We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality meets Serenity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hospitality meets Serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed with David and Karen as part of a motorcycle vacation, with no ambitions other than to decompress after a tough year...couldn't have made a better choice. The peaceful atmosphere coupled with the (seemingly) effortless hospitality by the Innocents left me feeling more relaxed and stress free than I've felt in a long time.

The hosts are also motorcycle enthusiasts, and were able to suggest a beautiful ride that I wouldn't have otherwise experienced, which was greatly appreciated.

The "Once upon a time" room was amazingly comfortable; the breakfasts are hearty and delicious; and the porch looking out over the mountains is so relaxing that I found it hard to leave.

Now that I'm home, I'm eager to return. Lexington and the Brierley Hill B&B are my new favorite mountain destinations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    22
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
263
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bryn mawr, pa.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

everything at this bed and breakfast was perfect from the owners, to the decor, comfort and setting. we almost gave up on b and b's for various reasons but thank goodness this place restored our faith in them! karen and david are the most wonderful people...genuinely kind and generous. we would go back just for them! sitting on the porch, drinking tea rocking back and forth on the chairs watching the serenity of the hills and the hanging hummingbird feeders with constant visits from the hummingbirds was an added attraction! the breakfasts are delicous and healthy. there is a sign above the doorway "come as guests, leave as friends" this is very true.we recommend this hotel highly. the little town of lexington has a lot of history and quaint shops to see. nearby it is worth visiting the natural bridge...breathtaking!

Room Tip: all are equally as nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had a very comfortable stay at the Brierly Hill. My room was very comfortable and clean. The pictures on-line lead me to believe the rooms might be a little "themey" (for lack of a better word) but they we very tasteful, cozy and comfortable. The breakfasts were to die for, I am still dreaming about the apple french toast. Karen and Dave are helpful and kind. I was so pleased to meet them. The view is stunning. Close to town. Absolutely nothing negative about my stay. I will return!

Room Tip: Stayed in the red room. Very comfortable, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Brierley Hill and cannot recommend it highly enough. The views of the mountains from the porch are incredible, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the three-course breakfasts were amazing, and Dave and Karen are warm, friendly, and hospitable in every way. What a great place! The B&B is also very convenient to downtown Lexington and the colleges in town. I would return tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited for a memorial service of a close relative. Despite the sad occasion, Dave and Karen managed to lift our spirits with their friendly caring approach. The breakfast was delicious and a varied menu each morning kept our interest. The view of the mountains was spectacular - not to be missed. The title of the review sums it up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hosts are very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was fabulous, and the entire place is just perfect! We wish we could have stayed longer and plan to return. Rooms are beautiful and the porch was our favorite place to sit and read or watch the deer playing down on the lawn. A must stay place if you are near Lexington!

Room Tip: All rooms were very nice. We chose the Peace room and it was peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast was a terrific relaxing stop after several days of long drives. The room was comfortable and spotless, the view exceptional, and the common areas inviting. Karen and Dave were welcoming and accommodating to dietary requests. It was apparent that they enjoyed hosting. They assisted with dinner reservations in town on a Sunday when there are few open options and provided useful tourist information. My only concern is a ungracious note posted on the back of our bedroom door saying that if we leave something behind the B&B will not contact us - it is up to us to call them. For an inn with just a handful of rooms, this note seemed an unnecessary and off-putting policy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
1.7 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brierley Hill offers the best of both worlds...spectacular views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and Shenandoah Valley just five minutes from historic Lexington. The Bed & Breakfast has six accommodations...three bedrooms and three 2-room suites. All guestrooms have fireplaces or stoves, 350+ thread count linens, down comforters, TV/DVD combinations and oriental rugs. The two suites also feature whirlpool tubs, bathrobes, refrigerators and separate sitting rooms. The guestrooms can accommodate up to 19 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brierley Hill Hotel Lexington
Brierley Hill b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.