We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Views, Fantastic Innkeepers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views, Fantastic Innkeepers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a wonderful stopover, so close to I-95. The views from the terrace and from our room were magnificent-rolling hills and mountains, even better than the pictures. The new innkeepers are incredibly friendly and helpful and great chefs as well-breakfast was a real treat. Some of the furnishings in the room were a bit worn, but the bed was great for a good night's sleep in peaceful surroundings.

Room Tip: Avoid "good friends suite" Awkward arrangement (bath between bedroom and sitting area) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    22
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
239
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The Brierley Inn is a lovely place to stay in Lexington. Dave and Karen are so nice and will make your stay a memorable one. The rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is wonderful and creative. If you're in Lexington it's a must!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent one night, September 26, on our way into Charlottesville to visit son and wife. Beware that the Google Navigator may lose its wits about a half mile from the property. It knew the property was on the left, but the road vanished on the map. Lol! We had reserved The Good Friends Suite, which is on the lower level of the main structure. The suite is spacious with a large patio area under the balcony which stretches across the front of the building (wonderful views). A downside to the suite is the foot traffic directly above the bedroom. I would not recommend the suite for anyone with mobility issues. The stairwell down to the suite and the whirlpool tub from the late 1980s, which includes the shower, could be problematic. It is a steep climb into and out of the tub for bathing or showering. There is only one sink and the counter space is very limited.

Other guests included a couple from England, Yorkshire, and a Scandinavian or German couple. A very well-traveled group of people. It made for interesting breakfast conversation.

We spent the next morning walking through Lexington (Washington and Lee University). We had lunch at the Bistro on Main; wonderful soup! Lexington is small and one can easily see the sights in a morning or afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

On our trip around North Carolina and Virginia driving the Blue Ridge Parkway we booked this based on it's location and excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We have never been made to feel so welcome and cared for as we have with Dave and Karen. It felt like staying with family (the ones you really like!). Nothing was too much trouble and as mentioned previously the breakfasts were absolutely delicious, we particularly loved Dave's bacon. Our favourite thing to do was just sit on the porch looking at the mountains for hours until we got too tired or it was too dark to see! On Dave's recommendation we set the alarm to watch the sunrise which was spectacular to say the least. We were very sad to leave but sure that we will be back to this wonderful Bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed with David and Karen as part of a motorcycle vacation, with no ambitions other than to decompress after a tough year...couldn't have made a better choice. The peaceful atmosphere coupled with the (seemingly) effortless hospitality by the Innocents left me feeling more relaxed and stress free than I've felt in a long time.

The hosts are also motorcycle enthusiasts, and were able to suggest a beautiful ride that I wouldn't have otherwise experienced, which was greatly appreciated.

The "Once upon a time" room was amazingly comfortable; the breakfasts are hearty and delicious; and the porch looking out over the mountains is so relaxing that I found it hard to leave.

Now that I'm home, I'm eager to return. Lexington and the Brierley Hill B&B are my new favorite mountain destinations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryn mawr, pa.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

everything at this bed and breakfast was perfect from the owners, to the decor, comfort and setting. we almost gave up on b and b's for various reasons but thank goodness this place restored our faith in them! karen and david are the most wonderful people...genuinely kind and generous. we would go back just for them! sitting on the porch, drinking tea rocking back and forth on the chairs watching the serenity of the hills and the hanging hummingbird feeders with constant visits from the hummingbirds was an added attraction! the breakfasts are delicous and healthy. there is a sign above the doorway "come as guests, leave as friends" this is very true.we recommend this hotel highly. the little town of lexington has a lot of history and quaint shops to see. nearby it is worth visiting the natural bridge...breathtaking!

Room Tip: all are equally as nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had a very comfortable stay at the Brierly Hill. My room was very comfortable and clean. The pictures on-line lead me to believe the rooms might be a little "themey" (for lack of a better word) but they we very tasteful, cozy and comfortable. The breakfasts were to die for, I am still dreaming about the apple french toast. Karen and Dave are helpful and kind. I was so pleased to meet them. The view is stunning. Close to town. Absolutely nothing negative about my stay. I will return!

Room Tip: Stayed in the red room. Very comfortable, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brierley Hill offers the best of both worlds...spectacular views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and Shenandoah Valley just five minutes from historic Lexington. The Bed & Breakfast has six accommodations...three bedrooms and three 2-room suites. All guestrooms have fireplaces or stoves, 350+ thread count linens, down comforters, TV/DVD combinations and oriental rugs. The two suites also feature whirlpool tubs, bathrobes, refrigerators and separate sitting rooms. The guestrooms can accommodate up to 19 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brierley Hill b&b
Brierley Hill Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.