We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were expecting!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn

Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn
Save
You added Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn to your Saves list
11 N. Main St, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 Lexington B&B and Inns
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

The room was listed on the Washington & Lee website as one of the places to stay in Lexington. This historic B&B sounded interesting. The website provided great pictures and a nice review of the location and rooms. I was a little skeptical because after my husband booked the room, I researched the Inn with tripadvisor. The reviews were not great but I thought we would give it a try. Our room was on the first floor facing the parking lot. The porch outside was great but the room was quite a disappointment. The rug was well worn, dirty, and even had what I believe was a cigarette burn in a non-smoking room. The bathroom was tight with little room for toiletries and the floor needed to be washed. Most notable were the sheets. They were so thin and worn that they were actually translucent. There were also tiny holes on the sides of the sheets where the threads had worn away.
Breakfast included dry cereals, yogurt, fruit, breakfast cakes, juice, coffee, and tea. While the breakfast was more than adequate for us, the milk was clearly sour. Our host was apologetic. With some much needed updates, this could be a fantastic place to stay due to the location and historic ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    1
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
icecreamlover1918
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

The McCampbell Inn is an intimate place favored by college parents like us. The service has an unapologetic "Mayberry RFD" feeling to it, in line with the personal, yet private atmosphere.
Everything in Lexington is within an easy walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We made reservations in a hurry having only checked the historic inn website and were very disappointed! McCampbell Inn is old and tired (they might highlight its history; but improvements would make such a difference!). Sheets were thin, as were the towels. There are much better accommodations in Lexington for the price.
The room had old wall to wall carpeting and the bathroom was on par with a motel six. There is little or no insulation between the rooms; we could hear clearly what the next door neighbors were discussing!
Convenient to walking around Lexington, but will do my homework next time!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed here one night in August 2009, we were in room 201 which the innkeeper suggested was their most requested room. It was terrible. . the furniture was old but not antique, I would not sit on the upholstered sofa, there were dead bugs under the bed, the bathroom was extremely dated and the sheets and towels were colored (not white) and looked like they had been bought at yard sales. The location is superb but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

In describing the accommodations at the McCampbell Inn, the phrase that first comes to my mind is Elizabeth Taylor’s inimitable line in “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?”: “What a dump!”
With the exception of the comments by the first reviewer, I believe the other three reviewers were right on point. The place was dirty and dusty, amenities almost nonexistent, and the furniture reminiscent of a Goodwill store. We spent three days there in a spacious suite on the third floor in the Alexander-Withrow House across the street from the main inn. The only parking was on-street or behind the main inn, about a block’s walk. The only coffee maker in the room was an electric kettle to heat hot water for pouring over cheap instant coffee, which, incidentally, was never replenished the whole time we were there. The small kitchen was actually a wet bar with a small refrigerator, a sink, and the aforementioned electric kettle. The glassware consisted of one coffee mug, one medium size wine glass, four sherry glasses and one tall tumbler, all of mixed style. On the second day, I was reading in the room in the morning when the maid arrived. I told her we would be going out in about an hour and for her to come back then. She left a stack of fresh towels and said for us to call her if we needed anything else. She never came back that day.
On the positive side, the inn is centrally located for easy walking access to most of the interesting sites in Lexington. Also, the continental breakfast was nice—coffee, orange juice, bagels, fresh fruit, cake and yogurt. The queen size bed was comfortable but the linens were old and needed changing.
In summary, I think the McCampbell Inn is only masquerading as an inn/B&B. It needs major upgrades in services and accommodations. Not worth the $200 per night (including taxes). I would never recommend it to anyone else.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Unclean and poor furniture
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

I spent the night at the McCampbell Inn last Spring while my son was visiting Washington and Lee University. The room was very comfortable, nicely decorated and reasonably priced. I'm looking forward to my stay there next week.

  • Liked — Historic nature
  • Disliked — Very quiet!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

I chose this property for our one-night stay in Lexington because of its location and the hope of supporting a local hotelier versus a chain. Staying in historic buildings has obvious drawbacks but service and small amenities usually make for easy trade-offs. In this case, both were in short supply. Suite #2 had a parlor, kitchen sink with small counter, bath and separate bedroom. Our rate was $190. The staff was perfunctory. We were told that the sofa sleeper likely had sheets but we would have to make up the bed itself. There was no iron or blow dryer. The bathroom showerstall was stained making it look dirty. The towels were worn, faded, and fraying badly. Housekeeping had not thrown out the trash in the kitchen from the previous guests (Chinese take-out). The furnishings were adequate reminiscent of refurbished garage sale antiques. The floors creaked, but again, that is to be expected in a historic building. If you are a light sleeper, it could be a problem. An enhanced continental breakfast was included as part of the room rate but all of the guests were left to fend for themselves since the dining parlor at McCambell never opened (check-in, parking and dining are located at McCambell across the street). Upon check-out, I inquired if there had been a family emergency and if everything was alright. The gentleman was non-commital and begrudingly offered that "he didn't know he was suppose to open". There was no hint of an apology or even the courtesy of a discounted rate for the inconvenience. Downtown Lexington is lovely; the Stonewall Jackson Home and Musem most gratifying. We slept fine, we felt safe. However, if we return, we will stay at one of those chains were service, amenities and hospitality are a given!

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Non-existent service. No hospitality.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn

Address: 11 N. Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Alexander-Withrow House And Mccampbell Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.