We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Friendly with a Killer View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Clean, Comfortable, Friendly with a Killer View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited for a memorial service of a close relative. Despite the sad occasion, Dave and Karen managed to lift our spirits with their friendly caring approach. The breakfast was delicious and a varied menu each morning kept our interest. The view of the mountains was spectacular - not to be missed. The title of the review sums it up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    22
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
240
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hosts are very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was fabulous, and the entire place is just perfect! We wish we could have stayed longer and plan to return. Rooms are beautiful and the porch was our favorite place to sit and read or watch the deer playing down on the lawn. A must stay place if you are near Lexington!

Room Tip: All rooms were very nice. We chose the Peace room and it was peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast was a terrific relaxing stop after several days of long drives. The room was comfortable and spotless, the view exceptional, and the common areas inviting. Karen and Dave were welcoming and accommodating to dietary requests. It was apparent that they enjoyed hosting. They assisted with dinner reservations in town on a Sunday when there are few open options and provided useful tourist information. My only concern is a ungracious note posted on the back of our bedroom door saying that if we leave something behind the B&B will not contact us - it is up to us to call them. For an inn with just a handful of rooms, this note seemed an unnecessary and off-putting policy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had the privilege of being guests at Karen and Dave's hilltop retreat, the Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast this past weekend. Upon arrival we were promptly greeted by Dave who took our bags inside. We visited in the parlor with Karen and then shown the amenities of the Inn and our room. We were traveling with our 20 year old and the Love Suite was just perfect! Every attention to detail was attended to, including a guest fridge with cold beverages, a snack table set up with treats as well as a hot beverage center offering coffee, tea and hot chocolate, extensive movie library. The bed was amazing! Sheets are like butter! We enjoyed a quiet and peaceful night's rest. The Inn is clean, comfortable, spacious with several rooms to relax alone. There are beautiful gardens with fresh herbs and flowers that took center stage at the delicious breakfast, hummingbird feeders adorn the expansive porch to enjoy their humorous antics with the mountains in the distance as backdrop. Within 2 miles from downtown, VMI and W&L, plenty of hiking trails (they keep a list of nearby trails and hiking tips). Will definitely return - looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A great romantic spot for couples and we enjoyed the Good Friends Suite with it's private patio overlooking the field and mountains. The owners are outstanding hosts and the breakfast was perfect. We only wish two things:
1. To have stayed an extra day to explore more of historic Lexington
2. That the Inn served supper. It would be nice to be able to relax on the property after a delicious dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our first time to a bed and breakfast. Dave and Karen made the experience unbelievable. I found their Inn on the internet, which can be a little apprehensive, but when I called to make a reservation, Dave was completely helpful and friendly. We arrived for our honeymoon, and were met by both Dave and Karen, and their dogs; all of whom were as kind as anyone can be. Our room was beautiful, with all the perfect accents, but the view took the cake, We brought home many pictures and none of them do the view its full justice. The morning breakfast was well above any of our expectations, and the added dessert at breakfast was fun. We cannot wait to return to Brierley Hill, not just for the accommodations and food, but also to spend time with new friends. The experience instilled in us the desire to return... again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Karen and Dave are lovely hosts. We felt like we were visiting old friends. This Country Inn is full of "Southern Charm" with all of the conveniences. Clean, comfortable and very accommodating to our needs. Great place to relax and rejuvenate. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 985 Borden Rd., Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brierley Hill offers the best of both worlds...spectacular views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and Shenandoah Valley just five minutes from historic Lexington. The Bed & Breakfast has six accommodations...three bedrooms and three 2-room suites. All guestrooms have fireplaces or stoves, 350+ thread count linens, down comforters, TV/DVD combinations and oriental rugs. The two suites also feature whirlpool tubs, bathrobes, refrigerators and separate sitting rooms. The guestrooms can accommodate up to 19 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brierley Hill b&b
Brierley Hill Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;