We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic inn in perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn

Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn
Save Saved
You added Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn to your Saves list
11 N. Main St, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Lexington B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Historic inn in perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

My old friend and I stayed two nights in the McCampbell Inn while visiting southwest Virginia. We loved the historic feel of the place, the spaciousness of the room, and the closeness to all the restaurants, shops, and Washington & Lee University. Yes, as other reviews have pointed out, the place could use a bit of sprucing up, but it was clean and warm and very comfortable. The continental breakfast is run-of-the-mill but perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet because it didn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    1
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

The room was listed on the Washington & Lee website as one of the places to stay in Lexington. This historic B&B sounded interesting. The website provided great pictures and a nice review of the location and rooms. I was a little skeptical because after my husband booked the room, I researched the Inn with tripadvisor. The reviews were not great but I thought we would give it a try. Our room was on the first floor facing the parking lot. The porch outside was great but the room was quite a disappointment. The rug was well worn, dirty, and even had what I believe was a cigarette burn in a non-smoking room. The bathroom was tight with little room for toiletries and the floor needed to be washed. Most notable were the sheets. They were so thin and worn that they were actually translucent. There were also tiny holes on the sides of the sheets where the threads had worn away.
Breakfast included dry cereals, yogurt, fruit, breakfast cakes, juice, coffee, and tea. While the breakfast was more than adequate for us, the milk was clearly sour. Our host was apologetic. With some much needed updates, this could be a fantastic place to stay due to the location and historic ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icecreamlover1918
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

The McCampbell Inn is an intimate place favored by college parents like us. The service has an unapologetic "Mayberry RFD" feeling to it, in line with the personal, yet private atmosphere.
Everything in Lexington is within an easy walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We made reservations in a hurry having only checked the historic inn website and were very disappointed! McCampbell Inn is old and tired (they might highlight its history; but improvements would make such a difference!). Sheets were thin, as were the towels. There are much better accommodations in Lexington for the price.
The room had old wall to wall carpeting and the bathroom was on par with a motel six. There is little or no insulation between the rooms; we could hear clearly what the next door neighbors were discussing!
Convenient to walking around Lexington, but will do my homework next time!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed here one night in August 2009, we were in room 201 which the innkeeper suggested was their most requested room. It was terrible. . the furniture was old but not antique, I would not sit on the upholstered sofa, there were dead bugs under the bed, the bathroom was extremely dated and the sheets and towels were colored (not white) and looked like they had been bought at yard sales. The location is superb but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

In describing the accommodations at the McCampbell Inn, the phrase that first comes to my mind is Elizabeth Taylor’s inimitable line in “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?”: “What a dump!”
With the exception of the comments by the first reviewer, I believe the other three reviewers were right on point. The place was dirty and dusty, amenities almost nonexistent, and the furniture reminiscent of a Goodwill store. We spent three days there in a spacious suite on the third floor in the Alexander-Withrow House across the street from the main inn. The only parking was on-street or behind the main inn, about a block’s walk. The only coffee maker in the room was an electric kettle to heat hot water for pouring over cheap instant coffee, which, incidentally, was never replenished the whole time we were there. The small kitchen was actually a wet bar with a small refrigerator, a sink, and the aforementioned electric kettle. The glassware consisted of one coffee mug, one medium size wine glass, four sherry glasses and one tall tumbler, all of mixed style. On the second day, I was reading in the room in the morning when the maid arrived. I told her we would be going out in about an hour and for her to come back then. She left a stack of fresh towels and said for us to call her if we needed anything else. She never came back that day.
On the positive side, the inn is centrally located for easy walking access to most of the interesting sites in Lexington. Also, the continental breakfast was nice—coffee, orange juice, bagels, fresh fruit, cake and yogurt. The queen size bed was comfortable but the linens were old and needed changing.
In summary, I think the McCampbell Inn is only masquerading as an inn/B&B. It needs major upgrades in services and accommodations. Not worth the $200 per night (including taxes). I would never recommend it to anyone else.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Unclean and poor furniture
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

I spent the night at the McCampbell Inn last Spring while my son was visiting Washington and Lee University. The room was very comfortable, nicely decorated and reasonably priced. I'm looking forward to my stay there next week.

  • Liked — Historic nature
  • Disliked — Very quiet!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn

Address: 11 N. Main St, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Alexander-Withrow House And Mccampbell Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander-Withrow House and McCampbell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.