highest quality. Hate house is unique with its own Victorian charm. Our room, the Garden Room, was small with many period features but very comfortable. The town is lovely with many interesting places to visit and great restaurants, shops and coffee bars. The Blue Ridge Mountains are within easy reach (by car) for great walking. My only advice is that the website still gives the impression that Magnolia House is still actively run by the owners Jan and Tim whereas Wes is the day to day innkeeper and he discharges his duties to an extremely high standard. This should be acknowledged or explained on the website.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at 1868 Magnolia House Inn one night at the beginning of our vacation and one night at the end of our week's vacation. The house is close to all the major attractions in Lexington, VA and great restaurants. We stayed in the Lexington room (1st floor) and the Equestrian Suite (2nd floor). We found both of the rooms to be charming, comfortable and quiet. Wes, the innkeeper, was a great host! We were able to enjoy two of his wonderful breakfast meals (the cucumber salad was fabulous!).

Room Tip: If you would prefer to be on the first floor, choose the Lexington room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We spent out final night of a week-long road trip at the 1868 Magnolia House and could not have selected a better place to rest and relax before our drive home. The home is exquisitely charming and our room - The Sunshine Room - was light, airy and quiet. We loved the hospitality area featuring a fridge, snacks, beverages and a coffee maker for guests. This area led onto an outdoor deck next to the most glorious magnolia tree and provided a wonderful place to enjoy a glass of wine before walking to dinner nearby. Our bed was extremely comfortable and the room and bath well appointed. It was clear that our hosts wanted us to be comfortable in every way and we certainly were! There is much to see in Lexington - we only scratched the surface - so we look forward to our return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We came to Lexington so our son could attend a VMI open house. Instead of staying in a hotel we opted for a bed and breakfast. The Magnolia House was great. Very close to campus but still a quiet and peaceful setting. We stayed in the Equestrian Suite which had plenty of room for the three of us. Staff very friendly and hospitable. Would definitely stay here again. Beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OHWVSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We bid on a night in this hotel through a charity auction. The place was lovely, and the room very comfortable. Lexington is a great place to walk around. Breakfast was delicious.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We had a room upstairs by the balcony. The room (Graden) was great though the bathroom was tight. But we were on the balcony all the time, like our own private balcony; OK, maybe we hogged it. The communal fridge in the hall was well stocked. Breakfast was excellent, though maybe the host was little uptight about being on-time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloatedpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Just got back from a weekend trip to Lexington. Like many of the reviews we found the home very clean, and quaint. Tim was very helpful with information and the location is located on the main street and was only 3 to 4 blocks from the heart of downtown. We walked to several of the restaurants located in the downtown area. We were glad of our decision to stay there.

Room Tip: we took the garden room which is the smallest of the rooms. Bathroom somewhat small. otherwise it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmancharlotte,nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
2.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1868 Magnolia House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Magnolia House Inn

Address: 501 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1868 Magnolia House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your 1868 Magnolia House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing