We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B and B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1868 Magnolia House Inn

1868 Magnolia House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1868 Magnolia House Inn
Save Saved
You added 1868 Magnolia House Inn to your Saves list
501 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Lexington B&B and Inns
Hurricane, West Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely B and B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We came to Lexington so our son could attend a VMI open house. Instead of staying in a hotel we opted for a bed and breakfast. The Magnolia House was great. Very close to campus but still a quiet and peaceful setting. We stayed in the Equestrian Suite which had plenty of room for the three of us. Staff very friendly and hospitable. Would definitely stay here again. Beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We bid on a night in this hotel through a charity auction. The place was lovely, and the room very comfortable. Lexington is a great place to walk around. Breakfast was delicious.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We had a room upstairs by the balcony. The room (Graden) was great though the bathroom was tight. But we were on the balcony all the time, like our own private balcony; OK, maybe we hogged it. The communal fridge in the hall was well stocked. Breakfast was excellent, though maybe the host was little uptight about being on-time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Just got back from a weekend trip to Lexington. Like many of the reviews we found the home very clean, and quaint. Tim was very helpful with information and the location is located on the main street and was only 3 to 4 blocks from the heart of downtown. We walked to several of the restaurants located in the downtown area. We were glad of our decision to stay there.

Room Tip: we took the garden room which is the smallest of the rooms. Bathroom somewhat small. otherwise it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Exceptionally Clean, Outstanding Breakfast, Convenient Location to all Shops,Restaurants and Historical Sites.
Tourist Center employees were very knowledgeable of the area.
Owners,Tim and Jan Decker made us feel comfortable throughout our three day stay. The Equestrian Suite was our choice. An excellent decision.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was our first stay at the Magnolia House. It was quaint, historic and beautiful. It was very clean. Beds were quite comfortable. The A/C dealt with the muggy heat quite well. Our rooms were well-maintained, albeit a bit dark, however, this is typical of old houses. Breakfast was a very large portion and over-the-top with taste. The 'hospitality' amenity room was a welcome surprise with drinks, water, and snacks for free. The grounds were well-manicured. The innkeepers were very attentive, hospitable, and helpful. We highly recommend this B&B to those visiting the Lexington area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011 via mobile

While in Lexington for the Shenandoah Arabians Classic at the Virginia Horse Center, we stayed 3 nights in this quiet, lovingly restored home currently owned by hosts Tim and Jan Decker. The 80-year old magnolia in front is surrounded by intimate garden areas. Parking is on the street less than 50 ft from the entrance, so unloading your car is a snap. We stayed in the ground-floor Lexington room because it had a king bed which was high off the floor and very comfortable with immaculate linens. A/C with remote control was nice. Breakfasts were excellent and timely, saved in the dining room. Location an easy walk down to shopping, restaurants, and both campuses of VMI and Washington& Lee.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1868 Magnolia House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Magnolia House Inn

Address: 501 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1868 Magnolia House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.