We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Myrtle Oberly....Utterly fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast
985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Lexington B&B and Inns
Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Myrtle Oberly....Utterly fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was my first visit to Brierley Hill B & B, but it won't be the last..The breakfasts served were really exceptional and very special..The view from the porch made me want to stay out there all day..The rooms were very comfortable, clean and inviting..Dave and Karen are new owners but you would think they've done this all their lives..They are both very gracious and deserve a 10 star rating, but we can only give them 5 stars..

Room Tip: The rooms are warm and very cozy..I really didn't want to leave to return home just yet..But, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
226
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
M'boro, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our second time to visit Brierley Hill and we weren't disappointed. Our room was beautiful and clean. The view from our window was spectacular even on a rainy morning. Karen and Dave were very friendly and accomodating, even making reservations at a local restaurant for us. The breakfast they served was delicious! I would definitely recommend their lovely Inn to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a wonderful stopover, so close to I-95. The views from the terrace and from our room were magnificent-rolling hills and mountains, even better than the pictures. The new innkeepers are incredibly friendly and helpful and great chefs as well-breakfast was a real treat. Some of the furnishings in the room were a bit worn, but the bed was great for a good night's sleep in peaceful surroundings.

Room Tip: Avoid "good friends suite" Awkward arrangement (bath between bedroom and sitting area) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The Brierley Inn is a lovely place to stay in Lexington. Dave and Karen are so nice and will make your stay a memorable one. The rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is wonderful and creative. If you're in Lexington it's a must!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent one night, September 26, on our way into Charlottesville to visit son and wife. Beware that the Google Navigator may lose its wits about a half mile from the property. It knew the property was on the left, but the road vanished on the map. Lol! We had reserved The Good Friends Suite, which is on the lower level of the main structure. The suite is spacious with a large patio area under the balcony which stretches across the front of the building (wonderful views). A downside to the suite is the foot traffic directly above the bedroom. I would not recommend the suite for anyone with mobility issues. The stairwell down to the suite and the whirlpool tub from the late 1980s, which includes the shower, could be problematic. It is a steep climb into and out of the tub for bathing or showering. There is only one sink and the counter space is very limited.

Other guests included a couple from England, Yorkshire, and a Scandinavian or German couple. A very well-traveled group of people. It made for interesting breakfast conversation.

We spent the next morning walking through Lexington (Washington and Lee University). We had lunch at the Bistro on Main; wonderful soup! Lexington is small and one can easily see the sights in a morning or afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

On our trip around North Carolina and Virginia driving the Blue Ridge Parkway we booked this based on it's location and excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We have never been made to feel so welcome and cared for as we have with Dave and Karen. It felt like staying with family (the ones you really like!). Nothing was too much trouble and as mentioned previously the breakfasts were absolutely delicious, we particularly loved Dave's bacon. Our favourite thing to do was just sit on the porch looking at the mountains for hours until we got too tired or it was too dark to see! On Dave's recommendation we set the alarm to watch the sunrise which was spectacular to say the least. We were very sad to leave but sure that we will be back to this wonderful Bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed with David and Karen as part of a motorcycle vacation, with no ambitions other than to decompress after a tough year...couldn't have made a better choice. The peaceful atmosphere coupled with the (seemingly) effortless hospitality by the Innocents left me feeling more relaxed and stress free than I've felt in a long time.

The hosts are also motorcycle enthusiasts, and were able to suggest a beautiful ride that I wouldn't have otherwise experienced, which was greatly appreciated.

The "Once upon a time" room was amazingly comfortable; the breakfasts are hearty and delicious; and the porch looking out over the mountains is so relaxing that I found it hard to leave.

Now that I'm home, I'm eager to return. Lexington and the Brierley Hill B&B are my new favorite mountain destinations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Brierley Hill Hotel Lexington
Brierley Hill Hotel
Brierley Hill b&b
Address: 985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brierley Hill offers the best of both worlds...spectacular views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and Shenandoah Valley just five minutes from historic Lexington. The Bed & Breakfast has six accommodations...three bedrooms and three 2-room suites. All guestrooms have fireplaces or stoves, 350+ thread count linens, down comforters, TV/DVD combinations and oriental rugs. The two suites also feature whirlpool tubs, bathrobes, refrigerators and separate sitting rooms. The guestrooms can accommodate up to 19 persons. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list